We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, fantastic rooms and friendly staff. Peaceful and inviting swimming/bar/restaurant area. Good food and diverse m”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Staff, although helpful, seemed unorganised and uniformative. We booked a ferry through their excursion service, the taxi to pick us up was 40 minutes late and obviously we were worried we would miss our ferry to phi phi. Would have felt more comfortable about the situation had they have communicated better about what was going on and kept us informed in a timely manner.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexPow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Alex, thank you for your review and we hope you enjoyed your trip to Phi Phi island and you reached the ferry on time. It is regrettable after an enjoying your stay with us that this incident with the taxi was so upsetting. We apologise for the lack of communication, communication is something we constantly strive to improve on in all aspects of the operation and we shall continue to strive to improve on this further. Thank you for your kind words on the beauty of our resort, friendly staff and good food. We hope to welcome you back to SALA Phuket in the future. Let us wish you a very happy 2013. Best regards SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

945 - 951 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Spent a night at SALA before returning home after long vacation. It was our last night and as it was close to the airport it suited.

We had spent 4 nights previously at RAYAVADEE which was a total let down and disappointment. Read my review.

We booked a sala pool villa which was excellent. Clean modern and luxurious.

The arrival procedure was swift and very good. The villas are very well designed and are great for privacy. The pools are huge and the outdoor bathroom a delight.

We love mai khao beach as it is almost deserted and this still is the feel despite the arrival of renaissance next door and the JW down the road. There continues to be development but the place is still wonderful.

We had lunch at Sala and the pizza and rice were excellent.

The hotel pool is a little small but as most guests have their own it does remain empty. Although small though it is interesting and deep.

The Sala has a very homely feel to it around the beach area and is up to standard.

I would not book the deluxe rooms as they seem a little of an after thought. Book a villa and you will be happy.

I can not comment on breakfast as we had to leave at 0530 hrs. The hotel did make us a take away bag though.

I would return to Sala. A very nice place.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dewbcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Signature dewbcu, a big thank you for writing such a long review for just your one night stay. We really hope you will be able to stay with us for a few more days or longer on your next visit. Our breakfast is a real highlight, which I am sure we will impress you with upon your return. Thank you again and have happy, healthy and memorable 2013. Please do let us know when you wish to return. SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

It was a very nice experience
Cleanliness and hospitality were great, staff are so friendly and they are always smiley and helpful.
Rooms are very nice and have good facilities.
Gardens are clean and there were no insects as they have a weekly pest control system

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Signature Jad A, a truly perfect review which we thank you for taking the time to write. We hope to see you back at SALA in the near future. Our best regards and all our very best wishes for the year ahead, SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

From our first day of arrival till the last day we depart everything went smoothly. Staffs were really helpful and they always try to go the extra miles to serves you. Location are a little bit secluded from the happening nightlife of phuket but who needs all that when you have a white sandy beach in front of you. It is highly recommended for those who looking for a secluded gateway.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nur Shazlin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Signature Nur Shazlin N, thank you so much for your truly excellent review. We are certainly secluded, peaceful and a small corner of paradise which we are so pleased you appreciated so much. We hope you will return to SALA in the not too distant future and when you do please let us know. Have a wonderful 2013. Best regards SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wish we could have stayed longer.

After only 5 nights at Sala Phuket we recently left the resort impressed and will definitely be back some day. The rooms are beautiful, especially as we enjoyed free upgrade from Garden Pool Villa to Sala Pool Villa. Spa treatments were great and staff everywhere at the resort made us feel like we were their first priority. Food... so-so, but that's ok, you can have all right?

The only thing that bothered us was the location because the resort is located very far from pretty much everything and you either choose to stay at the premises your whole vacation or spend quite a lot of time & money on taxis. beach wasn't that great either but the impeccable service definitely made up to it.

Sala Phuket is often described as one of Phuket's best resorts and despite of the location, we enjoyed our time there and look forward returning. Recommended!

Room Tip: Check for upgrade promos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJoyce76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Signature BJoyce76, thank you for your review and it's good to hear that you enjoyed your 5 days with us. We try out utmost to impressive with our service delivery and our staff are a real credit and are marvelous ambassadors for the SALA brand. It is disappointing to hear though, that your dining experience was only so so. Usually our cuisine is highly rated, we hope to have an opportunity to impress you with this on your nest visit. All the best for a happy, healthy and prosperous 2013. SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent two weeks at the Sala Phuket in December and can't recommend the place highly enough - it is incredible! I would definitely recommend the Sala Pool Villa over the Balcony rooms or Garden villas, they are worth the extra money. Breakfast is great, and the restaurant serves lovely food, although as with all 5* hotels, it isn't cheap.

We spent some time in the spa, which is a real luxury. I think if I returned, I wouldn't spend quite as long there, and would have teamed it up with a few nights in Bangkok - there is nothing in the local area at all, and whilst there are a couple of other high quality hotels close by, there is little to do which suited us, but for a more active traveller may be a problem.

The beach was gorgeous - although the sea was deceptive as I found out one morning when I had a 'Bridget Jones' moment with my bikini!

You will have a wonderful holiday at the Sala Phuket, there is no doubting it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneTMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Joanne, thank you for your review and WOW! For us to be described as ‘incredible’ is some accolade to say the least and one we will share with our whole team. We are so pleased you chose to stay with us for your 2 weeks and you enjoyed your stay with us so much and in particular our award winning spa, which certainly offers outstanding experiences time after time. Fortunately the beach being so deserted I am sure no one saw your 'Bridget Jones' moment. Thank you again and let us wish you a wondrous 2013 and please let us know when you would like to return. Our very best regards SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I agree with most comments by earlier reviewers, however whilst the service is enchantingly smiling and almost too subservient, you will often need to ask.... 'er, could I have that beer I ordered?' Or... 'could I have my starter now that my wife has finished her main?' Or similar. At regular intervals.

On three occasions we gave up waiting for my/her drink (one always arrived eventually) at the bar and then had the same pigeon English debate as a dozen others I overheard who similarly had been charged but not received drinks.

If you are accustomed to North American service levels - pack lots of patience!

The real issue is that the people/staff are generally lovely but that their English is very poor - so a nod and smile usually means 'I have absolutely no idea what you just said'. If you understand this you will have a fabulous break in an amazing boutique hotel, with one of the best spa complexes we have ever used.

The manager here (yes we are still 'here') is notable by his absence on a daily basis and clearly didn't want to be at the 'managers welcome drinks' (a weekly event so I gues it must be draining on him), otherwise I might have suggested some staff English lessons to remove that knot-the -stomach-feeling when something ordered simply does not arrive. Don't forget that the clientele of this hotel use English as the common language and it is selling itself as an Interantional hotel, so I am not being picky on this issue.

Apart from this minor comment we reckon the food is ok (we had equally as good in the shacks just outside, although admittedly the food was not arranged as prettily!), the entertainments people work really amazingly hard despite lethargic guest responses, you'll struggle to better the facilities for the price, but the hi-llte is sundowners with great mood music overlooking the sea, laying on circular sofas...... waiting for your drinks. Such a place eventually makes you just say, damn it, it doesn't matter!

Room Tip: Avoid the roadside rooms (nr to the taxi bar opposite) unless you like late night voices and music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 149london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Signature 149London - London, United Kingdom thank you for your review during your visit. Whilst your feedback was mostly positive about the resort, spa and its facilities we do apologise on your service experience. We constantly strive to improve language barriers between our Thai employees and guests employing a fulltime English Training & Development Manager from the UK, and we constantly have had very good reviews on trip advisor on staff warm, welcoming and professional service, but we know there is always room for improvement as you have pointed out and will continue to do so. You mentioned that the 'Manager' was 'notably absent' which i dont understand as the resort has several senior managers deployed accross all areas of the operation? and we ALL attended management cocktails during Christmas and New Year events so perhaps we just didnt get the opportunity to meet? I have briefed our team on your rellevant points of dissatisfaction and will work on improving these for future guest experiences. Please feel free to contact us should you wish to return to Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Jon Ashenden GM - SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
717 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 327 in Patong
5,998 reviews
2.5 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort and Spa

Address: 333, Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $143 - $741 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort And Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing