We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2006

This is by far one of the best properties we have stayed at. We stayed at the 1 bedroom suite at the JW and it was an awesome experience. The service, rooms, housekeeping, pools etc are simply the best. We were traveling with our 2 kids (3 and 5) and they had a great time as well. The Mandara Spa is deservedly the best in the world. The kids activities, pools (with slides) and the fantastic food, along with the superb view from the room (ocean view suite) was simply breathtaking. You cannot go wrong with this property, very high end and relaxing...we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank genomesolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,764
    726
    171
    64
    30
See reviews for
1,516
1,211
113
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2006

Having read all the review prior to my trip I was a little concerned about the isolation but being prepared was good as I was not shocked by the distance from civilisation.
I only once tried to get to the village and the map provided was not good and never found the restaurant or the shop.
We used the shuttle service into Patong and Phuket and I felt this was useful and time seemed convenient enough for us.
Stayed in a time share villa and the unit was superb and daily room service was certainly an added bonus.
The flies must be a seasonal thing as I did'nt have a problem with the flies.
It sounds lovely being right by the beach but the water is certainly very rough, the sand is very coarse and even when walking on the sand one day I got soaked by a big wave. The beach is very sloped and walking along is not comfortable. It was lovely to sit by the pool and over look the beach.
It really does suit people who want to rest and relax and like 5 star service. If you're the type that wants cheap meals, drinks and markets don't go to the Marriott.
We did two tours a day and night canoe tour which was excellent and a trip to Phi Phi Island. The Phi Phi Island trip was very commercial and the trip back was very rough.
Would recommend the Marriott as it was a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Naa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

We stay many times at Marriott's and other 5 star hotels (work and leisure), but this was definitely one of the best we stayed in so far. Excellent facilities, service, surrounding, etc. I was a bit skeptical when reading the reviews before, but it turned out to be true. A great hotel. We stayed a little over a week.

Plus sides:
-Quality and designs of rooms is great. We first had a normal room, which was nice too, but later received upgrade to a beautiful suite viewing the ocean. We had a huge(!) bathroom, a huge living/bedroom and a huge-huge balcony (patio, deckchairs, etc). Definitely one of the best rooms/suites we ever had in a hotel. A lot of green around the hotel, palm trees, gardens, etc. Very well maintained.
-Pools are excellent, there are three pools. Sufficient bed-chairs with parasols available. Nice pool bar in one of the pools. When we went it was not crowded so there was plenty of space available.
-Breakfast is the absoutely best we ever seen, indeed a little bit chaotic service, but food quality and types of food available was very very good. When we asked for something which wasn't available at the buffet, the cook brought it to us (and the days thereafter).
-Weather was great in June, only a drop of rain, and temp was around 30 celcius and not too humid luckily.
-Massage at beach is around 400baht for hour. Not same quality as spa, but nonetheless still good. We also did spa-massage several times. Beautiful surrounding, just a bit too expensive we think.
-Prices of food and drinks are ok. Of course more expensive then eating outside hotel, but for EU/Marriott Prices still ok. Cocktails were good.
-Service of staff is very good and very friendly. Could improve knowledge about local surroundings a bit however.

Some (small) downsides:
-Quality of food in dinner restaurants and room service could be a bit better. It was not comparable to the excellent breakfast.
-It is difficult and expensive to arrange taxis via the hotel; and the shuttlebusses are not going that frequently (and are not for free).
-A lot of Marriott time sharing being built next door, and these owners also use the Marriott facilities, so we think it may get more and more crowdier.
-Although hotel is at the beach, you actually dont have chairs at the beach itself, but just behind it (you can see the beach)


Tips:
-Although we did not, next time we will hire a car (1200-1400 baht per day: Europcar), but I will take my GPS with me then otherwise I get lost. Taxi's are too expensive if you want to explore the island/cities.
-We did a John Sea Canouing tour for a day. A bit pricey but a great experience.
-During the day you can jog/walk to the next door village or lake. Everything is very local there and very friendly people. We ate several times in the local restaurants and paid like 150 baht for everything together. Friendly locals brought us back to the hotel (sometimes for free, sometimes for smal fee 100-200 baht)
-We took the normal taxi's back and to the airport (around 400 baht), was fine too.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank M6340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2006

Just returned from JW Marriott Phuket today, 25 May. Spent 4 days there. Decided to book this place after reading the reviews here. Must say that I was not disappointed. Everything about the Marriott was good. The service (always with a smile), rooms, food and amenities were top-notch. We went there with our 3 year old child and were very happy that kids are well catered for here. In fact, my son loved the rooms (esp the huge comfy bed) so much that he often didn't want to leave the room. The regular deluxe garden sala room is very large by asian standards and can probably sleep a family of 4. The toilets are huge and have big tubs for those who like to soak it up.

Room service was excellent. Food, is of good quality and prices are not that expensive. Must consider how isolated you are and the quality of ingredients used. Don't plan on doing any sightseeing or shopping here becos the resort is quite far from civilisation. But the surroundings are condusive for relaxation so that was what we really wanted. We spent most of our meals ordering room service since you can order food from any of the restaurants to be delivered to your room.

The pools at the resort are very nice. They have 3 main pools. This is to cater to the guests staying at different parts of the resort. But if you have kids (esp young ones) you might want to request for them to put you in a room nearer to the Main Pool where the kid's pool is. This is becos there is only 1 kiddy pool in the whole resort. Believe me, if your room is at the far end of the resort, the walk to the main pool will be quite long and tiring.

Didn't use the Mandara Spa becos it was very expensive. Found the beach massages more affordable at 400 baht for 1 hr. I think the Mandara charges something like 50,000 baht/hr. Yikes. The beach massage was not bad. Although it can get quite hot in the afternoons. Towel etiquette quite lacking in the massage huts. Flies galore.

My only problem with the entire stay was the constant onslaught from flies. Seriously, the resort needs to do something about this. Not only is it unhygenic but also very unsightly. We ordered food by the pool side once and the number of flies that decended upon us was enough to make me sick. The food was excellent, but the fact that I had to balance a bowl of food in one hand and swat flies with the other is just ridiculous. Even at the Marriott cafe during breakfast each morning, we had to flick away flies the moment we sat down. And this was in an air-conditioned environment. I shudder to think what the hotel's kitchen is like.

But on the whole, the resort is indeed worthy of its 5-star rating. Let's just say that when we left, we were actually contemplating signing up for their timeshare programme. It's that good.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Happy_Clam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2006

The tropical setting of the hotel has 3 pools with 3 different themes. a) anicent b) tropical c) moderm with bar which serves you drinks while you are in the water.

The hotel is massive. Very good services @ the pool side. Rooms are well appointed, with thai salsa area which is great for relaxing. Open bathrooms which gives the bedroom even more spaces. The lobby area is appointed with beds/sofa beds and cushions, give you plently of areas to relax other than your bedroom.

I am impressed with the hotels. Nice lobby areas, corridors, very close to the beach.
In particular, great spas. I have tried oriental in bangkok, yet, rooms here in mandara spa is so well appointed with high ceiling and outdoor shower and spa areas. With these, there is a extra charges if u find this in bangkok.

Here are some downside of the hotels:
1) needs to improve in tidying up the room. Found out it did no vacumn.
2) marriot cafe where it serves breakfast is so messy, while charging 680 THB per person + 10% service charge + 7% tax rate. the waiters are not responsive, and did not clean up the table promptly when guests finished the meal. nonetheless, the dehli is much better although with less food selection.
3) the room is big and without some advance technology, there is a distance to turn off lights and blinds.
4) requested for check out time to be 2am, yet I got turn down because of overbooking.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford kent uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2006

Do not let the bland international Marriott travelling salesman image deter you from celebrating a truly luxurious 5 star experience.
Marriott Phuket is not a crassly commercial 'pack 'em in' number with special offer deals shouted accross the lobby. ( A very short visit to Marriotts Berlin last October revealed a bed hanging in the lobby!)
A huge amount of money and much sensitivity has gone into establishing this stunningly beautiful resort. My wife and I have been lucky enough to stay in 8 Ritz Carltons and Marriotts Phuket, whilst obviously more family orientated, can easily level with say RC Sharm el Sheikh or RC Montego Bay.

Why so 5 Star?

1: The service is immaculate. The gracious and charming manners of Thai people are in evidence from all members of the staff.

2: Housekeeping. A highlight of our stay.. By the end of the week, Suite 177 had been transformed into a veritable menagerie of origami towel sculptures. Monkeys hanging from the bedside lights, kissing elephants, romantic swans and of course, a Mai Khao beach turtle. Our maid spent up to 2 hours a day sorting our suite into pristine shape. With regard to hotel souvenir gluttons, there was a surfeit of top range spa soaps and quality toiletries to take away!

3: Concierge. Fast, efficient, immaculate. Nothing was too much trouble. Concierge sorted out our flights, trips and even agreed to give us a private tour, accompanied by 4 members of staff, of the $3800 per night royal suite. Thank you Oy and Kate.

4: Room Service: Huge delicious menu, prompt service. Even bowls of fresh chilli delivered with your order on request! My wife and I consume vast quantities of ice and by the second night we were provided with an industrial sized bucket of ice every morning.

5: Paying for a Suite: Sumptuous, stunning and wonderfully air conditioned. Suite 177 had 22 windows, 18 of them overlooking the beautiful Andaman sea, the remaining 4 in the bathroom! How wonderful to have a bathroom with natural sunlight. Our suite had an outside gate with close proximity to the sea, a private spirit temple, two sun loungers on a large private terrace and a fan cooled 'sala'.
Inside, the huge 6', 7 pillowed bed, pale green and gold Jim Thompson fabrics, open plan 4 seater dining area and excellent desk and lounge provision all cotributed to a truly luxurious experience. Highlight of the suite, after the view, was the huge bathroom. The large terrazo tub bath was filled with orchids on our arrival. The hand held and overhead shower options were housed in a generous marbled space big enough to hold a party.
Internally and externally, Suite 177 was some of the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. £350 a night is huge money, but we felt it was worth every penny.

6: Ambience. Think serenity, space, water, immaculate tropical gardens and temples. Forget high rise business hotels. The lobby infinity water feature says it all.

7: Breakfast: The Marriott cafe was a cosmopolitan delight, reflecting the many nationalties of holidaymakers staying there. Japanese grilled fish counter, 2 omelette stations, a fresh fruit and vegetable smoothie stop where the carrot, celery and ginger mix was reason enough to wage war. Needless to say the traditional scrambled eggs and bacon options were beyond compare. Busy and er very child friendly with some days being spoilt by too many flies, nevertheless lunch was entirely unnecessary after a serious breakfast here. Service, as with every other area of this hotel, was immaculate.

8: Shopping: Spend 1000 Baht on a taxi to Tesco at Phuket Town and load up with all the provisions you need at supermarket prices. Marriotts is in the middle of a nature reserve, so it really pays to make that Singhe beer and tonic pilgrimage as soon as possible. Also you can pick up a decent sized suitcase for 500 Baht if you decide to buy 5 hand made suits and 16 shirts like we did! Bazz will will come to your hotel for second fitting and delivery. Don't be fooled by the airport publicity regarding price, if you want a suit of good quality. The suits are indeed hand made and there are fine fabric options, but go with the frame of mind of buying some fabulous clothes, rather than obtaining the bargain of the century. Still keenly priced however.

9: Environment. After spending one night at a Kata beach hotel, looking at the debris, plastic chairs and generally low life, Greek island, tacky ambience of this resort, it was a wonderful contrast to escape to Mai Khao beach where there are no 'facilities' and the hotel has a deliberate environmental policy of keeping the beach area dark at night so as not to discourage turtle breeding.
Respect to the international hotel chain! The guest is even charged a nominal, nightly 40 baht Turtle protection charge! The beach really is unspoilt and you can see for miles without obvious tourist intrusion. This is a resort of outstanding natural beauty.

10: Where to Eat. The best Thai restaurant in Patong is Baan Rim Pa. Outstanding sea views. Don't leave Thailand without tasting the heavenly Tom Yum soup Book Early.
La Gritta is a fine, albeit hotel styled, Italian restaurant with fabulous sea views, also in Patong.
The only down side? Avoid the Marriott Italian restaurant. Awful food, boring ambience, slow service and grossly overpriced.

In conclusion, when is a Marriott not a Marriott? When it's Phuket Resort and Spa.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
47 Thank serendipit4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2006

We stayed at the JW Marriott Villa during our children's Spring Break. We were pleasantly surprise to find that both the Villa and the Hotel were not fully booked. In the daytime, we had the pick of any lounger we wanted, and any restaurants without having to make reservations. Prior to coming to this place, we read up on other people's reviews and expected to see and experience similiar things. Firstly, we expected to be greeted by our limo driver (which we reserved prior to the trip)with a cold drink and a wet towel, but we didn't get either one. We told them that we were a party of five so we assumed that they would send a limo large enough for 5 passengers or a minivan. They sent a 5 seater Mercedes sedan. Two of us had to double buckle and two of us had to sit with luggages on our laps. Secondly, we read that the pool attendants bring complimentary fruits to the sunbathers on a regular basis. We sunbathed by the main pool 3 days, a few hours each day; we were only offered a small bowl of watermelon once. I gathered they have cut back on these extras as well. Although we didn't get these extras, we still felt we were looked after very well by all the staff.
On Saturday nights, the resort put on a special event which they call it their "Saturday Night Market". They charge 900 bahts for adults and 450 bahts for children. The food is supposedly street foods that you would find at any typical Phuket town or Patong town night market. My children enjoyed this as they would not eat any real street food for fear that they would get sick.
The umbrellas that the Villa provided came in handy two of the days. It didn't rain, it poured instead.
Enjoyed all the extensive complimentary activities provided by the Health Club staff. Muay Thai boxing was taught by an authentic Thai boxer; we had a great workout with him. Besides boxing, we also learned how to make Thai desserts, flower arrangements, and leaf origami. We had lessons on simple Thai phrases and customs.
Our kids rented tennis rackets and bicycles and these activities kept them busy for a couple of days. The rentals were not cheap but worth it. Free high speed internet was also available in the villas allowing us to send and receive our e-mails on our laptop.
Although the gym is not large, it was adequate. The week that I was there, I never had to wait for any machine. If the resort were fully booked, there could be a wait for some of the equipment. I would've liked to see lighter free weights geared for women; 3lbs, 5lbs, 8lbs, and 10lbs. The cold bottled water and fruits (sugar bananas one day and the rest of the time was tangerines)are nice touches. They even provide you with cold wet towel if you ask for it.
If you prefer to run or jog outdoor, the resort is right by a lake. The total distance is about 5 km. I ran around the lake twice each morning in order to do my daily 10 km run. Enjoyed the serene surroundings. Next year, when we return to this resort, I would do my daily jog or run to the neighbouring village and run back (about 16km). Apparantely you get to see rice paddies, rubber and coconut plantations, a school, a village etc.
We even tried the small seaside restaurant (about 10 minutes walk) south of the Villa. The menu is not extensive but food there is great and cheap. I recommend their Seafood Tom Yum Soup (150 bahts - enough for 2 people), fried whole fish with garlic sauce (280 bahts - again large enough for 2 people,
and their Seafood fried rice (75 bahts). While we were there having lunch one day, this woman came on her motorbike, and she sold us some home roasted cashews. 100 bahts for a bag (probably 1lb) What a deal.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank drmagicd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
15.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,011 reviews
9.1 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 231 Moo 3 | Talang, Phuket, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, the resort comprises 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing