We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$102
$92
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$353
$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$142
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$317
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$326
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coriacea Boutique Resort(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$191
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
$242
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,571)
Filter reviews
4,571 results
Traveler rating
3,402
853
201
76
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,402
853
201
76
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby barblue barjw marriott phuketsiam delikids clubandaman grilljapanese restaurantcooking schoolginja tastesouth poolmandara spahealth clubturtle villageadult poolcooking classbreakfast buffettennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
3,568 - 3,573 of 4,571 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2005

We went to the Marriott in Phuket March 2005 and were'nt quite sure how we would find Phuket after the Tsunami but we had no problems at all, everything was perfect, in fact I would go as far as to say 'Heaven'.
Firstly, the Thai people are the nicest people we have ever come across in our lives - they make you so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them.
When we arrived at the Marriott we were greated with garlands and cocktails which was really sweet of them. They took us to our apartment by Golf cart which was great.
The apartment was lovely, absolutely lovely. It was a two bedroomed apartment as my daughter and her parter were joining us the next day. Master bedroom lovely and a dream of an en suite bathroom, lounge was super as was the kitchen, the second bedroom and en suite were also delightful and both rooms were extremely comfortable. There were balconies facing the sea to the side and the front of the apartment.
The hotel is lovely, there is a choice of four fine dining restaurants and every one of them is excellent, Italian, Sushi, Fish (which is great as you can eat all local fish, lobster, crab, flounder etc) and American style restaurants. As well as the restaurants there is a cafe and deli which is quite something - their cakes, bread, pastries, ice creams etc are divine.
Breakfast is taken in the American style restaurant which overlooks the sea and you can eat inside or al fresco - WOW what a fantastic buffet breakfast, they cater for everybody and the result is that the buffet is fabulous. The food presentation is stunning and the food itself is awesome, whilst we were eating one morning the manager came and asked us if everything we wanted was on the breakfast buffet (was he joking !) we said it was exceedingly good and thanked the staff for their attention to every detail.
The pool is great, it was designed and made in slate which is very unusual and so nice to swim in. The beach is only a few steps away from the pool and as Marriott own this part of the beach to preserve turtles it was very private and natural. Fortunately, the Tsunami had not destroyed any part of the Marriott as the Northern end of Phuket (where Marriott is) was not hit that hard. It is very hot in Thailand and whilst you are sitting under the shade by the pool you are brought cold flannels every half an hour, also the Thai girls come round with the Thai baskets on a bamboo cane over their shoulder and give fruit i.e. bananas, pineapple etc.
We hired a car for a few days and went to the surrounding area where we came across the Kata beach - it is heavenly white sand and beautiful blue sea. We saw where they looked after their Elephant's as these are considered sacred in Thailand.
Lastly, the spa and massages at the Marriott are second to none and it is worth having a massage whilst you are there.
I haven't written this review until now as I have only recently become a Trip Advisor member, however, we have never been disappointed with any Marriott we have been to and therefore had no qualms when we booked the holiday.
I do hope this helps Trip Advisor members as since I have been a member comments of various hotels in various places have certainly helped me.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Lindyloo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
NJ
27
Reviewed August 16, 2005

Great rooms, staff, facilities, pool. Food is typical Marriott which means there are rooms for improvements. Beach was deserted and rough to swim in. Spa was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2005

Just returned from spending two weeks (July 15-31) at the Marriott Vacation Share and J. W. Marriott in Phuket, Thailand. What a fabulous place. Spent many hours at the North Pool when not playing golf at Blue Canyon or Mission Hills (which we highly recommend). The staff and service were above anything we had experienced before. We were royally pampered! The concierge helped us plan day trips off the property to golf, snorkle, fish, kayak, and shop. It was also a treat to have a Thai massage on the beach for $10.00! It was just the thing after 18 holes! The weather was pretty good for the monsoon season. It sprinkled almost daily but dried off quickly in the 80 degree heat and high humidity but there seemed to always be a breeze to refresh you. (It rained the second day of our stay but we stayed inside playing cards and getting over our 18 hour flight.)
Ate at all the resturants on the property but mostly gravitated to the Siam Deli for fresh baked goodies, or a quick lunch or dinner. (miss the Thai Iced tea). We will definately be back to this island of beautiful sights and gracious people.

7  Thank guinness/currant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2005

I got to stay at this hotel because I agreed to attend a 90 minute sales pitch for Marriott's Time Share program, and received in return two free nights. Not only was the sales pitch pleasurable, but the two day stay for free was one of the nicest I have ever experienced. This is truly one of the world’s great hotels.

From the moment you enter the gorgeous lobby and are taken to your beautiful room you are pampered and in the lap of luxury. The public areas are all mesmerizingly stunning, with architectural and interior designs that range from strking to brilliant. Everywhere you look there is something lovely to soothe your eyes.

The room was done in dark woods, with a small interior balcony that was furnished with two small bedded sitting areas where you could read, relax and enjoy the view of the pool, lawns and ocean. The main room was large, with a very comfortable bed, plenty of pillows, great A/C, a beautiful huge bathroom with both bath and shower, great high end amenities, free bottled water, fruit bowl that was always refreshed, and a television with plenty of good stations if you had any desire to watch.

The pool was huge and amazing. The comfy beach chairs faced out over the pool or the beach and the pool had many different connecting areas, with fountains, sculptures, a bar at both ends, an area designed for kids, and a second pool was in another area of the hotel and reserved solely for adults. The service at the pool was great, with a full menu of food available, cool water brought without asking, occasional cool towels to refresh, and beautiful views.

The breakfast was fantastic, with huge arrays of fruits, hot dishes, and other delicious local delicacies. The other restaurants were great, and I managed to try them all. They were reasonably priced (except for the sushi bar, which was exhorbitantly expensive), drinks were fairly priced for the upscale resort, and all had views, excellent service and wonderful choices.

There was a first class spa, and excellent health club with all the extras, individual TV flat screen monitors for all the workout equipment, classes to take, jogging path suggestions and cold water and towels.

The service was flawless, no matter how small your request. The grounds were immaculate with so many nooks and crannies to hide away in. Even though it was huge, it felt like a private sanctuary.

There are many beautiful hotels in Phuket, with Evason Spa and The Dusit coming to mind, but none offering the luxury and beauty that JW Marriott offered. The only downside was the beach, which while beautiful, did not lend itself to swimming.

I would go back in a second and remember the dream of that two days for a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank mikestage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2005

Given the travel warnings that the Australian government issued to Phuket in May 2004 we thought it best to stay away from Patong and move to the north of the island. This is a decision we will never regret. JW Marriott is without a doubt the best value for money hotel/resort I have come across in my travels. The attention to detail within this resort is extraordinary. From the fruit delivered to your door every afternoon, to the making down of your room in the evening (bed quilt taken off the bed folded and put in the cupboard, shower wiped down, slippers put by the bed and a quick clean) to the constant supply of cool water when sitting by the pool there is nothing that could be faulted or asked for. We were even greeted by a new visitor each day in our rooms....the cleaners thought it was a creative idea to turn our hand towels into a different animal each day.

By the way...the above room was the 'basic' lead-in room !!

The rooms are exquisite. Polished floorboards throughout with a distinct Thai flavour as decor. The room had a raised area which had two 'salas' on the floor, behind one of the large windows which overlooked the gardens and beach. The bathroom was huge and marble throughout. Inside there were large wooden shutters which when opened allowed us to watch TV from the deep sunken bath. We were also supplied with fresh flowers everyday to put in the bath water. Unfortunately we were presented with 2 washout days out of the 4 we were there. But thankfully the rooms had a multizoned DVD player to compliment the large flatscreen TV in our rooms so the DVD's we bought the night before were put to good use throughout those 2 days.

When not in our rooms we were left to play around the pool which had fantastic landscaping and an inviting, green lagoon colour. Although cold, the water was very refreshing. Plenty of kids around this pool but don't forget that there is a more secluded pool towards the other end of the resort which caters for people looking for a 'cote d'azur' atmosphere.

Due to the resorts remote location we were left with having to eat at the resort each day. This was never a problem. The prices were incredibly cheap and tasted great. A main meal would set us back $A15 and lunch would never be more than $A10. The only problem was that the menu was a little thin and there were only two restaurants to choose from. If we had stayed there for longer than 4 days, we would have become very bored with the food.

As mentioned before I can't say a bad word about this place and would highly recommend it for an affordable and secluded holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank berniebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews