We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife, youngest son & I visted for 10 blissfully relaxing days in July 2014. We had an Ocean Front suite with it's own pool that was more than large enough for the three of us. The room was extremely fresh and clean and was maintained that way by some excellent housekeeping staff. Our son thoroughly enjoyed the kids club which let us adults chill. The staff were welcoming and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them to arrange (including a birthday cake for our son). A good range of restaurants to choose from (if you can drag yourself away from one of the pools).

Room Tip: I loved the ocean front pool suite! Very large room, private pool and yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WigB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear WigB2014,

It makes me very happy to read that your vacation experience was so positive. The one bedroom suites are very popular and rightly so - the view of the Andaman sea and having your own private plunge pool is always very well received!
I am also pleased to read that you enjoyed our many restaurant options. We work hard to ensure our food and beverage offering is of the highest quality with the variety to please all of our guests.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I do hope you visit again soon!

Kind regards

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,338
    650
    151
    58
    24
See reviews for
1,279
1,040
98
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I recently visited the JW Marriot and I am grossly dissapointed with the quality of the service as well as the physical state of the hotel rooms.

When I first entered the room there was a musty and damp smell. It was an old and stale room. I have previously stayed at Martiot hotels and this was definitely a substandard room.

My husband and I were both tired from our flight and arrived late in the night and was looking forward to a hot and relaxing shower. Upon showering the water was luke warm despite being set on the hottest setting. In addition the drainage made a huge noise. There was nothing relaxing or enjoyable about the shower. It was most unpleasant!!!

The next day we had complained on numerous seperate occasions to the frontdesk but did not get any useful feedback and eventually only got told in the night that there was nothing management could do because it was a standard thing.

I also recall requesting towels and having to wait 30 minutes before getting it.

Touring the far east, I have stayed in a few hotels and this was the worst stay by far. I recommend you do not stay here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank 402tiffanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear 402tiffanya,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our resort. I am sorry that we were not able to turn your experience around after learning of the issues surrounding your stay. When there are moments during the stay of our guests that do not meet their expectation we pride ourselves on finding a reasonable solution that enables the guest to focus fully on enjoying our award winning resort - this does not appear to have been the case on this occasion and I apologise unreservedly.

Kind regards

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family and I visited JW Marriot in the first week of June 2014.
There were 11 of us including kids from the ages of 8 months to 13 years old.
The resort had fantastic rooms. Excellent pools. Great Halal food which was a great relief to us.
The only issue is that the main town is far from the resort so you are in the resort all the time which isn't bad if you just want to relax and spend quality time with your family.
The staff was very helpful and the hotel also arranged for an ATV excursion for my family which was excellent.
I will visit this hotel again for sure but I will rent a car next time to go spend some time in the main Phuket town.

Room Tip: If you can get a 2 bedroom villa then go for it. Plenty of room for a family of 6. If you have you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Adil C,

We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent vacation with good quality time spent with family. I am sure the kids must have had a blast on that ATV excursion. The resort is about an hour away from town and is a good sight to visit at least once during your stay, but you will find that there are so many fun things to do on property that your family will not want to leave! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Away from the madding crowd, great hotel. Good choice of restaurants. Food in the Japanese restaurant is a bit steep. Good for a family getaway, great pools and room service. The beach is also a nice quiet place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DunamisArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear DunamisArt,

Good to know you enjoyed the hotel. Next time you return, you must try our new JW Japanese Sunday Brunch which has great variety and great value for money!

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Loved my stay.
Huge property and beautiful view.
We were in a group of 9 guests and everyone loved it.
Though we wanted to stay in the Villa but that wasn't available.
Very pleasant staff and lots of things to do.
It's far from the main city beach but thats what we wanted. (not far from the airport though)
We had a trip planned later in Bangkok for our shopping etc.
This resort is all about relaxing.
The gym is very nice too, it forced me to go to the gym everyday.
Lavish breakfast every morning was a delight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shingla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Shingla,

It sounds like you had a great friends and family getaway! We look forward to welcoming you back for a romantic one...

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The JW Marriott is not close to the city, but it is right along the beach. I stayed for a week at this hotel with a friend and it couldn't have been better. The 'pool', which is kept in pristine condition, surrounds the hotel which means you can jump into the water from just about anywhere. There are a couple restaurants within the hotel grounds which are all exceptionally good in not only taste, but also price and service. There are two pool bars as well as an indoor bar which provide a wide variety of drinks to enjoy throughout the day. My favourite part is the beach itself though. The hotel sits right along the beach, which is well maintained by the hotel staff and really safe. There are lounge chairs lined up along the sand for hotel stayers to relax in, and the hotel staff will serve you cool, refreshing water while you're soaking up the sun, or anything else you wish to order from the bar. There is free wifi throughout the whole hotel, and the gym facilities are quite nice as well. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the hotel staff are always more than willing to help out with anything you require. Out of all the hotels I've seen around Phuket, the JW Marriott probably has the best beach, so I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're looking for a relaxing, beautiful beach to spend time at.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, choose one of the rooms with a balcony instead of the pool-access rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnietsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Ronnie T,

We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time here at the JW Marriott.
We do have 3 swimming pools so it sometimes seems as though you could jump into a pool almost anywhere. Our beach is on National Park land which is well protected as there have been turtle sightings as well. Therefore, it is very important to us and the national park, that it is maintained and well taken care of. Thank you for taking the time to write.

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This is our second out of our five day stay, and I want to do an initial review so that fellow travelers gets to know a bit more before they book. Room and service is definitely JW marriott standard. Room design and restaurant varieties are the pros of this resort; it should be known that jw marriot shares ground with the marriot vacation club. Definitely a family oriented resort. Many fun things to do for families. Maybe not so much if you are a couple. We were told there are two adult only pools, but were disappointed to find many kids occupy them. The location of the resort is not very convenient; therefore unless you plan to stay in the hotel for the duration of your phuket stay, the location is far away from patong or phuket town. There isn't even a 7-11 close by.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bbdolphin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear bbdolphin45,

Thank you for taking time out of your vacation to write. There are many fun things to do for families but we don't forget couples too! I hope that the rest of your stay, you managed to experience the amazing sunset while having a cocktail at the Blue Bar, or take Thai cooking lessons or relax and enjoy the live band in the evenings and do a couples spa session at Mandara Spa. That's true, there is no 7-11 close by, but I recommend the Turtle Mart in Turtle Village and also CJ Minimart which is 5 minutes from the hotel. Please do not hesitate to look me up if you are still in the hotel!

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
15.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 35 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 306 in Patong
4.5 of 5 stars 4,056 reviews
9.1 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#1 of 92 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 231 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, the resort comprises 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing