We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I had a such an incredible experience at the JW in Phuket. The service was nonstop first class. Anything I needed, the workers were there to help immediately. They also upgraded my room to a massive one with its own patio and lounge chairs. Speaking of the room, the room was huge! So clean with an awesome shower and comfortable bed. The room was also only steps from the beach and the pools. The pools were kept at the perfect temperature. But, the only downside was the beach, which was a very nice one, yet since I was in town during the low season (with the rainy season approaching), the water was too strong to go and swim in. But, the pools were so good that they made up for the beach not being accesible. Lastly, my favorite part of the JW was its breakfast buffet. I've stayed at some really nice hotels in the past, but the JWs breakfast buffet was surreal. I recommend you get it and make your own crepe and load that sucker with all the toppings. Other than that, JW Phuket is awesome and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jplevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2014

Dear jplevin,

The best thing about breakfast is that we have it opened till 12pm most days because we know how some like to stay in bed late on vacation! Hope you will return as well during the summer season to enjoy long strolls on the beach and a sail on the catamaran.

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,221 - 2,227 of 4,268 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very nice resort. Facilities immaculate, rooms very well furnished and clean. Really enjoyed the stay however at this resort there is no direct access to the beach, you have to go to the other Marriott property. The beach at the other property is not very nice and not a good area to swim in. We booked some fantastic excursions from the resort. The facility is far from the local community and you resigned to using all the resort shopping and food dining areas. We took a cab downtown one night far dinner and it was pricey. Would of been nice to be able to leave the property and walk in the local community. Since you are a captive audience all the prices at the resort were quite a bit more than in town. Nice place to go if you want to be secluded and not see the local area

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Great resort for family, especially for kids. Very nice and big kids playroom, with all the facilities the children will love to play all day. Even more impressed, are the staff there. They can teach the kids with different art and crafts classes.

One nice thing to be mentioned is the breakfast which is very good standard with many choices.

We enjoyed staying there!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeorgeccLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear GeorgeccLee,

We're glad your family enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a great kids club team. Many kids have so much fun with the team, they remember their names and look for the staff to say goodbye before they leave! Hope your kids had a chance to do all sorts of fun things like flying the trapeze, or learning to play tennis at the junior tennis clinic or play crazy games with the kids club team in the pool. Looking forward to welcome you back on your next vacation.

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Excellent place. My wife has a disability and the room was perfect for her with a wonderful view of the landscaping. The room was a bit far from the main lobby and dining areas but fortunately we brought our Go-Go scooter which made it easy for her to get around.

The property is absolutely gorgeous. The staff very friendly and accommodating. The restaurants on the property were excellent.

This was our first visit to Thailand and we could not have stayed at a better place nor met people as gracious and kind as the ones we met at this resort. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Ian I,

Thank you for taking the time to write. It is our pleasure to ensure are guests are taken care of and we are glad you felt that way about the team. What drives them to do more is to hear kind words from guests such as yourself. We hope that your second time to Thailand will be at the JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa as well!

Regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at this resort for 13 days as part of our honeymoon. I have stayed at a lot of hotels aroudn the world and this one was extremely nice.

I will be up front and say that the food is pricey. Saying that, it is excellent. At the Japanese restaraunt, I literally had the best steak of my life. I have eaten at some of the best steakhouses in the United States and this one took the cake. It was unreal. The other restaraunts were good too but none compared to the Japanese restaraunts.

The hotel was very accomodating in booking excursions. They recommended some great island tours and constantly found things for us to do. The pools were great and ocean is beautiful. The only downside to the beach is that you cannot take chairs down there. We were dissapointed in that.

The service was pretty good. I have to admit that my wife and I were really unhappy that our ocean suite we booked at a premium for part of the trip was not timely ready and we were without a room for some time. Just the type of headache you do not want to deal with on a honeymoon. Nonetheless, the staff brought two bottles of champage up to make up for the problem. Also, the hot tub was broken and they comped one night in the suite since it was basically worthless. It was dissapointing but I appreciated the professionalism of the staff.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay there. I would recommend anyone to stay here but do not waste your money on the ocean suite at over double the price. It is not worth it.

Here a couple of tips:

Get the garden view room. It is plenty fine for what you need.

The resort is secluded. You will have to rent a cab to get into town so that may make a difference depending on what you want to do.

Take advantage of the free breakfasts which are excellent if you are a marriott rewards member.

Get massages on the beach. They are a bargain. Avoid the spa which is four times as expensive and not as relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tschenk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Came here with my wife for our 15 year wedding anniversary and I'm so glad we did! Great property, wonderful staff, beautiful rooms and plenty to do on property. Here are a list of pros and cons to this place:

PROS
+ property is big, clean, beautiful and well maintained
+ staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. Concierge was great and very helpful!
+ 3 pools were all great and very unique
+ awesome for kids. We left ours at home but saw many families and the hotel has plenty to do for kids
+ lots of activities at the hotel including tennis, bike riding, yoga, kids club
+ close to airport
- breakfast buffet was awesome

CONS
- far from most restaurants, things to do and nightlife. One of the biggest expenses we had was taking taxi's into town and back ($30 and 1 hour each way to Patong and Phuket Town)
- restaurants at the hotel are ok and expensive and we found ourselves eating off property every night after trying the Tai restaurant on the 1st night
- This place can be expensive and there are other cheaper lodging options to stay at that are very nice

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We've visited jw marriott for a relaxing holidays. iT was a great choice and the most beautiful hotel I've been to.

The staff was nice and helpful, room was lovely and the swimming pools refreshing. There were massages just next to the beach 1 hour for 400 bahts. Hotel is quite expensive but just few hundred metres from it you can find fantastic local thai restaurants. One is Jit's bar just outside marriott vacation club and the others are in the opposite direction - when you are on the beach go left and after 5-10 min walk turn left. Behind the trees you will find many small local restaurants with delicious Thai food in a reasonable price!

Would definitely go there again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Barb242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley L, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Barb242014,

We are happy to hear you managed some r&r in the resort. It is relaxing to lay by the pool, read a book, enjoy the sunset with the sounds of the waves in the background... It does sound like you explored the area! There are more and more upcoming local restaurants but next time you have to try Ginja Taste our Thai restaurant that serves local Phuket delicacies and even do a cooking lesson or two!.

Best regards,

Ashley Lai
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
15.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,105 reviews
5.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
11.1 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $177 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Twenty minutes north of the airport, our Phuket resort's grounds comprise 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing