We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still number one in Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This resort is remains the best family resort I've visited in Asia. We keep coming back. Yes, it can be expensive but you get what you pay for. Love, love, love JW Marriott Phuket and the warm hospitality of the staff.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Charlotteeatsout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Charlotteeatsout,

Thank you very much for your kind words. I will share your comments with the Hotel team. We all work very hard to create the very best experiences for our guests so it is especially pleasing to read such high praise.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Phuket and taking up the challenge of exceeding your expectations once again!

Kind regards

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,316 - 2,322 of 4,238 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

For the price I paid for 2 rooms for a week long stay, I expected more.

Check in was smooth, and we were taken by the porter directly to our connecting rooms. The rooms were fairly clean, although we had to eliminate several Mosquitos, and later a lizard from our space. Daily room cleaning was not very good, and in fact one night a turn down service was not provided at all.

Most mornings we would arrive at the pool early and very few guests would be there, but every lounger would be "saved" by other guests. On the very first day we asked the manager to address this problem, but it repeated daily.

The restaurants are all outrageously expensive, but the food is tasty. Try it some during your stay, but also take a trip to the local shopping plaza (by the free shuttle) and eat there for far less - and it's still tasty.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear RayT,

Thank you for sharing your experience of our Hotel and I'm sorry to hear that we were not 100% on this occasion. The points you raise about your room, the pool beds and food pricing have been taken on board and shared with the relevant teams.
We only ever try to exceed the expectations of our guests and I'm dissappointed that we were not up to the standard you expected. We will endeavour to improve in all the areas you mention. Thank you for your valuable comments and I'm sorry we did not have the opportunity to meet whilst you were still with us in order that we could have improved your experience of the JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa before you left.
Kind regards
Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My family (2 children, ages 5 months and 2 years old) along with my wife stayed here during the Chinese New Year and were simply blown away. From the welcome drink and cold towel, being upgraded to a room on the first floor with patio, plus free breakfast for 2 (for being a Marriott Rewards Gold Elite member) I cannot think of anything wrong with this resort.
The beach is quiet and gives you a feeling of privacy, unlike Patong and the beaches further south. The 3 pools are all amazing, though we only used the main pool, due to the kids pool being there. I would recommend the breakfast at Marriott Cafe over Cucina though, as there were more options. The Thai restaurant Ginja was sensational!
The staff was consistent in greeting us every time we passed, which shows not only hospitable service, but also great training. The housekeeping team did a fantastic job each day, and every request of ours, including a bottle sterilizer was met promptly and with a smile.
My family and I would go back to this resort in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalCitizenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear GlobalCitizenP,

We are so delighted that you have taken the time to share your positive impressions of our Hotel. We all work very hard to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay so your comments are much appreciated by us all at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa.

Kind regards

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our arrival was rather a bit uneventful, we arrived early and of course the suite wasn't available yet but the staff was accommodative. We traveled light so we left our backpacks at the fitness centre and went to enjoy the beach.
We appreciated the myriads of activities provided by Marriott. Staff at the fitness centre was great; helpful and informative.
The suite was above par; spacious and well-equipped - the working area (my partner had to work a bit) was comfortable; the surround sound system was good, the hot tub was fun with the ever-changing lights.
The bathroom; one word to describe it - luxurious.
Just a little kink - had an upset tummy after lunch (fried rice) at the poolside; too oily?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Rae C,

I'm very happy that you enjoyed your suite so much, they are very popular and always in high demand as you might expect. Thank you for taking time out to share your experience of our Hotel and for choosing JW Marriott. I will share your comments about the rice to our Chef. I hope to see you back again soon at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa.

Kind regards,
Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Out of all the things Phuket had to offer, what I will never forget is the experience I had at this wonderful resort. We were given a very warm welcome the Thai way. With their private beaches and many many things offered for the guests, it is undoubtedly a perfect holiday location to be with your family. I still regret the fact that I couldn't spend enough time at the place and make the most out of it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teenakuriakose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear tqueen2014,

It makes us very proud to know you had such an enjoyable holiday with us hear in Phuket. We look forward to welcoming you again one day soon.

Kind regards

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our first visit to Phuket was great experiencing the JW Marriott luxurious suites on the ocean front, we thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and 10+ service and professional staff service at our every request! The grounds were beautiful and every restaurant was wonderful!

Room Tip: We observed a traditional Indian wedding which was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyinHanoi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear HappyinHanoi2014,

I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Your kind comments have been shared with our team who work especially hard to deliver the JW Marriott service that keeps our guests coming back year after year. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Loved the architecture and the pools. The Japanese restaurant was outstanding in every way. We were with little children and they had a blast. Staff very child friendly. Enjoyed shopping at Turtle Village. Close proximity to airport, which is good. Rooms and bathrooms nice and spacious. Excellent landscaping. Very accomomodating staff. Will definitely go back again but not in the rainy season.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saberatapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Sabera T,

Thank you for taking time out to feedback your thoughts about our Hotel.
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed our Kabuki Japanese restaurant very much. Chef Suwat and his team do a great job and I have shared your comments with the Kabuki team and they look forward to welcoming ou back one day soon.

Kind thanks

Charles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
7.2 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,012 reviews
5.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
12.9 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $154 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Twenty minutes north of the airport, our Phuket resort's grounds comprise 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing