We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Property, Beautiful Design, Perfect Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Property, Beautiful Design, Perfect Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had a great stay at the Sala Phuket, We stayed in a pool villa and loved the design of the room and the out-door bathroom. The beach is amazingly pristine, and the food is amazing. What I loved the most is the breakfast- you order what you like rather than going to a buffet which was nice. The spa is a must try as well, heavenly. Yes it is far away from night-life, so don't stay here if you want to spend every night in patpong, but I enjoyed the quiet sancturary. Thanks Sala Phuket for a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_YT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Signature Miss_YT9 - Singapore, thank you so much for your very kind and positive feedback during your vacation, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed the resorts design, facilities, pristine beach and our award winning cuisine! Please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    328
    98
    21
    23
See reviews for
196
991
36
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I spend 4 days with my wife in Sala. The room is too small in this price range resort and the housekeeping needs to improve as I always found sand on the floor with my bare foot. The fly in the restaurant is annoying. The front desk counter service was not very helpful as she did not double confirm with the taxi driver about my destination. The location is remote and take 1 hour going to the downtown.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Signature Kelvin.C - Hong Kong, China, thank you for your feedback and we apologize over your dissatisfaction of our room size, however we do offer a selection of SALA Pool Villas 157sqm, One Bedroom Pool Villa Suites 214sqm or even 2 bedroom Pool Villas 447sqm offering guests ample space with their own private gardens, living areas & private pool to relax and unwind which we could have arranged to upgrade you at a small nominal cost. We have informed our Housekeeping dept on your displeasure of not removing the sand within your room and after investigation with our front desk team we will ensure to repeat all destinations clearly to our local taxi drivers to ensure our guests are not inconvenienced in the future.The resort also offers guests a daily private afternoon and evening return shutlle service to Patong and Phuket town should guests wish to visit. Please feel free to contact me directly Khun Kelvin should you wish to return to Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed in Sala Phuket Resort & SPA 1 night. Everything was well organize and expectation. Most of the room are pool vila, excepted the deluxe balcony. However, there are 02 swimming pools serve guest who don't have private pool in thier room , or need more space for swim. My villa was nice, well decoration, good for honeymooner. I am enjoying chilling on my private sala and swim whenever i want. Free wireless internet which 01 adpater per villa. It's very a big plus for me. However, be prepare to cast away from nightlife and urban environment. Food was a bit pricy but it is hotel price and exceed expexctation. There is a turule village mini shopping mall where located 10 minutes from resort by free shuttle tuk tuk which you can reserve the seat by infrom front desk. Beach is OK . Quiet, clean and private. But it is deep sea not flat beach. So, not suitable for kids. Breakfast was perfect, continental buffet with a la carte order from main dish. Overall, this is a one of my memorable experience staying. I will defite to recommend hoeymoon who want to have sweet time and fill the fire of love :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nattawut K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Signature Khun Nattawut. K - Bangkok, Thailand, thank you so much for your positive feedback during your overnight stay, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed the resorts facilities, guest services, beach and our delectable cuisine! The resort also offers guests a daily private afternoon and evening return shutlle service to Patong and Phuket town should guests wish to visit. Please feel free to contact us should you wish to return to Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed in the hotel last month during my honey moon vacation , I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights , I can describe the hotel that it is good but the area is sooooo quite with zero night activity to do , some times you will feel like you are alone in an island , we reserved a private villa with a private swimming pool , unfortunately rain didn't stop for 3 nights so you can imagine , the worst thing is that bathroom of the villa is out side the room so you will need to get out of your room each time your need WC. We saw a Gecko in the bathroom and it was like a nightmare! Breakfast was poor almost the same menu each day and with the presence of an army of flies around your food you can hardly eat your food. Overall the hotel is nice but i recomend to stay in it for maximum 2 nights not more, improvements needs to be made.
Note: the spa is great and clean with an amazing massage available.

Room Tip: dont take a private villa, WC is outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Phuket’s green season runs from the beginning of May through October. This is when temperatures cool down and we have patches of rain. It’s during this time that we offer daily complimentary activities for our guest such as how to make Lava Chocolate Cake, Yogfa or Martini Mondays.

You are correct in regards to the night life and general quietness of our location. We are located on the secluded Maikhao Beach, which is 13 kilometers long which has no jet skis, atv’s or beach hawkers and on the busiest of days you may see 10 other people on the entire stretch of beach. This is one our most valued features by our guests. However we do offer a daily shuttle bus to Patong and Phuket Town, both of which are 45 minutes away.
We’re very sorry to hear that you found the breakfast to be repetitive. We do offer two daily specials in addition to the a la carte menu, such as French Toast bread pudding with mixed berry compote and vanilla whipped cream or Thai omelett filled with prawns served with stir-fried morning glory and chicken consommé. However we will also be extending our current continental buffet in November offering a larger variety of juices, cold cuts, cheeses and pastries.

In regards to the flies in our area. SALA Phuket is located next to Pru Jeh San lake, a wetland protected by the Thai Forestry Department. The road around the lake makes for a nice jog. Unfortunately the side effect is an increase in flies directly after rain. This is why we built and enclosed, beach side air conditioned restaurant as a second option to our outdoor dining.
We have given your positive comments to our Spa team. SALA Spa is one of the few spa’s in Thailand licensed and trained to use Clarins skin products. SALA Spa has also achieved several accolades the latest being listed on Conde’ Nast’s Johansens Luxury Spas 2012 Recommended list.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Phuket. We would look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Jan Hollister EAM SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

We staid here for 2 nights with a family of four. Check in was fast and efficient. Got upgraded from signature pool villa to a villa suite ...which was stunning. Very private with very big pool. This resort is minimalist in design and is completely in keeping with its virgin surroundings. Mao khao beach is undiscovered territory, non-commercial and far away from the shopping and bars in Patong. It is nature at its best and the hotel has done its outmost to blend into this beautiful environment without disturbing it. The grounds are spacious overlooking the beach which is fringed by pine trees.
The ambience is über cool compared to the Marriott next door which looked really busy. The Sala Resort offers unprecedented peacefulness without the resort feeling empty...a true place for rejuvenation, honeymooners or anybody who wants to get away from a busy lifestyle. Wifi Internet is available throughout the resort. On Thursdays and Saturdays they show an open air movie on the lawn with the sound of crashing waves in the background and free popcorn... It was magical! If I had to find fault with the resort, it would be the a la carte breakfast. Despite the many options on the menu, I think this resort should offer a sumptuous buffet in keeping with the rest of the resort. However, I would go back there in a flash. It is one of these places which makes your holiday memorable and not just one of many...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Signature Poessing,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback during your visit to SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.

We are glad you enjoyed the resort’s beautiful location, facilities and guest services on your vacation and it was a memorable one. With regards to your breakfast experience, we will be extending our breakfast buffet in November to further complement our existing a la carte menu.

Please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Ake Laochan – Executive Assistant Manager – SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a great and relaxing time in this modern hotel in Phuket. The calm, and no crowded beach was special for our romantic scape. We loved the comfortable room in the second floor with the open bathroom in the balcony, the infinity pool, the breakfast and the friendly service.
We had a Thai massage in the Spa and it was amazing!
We will back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebipla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Sebiplia, Many thanks for taking your time to share your experience at SALA Phuket with others. We have passed on your positive comments to our spa and breakfast team. Hopefully you had the opportunity to try our French toast bread pudding for breakfast! Please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again or if you have any friends visiting Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jan Hollister, EAM Food and Beverage, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I attended here with my Boyfriend, but left engaged :). This hotel is very picture perfect, lovely pools, a fantastic restaurant and very comfortable bar area. We had a fantastic room, one with its own pool. The rooms are very much for outdoor living, bathroom is very open plan, but the privacy is fantastic, so doesnt cause a problem. A short drive from the hotel is the turtle village, this has a pub restaurant and a cafe, the cafe actually makes for a very good meal!! We sat outside here on our engagement night nd and had a meal by candlelight, was very nice - very good as this is the only option we could find other than the pub, which didn't have the right feel for a special evening. We took the hotel bus into patong one night, think was about £30 travel, but was a full evening - is very busy in patong! So have this in mind, we liked it for a change, but probably wouldn't suit everyone, is full of narrow streets, market stalls, restaurants and a huge shopping mall, like I say we liked it, and had a great time, but wouldn't have rushed back for another evening - you need to book seat on coach for this at reception. We loved this place - especially the breakfasts! Steak for breakfast = amazing!. This place is very remote, so you need to consider this when booking, but don't let this put you off - we had 3 nights booked here as a wind down at the end of our holiday and this was perfect for us.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gen140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Signature Gen 140 Hertfordshire, "Congratulations" and thank you very much for your positive feedback on your last 3 x nights of your vacation to SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed the resorts facilities,cuisine and guest services which met your expectations. Please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
25.3 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 333 Moo 3 Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Resort And Spa
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing