We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outsanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We have stayed in Marriott resorts all over the world in Marbella, Majorca, Paris and America but this has to be the most outstanding of them all. From arrival the hotel is breathtaking with a warm welcome and views over the infinity pool out to the sea. The poolside service of towels, drinks served to your sun bed and fresh fruit are perfect. You can get a massage from the spa or on the beach (cheaper). We also did the Thai cookery school which was excellent. We opted not to use the hotel for our tours but instead booked our own going white water rafting, elephent riding and canoe rides into the lagoons (brilliant as you get into them under the rock by boat at low tide by lying flat in the canoe!). The only downside to self catering is that the local supermarket is expensive. The way to counter this is to take a taxi into the main town and visit tesco. This is an expensive trip but if you shop for the whole week well worth it. We used the gym and pool daily hopping on an off of golf buggies as they pass you. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bristolpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Bristolpeople,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to Marriott hotels and for staying at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and very happy that you liked all the complimentary treats we offer around our pools.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,185)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,213 - 2,219 of 4,186 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a classic timeshare property with excellent amenities right on the beach. The restaurants are great (expensive for Thailand but fairly reasonable for a hotel) and it's really helpful having the on site deli and a small shopping centre within a few hundred metres. The spa is incredible and well worth it - there are people on the beach offering cheap massages, but if you want the full relaxing experience, use the hotel spa.

Most of the staff are extremely helpful and really want to go out of their way to ensure you have good time. Some of the ones at the pool bar were a little bit inflexible when it came to modifying meals or drinks, but I got the impression they were new and that their supervisors were pointing them in the right direction.

The rooms are spacious and clean, but as the property is a few years old, they are not the most up to date in terms of the look and feel - it's very much like any Marriott vacation club anywhere in the world. The design is slightly flawed in that as per all these American style vacation properties the guest bathroom is really small - never understood this when there are normally more people using it than the master one.

Two main issues which we had were some noise from staff and other guests because we were on the ground floor where the service carts pass by - worth getting a room on a high floor to avoid this. The other issue was with housekeeping, where it became clear that they were not sweeping and mopping the floors properly - we complained and got a complimentary breakfast and a very contrite apology.

Overall, would definitely recommend this place, but possibly more for families or special occasions than for groups of friends or young couples and singles - I think there are probably some slightly more upscale and quirky resorts in the area which appeal better to that demographic.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSavvyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Dear TheSavvyTraveller,

It pleases me to read in your review that your experience at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa was extremely enjoyable.

Please accept my apologies for the cleaning service in your room, I would like to inform you that we have shared your comments with our Housekeeping Team and they are reviewing how to make sure this does not happens again.

We look forward to seeing you again when next visit to Phuket for another memorable stay with us.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager
JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

surprisingly, on our first day at hotel with poor service and check-in reception. the check-in counters you firstly see when you walk into hotel are not for you, but for those 'vacation club'. Too stupid for me, that I did not know what the h.ll Vacation club is, I mistakenly stood on 'vacation club counter' queue to check-in for quite a long time, just to found out it was not for me. Hotel should have a sign clearly show at the entrance to tell customer where to check-in, don't expect everyone on earth know the 'vacation club'.

lunch at Siam Deli, sitting outdoor, when food came, along with many flies. We could not eat on one hand while the other hand must keep waiving to chase the fly away. So then we gave up and moved inside the restaurant (still there are couple flies tag along with us inside)

in general, we do like this chain hotel, but probably not this one at Phuket. Too bad, this is only our first night here, and we still have 2 more nights to go :(
Hope our family can find way to enjoy our vacation, luckily we rent car, so we can drive out and spend more time outside of hotel for lunch or dinner. Probably we will do excursion on some islands around Phuket.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raindang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Narain C,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your valuable comments. It is through customer feedback that we are able to improve our service to our guests.

With regards to your concerns, I offer no excuses but my sincerest apologies and have taken the liberty of sharing them with my respective department heads in order to correct these shortcomings experienced by you.

Thank you for take the time to communicate with our Resident Manager while staying with us and despite of a poor welcome experience at our resort we hope you enjoyed our stay with us.

I remain at your entire disposal and if ever you are back in Phuket, we would be delighted to welcome you back to JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The service lacks the final essence of Thai. It has got americanised . Normally I avoid American chains when I travel to fareast. Bcz for the same price I can get better service from local chain of hotel. On my wife insistence we stayed. for example in the evening if we called for room to be be cleaned , they would ask has it not been already done up ,we would say yes, then they would reply by stating ,we do up the room in the evening only once, I was quiet taken a back .from a luxury hotel in Thailand this was the first time I heard such a statement, other wise great pool , spa is fantastic . Breakfast very good spread . Over all very good experience . Reg beach I have suggestion , please do not keep room to nos of workers ratio only in mind. Beach has a lot of broken bottles , plastics. Beautiful beach ,however needs to be maintained, atleast in front of the hotel if it can be cleaned three time a day .walking on the beach specially at sunset will be a much better experience, we can look at sunset instead of watching our for broken bottles.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Vivek K,

I am pleased to read that you had a very good experience while staying at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

Thank you for your compliments on our pool facilities, Spa and breakfast restaurant. Our Associates working on those areas will be extremely proud to hear that you were very pleased with their service.

I appreciate your feedback on how to improve resort operation. I will share your comments with our managers. Concerning your comment about our beach, we share the same concern as you and it is for that reason that we do a beach cleaning every morning.

We are looking forward to your return visit to JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager
JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family. Great kids club with fantastic activities. My daughter spent hours in there. Great Thai restaurant in the hotel but book early. Two baby elephants as hotel pets were the highlight.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jovanka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Jovanka J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sharing your comments with our team in Ginja Restaurant as well as our Kid's Club, they will be proud to hear they made your stay extra special.

We hope to welcome you back to JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful experience.
The staff was very helpful,
special kudos for Su Asst. Mgr lobby bar she was absolutely great.
The experience was a fine example of Thai hospitality.
this is my sixth year in a row I've stayed at the Marriott I will come back again and again and again.

John Webb




Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear John W,

Thank you for your review and for mentioning the service you received from our Associates. We are very proud of the team for working so hard every single day to make sure our guests receive the best in attentive and friendly Thai hospitality.

I will make sure Su receives proper recognition for your comment, she will be extremely delighted!!

Looking forward to welcome you back to your home away from home, the JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

It was our 3rd stay at JW Marriott Phuket, we usually always go there on our first or last days of our stays in Phuket since it's so conveniently located 15min from the airport. It is always a pleasure to come here. The hotel is beautiful, amazing garden, the rooms are super confortable, and they have one of the best Thai restaurant in Phuket (Ginga Taste). Great staff too.
Although we are usually more SLH (Small Luxury Hotel) or Six Senses style, we are actually even thinking of spening more time at the JW next time, maybe in one of the pool suites that look amazing.
Thanks again to the Marriott team, this one is a jewel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diego_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Diego_Sarah,

Thank you for staying at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa for your third time.

I am very happy to read such a positive review and to get to know that your planning to stay longer on your upcoming visit to Phuket.

We will share your good comments with our Ginja Restaurant team, they will happy to know that you consider their restaurant as one of the best Thai in the island.

Looking forward to meet you on your next visit to the island Phuket.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 328 in Patong
5,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
12.9 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
1,917 reviews
3.0 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $117 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Twenty minutes north of the airport, our Phuket resort's grounds comprise 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing