We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for families, maybe not for honeymooners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good for families, maybe not for honeymooners”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Coming here on our honeymoon- there were good a bad parts of this JW. It's 20 mins north of the airport, but 45 mins from all the main attractions and beaches. We thought it was a bad thing, but actually enjoyed being away from all the tourists that visit Phuket.

Now, being a JW (my husband and I hoard Marriott points) -this hotel is more dated than the other JWs that we have stayed at. Also, it's attached to a Marriott vacation time share so what we thought would be a romantic JW was really crawling with children. That said, when we have kids- we would take them here because this JW really helps cater to them.

Checking in, we were greeted with drinks, a bracelet and cold towels (what a relief- we came to Thailand during the hottest month). Our room was big, but it was a "ocean view" room and maybe if you closed our right eye and blinked- you could see the ocean. The entry pool was breath taking and they light fire sticks in the center at night. We did enjoy the walk up bar pool) although looking around it did look dirty and outdated (there were clear chairs in the water you could sit at, but you could see the green algae and mold). It a unprotected beach so sand isn't as nice (when you think of Thailand you think of beautiful beaches) and the waves are strong so you real did spend most of your time at the JW pool. Marriott did exceed our expectations when they upgraded our room the 3rd night into one of the villas with your own personal pool. My god I was in heaven.

Other than that, I would recommend this JW with families with children. There are a list of daily activities you can sign up for. This is a huge resort, very confusing layout and you can get lost easily. The food was good, but pricey. Nothing too special- the only real reason why we're giving such high reviews are for the upgraded room and the staff was pretty amazing. I loved the guy in the front drop off. Sweet little man who would click his shoes together and salute you every time you came back. He was so nice. :)

Room Tip: well...it doesn't hurt to ask for a upgrade. There are only 4 or 6 in the whole resort. Trust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Han S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Han S,

Thank you very much for posting such a detailed review of your recent stay at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

I am happy about your comment mentioning that our associates are "pretty amazing". I have no doubt that when we will share this information with them, they will feel extremely proud.

Please accept my apologies for the areas we were not able to exceed your expectations. I can assure you that we are taking your comments seriously and we will continue working towards improving every single day the experience of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Phuket.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,924
    773
    182
    65
    31
See reviews for
1,616
1,283
120
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The staff was great. They make you feel welcome and don't roll their eyes when you have a special request for children (which we have 3 small ones). There were three specifically who were exceptional and should receive recognition. A Dutchman named Simon who worked at the pool area who went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and my children happy. Also the lady (who I can't remember her name) who serviced our room 354 was always asking if her services were meeting our expectations (of course they were). Finally one of the best experiences was with Apinya Petcharat who works at ginja Thai restaurant. She and her team were exceptional with my family. We ended up going to that restaurant 3 of the 5 nights we stayed. She and her team definitely deserve well earned recognition.

We'll be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Peter H,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your positive comments about your recent stay at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

Please rest assured we will share your feedback with all our associates and specially with Simon at the pool, the housekeeper that serviced your room and our Ginja team.

We eagerly await your arrival in the near future and will be ready to provide you another memorable experience at the resort.

Best regards,

Oriol
Oriol Montal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this resort as the reviews were mediocre. The entire experience for my family was top-notch. While I won't return to Thailand (other places to visit), I would eagerly recommend this resort to anybody traveling to Phuket. This place also has the break breakfast buffet I have ever experienced. One would be hard pressed to find a better breakfast buffet anywhere. There were also tons of activities for the kids.

Room Tip: my room was on the bottom floor with easy access to the south pool, and my kids and I loved being ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Todd M,

Thank you very much for choosing JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa for your recent familiy vacation.

It is a delight to read your review and specially nice to hear that your experience was "top notch" and that you would eagerly recommend our resort to anybody.

If ever your travels brings you back to Phuket, we will be extremely happy to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Oriol
Oriol Montal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Thai people provide service with a capital 'S'. The resort is a little away from the main attractions of Phuket (about an hour - 1200 BHT cab fare) however if you are looking for a gorgeous place to stay away from the hustle and bustle you've come to the right place. There are a good mixture of cafés and restaurants that accommodate fine dining to cheap but yummy meals. The pool areas are beautiful but if you'd rather the beach there are clean white sands and crystal blue waters directly out the front. With a wide range of activities for both kids and adults your stay will be as relaxing or active as you wish. I hope everyone that stays here has as wonderful a time as we did.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robb_drysdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Robb-drysdale,

First of all thank you for taking your time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

I am extremely happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

I will share your comments with all associates, specially our Chefs will be delighted to hear that you had "yummy meals".

We are looking forward to welcome you back to your "Total Oasis" in Phuket.

Best regards,

Oriol
Oriol Montal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

A really lovely property, which you would expect from the JW Marriott chain.

There was a bit of confusion on check-in as to what room classification we were booked into, possibly as we were Marriott Rewards members but had booked through a group booking agency. In any event, we were put into a terrace room for the first night and then when they were no longer fully-booked the next night, we asked again and were able to move into a seaview room. I would highly recommend going with the seaview rooms, as they are sited ideally to enjoy the water in the distance over the well-kept gardens.

We particularly enjoyed the window seats which appeared to be in each of the rooms, with two Thai-style day beds in each, in a window bay, to enjoy the view. And despite the resort’s size and the fact that it was fully booked for much of our stay, it was super-quiet inside our room.

Breakfast was ample and fresh, and on offer at two different venues, one of which had a lovely balcony overlooking one of the pools.

Speaking of pools, there is shallow pool in the centre of the resort at which children are encouraged, and other quieter one in the north of the property which is meant to be child-free and therefore quieter. That was usually the case, but there appeared to be little in the way of policing of the ‘voluntary’ no-children policy. Occasionally groups of squealing children took over and then the peace was shattered.

It was a very nice touch that the pool staff kept us loaded up with glasses of iced water, and occasionally brought around little fruit treats. Pool towels are redeemed against a card which you receive on check-in, so that there was some accountability on the part of guests to return towels and free up deck chairs when they moved on.

Public spaces such as the lobby and the bar were open and breezy and very comfortable until smokers lit up, at which time we had to move on. (One bar actually sells and therefore encourages the smoking of cigars … so anti-social!!) But until they light up, a cold drink at the bar comes with a nice little selection of salty snacks.

A short walk or free shuttle away, there is the Turtle Plaza, with its grocery store, Jim Thompson shop and a variety of restaurants.

Breakfast at the resort was ample and fresh, and the staff extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a sea view room - so relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maruschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear maruschka,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your experience on Trip Advisor for the benefit of other travelers.

It is a delight to read your compliments about the friendly service received by our associates, the positive breakfast experience as well as the room layout.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed the service around the pool such as the complimentary chilled water and the fruit treats.

Looking forward to welcome you back to JW Marriott Resort and Spa.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I Was here to celebrate the New-Year Eve last year! The food Was from all the countries and it Was amazing. The beach Was full of drinks and massage facilities and i LOVE that. My room Was a sea-view which YOU can watch the Indian ocean from your own room!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juicy-13oana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Juicy-13oana,

Thank you very much for choosing JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa for your New Year Eve celebration.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our special New Year's Dinner showcasing food from different parts of the world. I will share your satisfaction with our Food and Beverage team, they will be extremely happy to hear about that.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our resort for another memorable JW Marriott experience.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a wonderful time as guests of the JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa that we decided to take the Time Share. The beach and all the facilities was great. It was also nice to visit Phuket and its other attractions like the James Bond Island Adventure and FantaSea. There are mini-buses that come and fetch you. the resort is far away from Phuket city itself. A great place for the family. We even saw the grandeur of an Indian (Punjabi) wedding which was taking place that week. We had a kitchen in the villa.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandjasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear sandjasmine,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa on Trip Advisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our facilities, our beach and all the excursions you did while being in Phuket.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to the resort for another relaxing experience with us.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
15.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,528 reviews
5.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
12.9 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 231 Moo 3 | Talang, Phuket, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, our Phuket resort's grounds comprise 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing