We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake Village, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a lovely beach front property hotel with several pools, a decent kids club (free), and lots of choices when it comes to restaurants. The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff are helpful and friendly, there is a baby elephant that walks the beach daily, and the grounds are beautiful.

My husband was attending a conference so my boys (14 and 10) and I tagged along and made a vacation out of it. The kids enjoyed the kids club for a few hours a day, the pool for even more hours, and we were close enough to walk to the Turtle Village mall. The concierge was a huge help. We were able to book several tours (Siam Safari and John Sea Caves) last minute and had a blast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,978
    786
    185
    69
    31
See reviews for
1,653
1,298
125
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Extra person charge for daughter was extravagant, for the cost equivalent of 3 rooms elsewhere my daughter was allowed to stay with us, for this we then had to complain several times to get even an extra towel. The minibar also was so overpriced it was unbelievable, for example a 7b bottle of water was 195b, we were not even brave enough to try the restaurants......hotel room maybe same as 3 star. Breakfast was ok but again very overpriced. Location??? Need a car to get anywhere but to be fair is close to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband, daughter and I just got back from a 14 day stay at this terrific hotel. Our daughter is 22 months and it was a terrific place for her, and us. Our daughter had a ball and could not wait to go swimming, walk on the beach and play in the sand, chase after birds, look for snails and crabs at night, go to the kids club and go for walks. There was so much to do and our very busy little girl was never bored. We joined the Marriott vacation club as we were just so pleased with everything we experienced. I highly recommend this place for young families that are not on a budget. We left our daughter with a baby sitter for about 2 hours every other day... she was amazing (Pond) and this was our first time ever leaving her with someone outside of her nanny. This allowed my husband and i to go out for dinner or get a massage and just simply have some adult or down time.

Pros
- north pool terrace room (rooms 133- 140 are amazing)
- north section is a little more quiet if you are on the pool side. The pool is less busy as well.
- all restaurants are terrific but the Japanese is the best for a date while your child or children play at the kids club. The food was amazing.
- babysitting is 200 Baht an hour and they are fantastic with the kids. Pond was our babysitter and she was awesome.
- kids club activities for children over 4 are great but our babysitter Pond had our daughter join in on one and she had a ball making a hand print with clay and sparkles
- acrobatics classes for kids (expensive but if you don;t mind spending the money then it is well worth it
- pay a little extra and get the breakfast brunch... you will not need lunch. Great food all around.
- friendly and helpful staff
- child friendly
- rooms are beautiful (large bathroom)
- a quick walk to the turtle mart for grocery if needed
- different atmosphere at different pools
- elephant walking around (so touristy but really cute for kids and adults!)
- 400 baht for a one hour massage in the huts on the beach
- beautiful, clean private beach... great for walking not swimming in July and August
- provided as much bottled water as you requested.
- provided a bottle sterilizer for our daughter bottle and plastic dishes
- easy check in and check out
- never got sick (we were very careful with brushing our teeth (only used bottled water to clean and rinse and had no problems)
- our daughter was not sick either...we were careful with her in the bath and had no problems
- great place for quiet and families (honeymooners and young families)

Cons
- not for singles or people looking to party ( this is not a con for us but could be for others)
- if you are looking to swim in the ocean then going in July is not recommended...the water is far too rough (we did not view this as a con as we live on the beach in Dubai)
- expensive if you compare things to the rest of Thailand but if you are not concerned about the bill then it is totally worth it
- the children's menu is limited ( our 22 month old is a very picky eater so it was hard to get her to eat) however, we came prepared with snacks and food and she ate bagels, and other items that we could take from the breakfast brunch such as yogurt, bananas etc.
- they did not understand what a grilled cheese sandwich was when requested but not really a big deal in the big scheme of things!
- rooms 101 to 119 are garden terrace rooms...close to the kitchen and funny smells coming from somewhere. We noticed this every time we walked by and were thankful we did not have a room in this location.

TIPS

- if you are staying for a while, take a taxi in to a Tesco lotus and get some snack food and pop.
- if you have to choose between a deluxe sea view room and a deluxe pool terrace view choose the pool terrace... it is quiet and a walk away to the pool on the north side... super ideal when you have little ones.
- contact the management ahead of time, we did this and we were put in a room located exactly that fitted our daughters and our needs.
- bring your own bottle of wine/alcohol from Duty free.

Tong was the manager that we dealt with and she was amazing. She helped us pick the righ room based on our families needs and we were super happy with our choice. When we arrived she called to make sure everything was okay. There were a couple of weddings when we were there and had heard that some people were kept awake from the partying. We explained that we were concerned about this considering our daughter is a light sleeper...she made sure that we were not near the next set of wedding guests coming in. However, we went at a quiet time so this was easier for her to manage.

My husband and I would return in a heart beat.

Room Tip: - rooms on the north side pool terrace are quieter and easy access to the north pool, great for youn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AandJinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is my first time at the JW Marriott in Phuket and allthough it is a beautifull property with lots of activities, there are some things that I think a JW should be better at.
I 'm on day 4 of my vacation and prefer writing as things catch my attention.
Upon arrival check in was kind of in a hurry, without any explanation of grounds, amenities, dining options, nothing! I got a map and an activities page and off you go! In most luxury hotels you get a personalised service. Someone sits down with you and explains a bit about the options, restaurants, etc. This is also the first luxury hotel where I'd checked in standing at the counter.....
There are plenty of restaurants, with average food quality. The best by far is the succulent breakfast buffet, where you are spoilt by options. The other restaurants are nothing special food wise and I've been more dissappointed than impressed.
The staff seems too busy to pay attention to detail and somehow the saying of Thailand being the "land of a thousand ssmiles" seems lost at this property. Don't get me wrong there are still the very few who are very friendly and true to the Thai hospitality standards that I've come to know from other hotels in phuket, but in most cases the service aattitude just slips to average standards. Maybe that has to do with the enormous size of the property and number of guest which robs it the possibility to get a more personalized service.
Rooms are nice and spacious with good ammenities, but our room is quite dark. Not a biggie as we're not in it during the day!
To summerize, great hotel grounds, amazing kids program, plenty of food outlets that could be better, enough activities, etc. It just lacks the attention to detail and the soul that a "luxury" property should have, especially being in Thailand, where the people are masters in exceptionally good service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anif_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is by far one of the best locations for those seeking solitude and isolation, and not suitable for those who want the buzz and nightlife of Patong. It is far away from any village or any attraction, but offers more than ample activities to occupy yourself for a number of days without even thinking of leaving the complex. The dining options however were a little limited as only some of the restaurants were operational at night, requiring you to take a taxi to the nearby shopping centre or alternative resort restaurants, with few options for the weight conscious guest! This was the only negative aspect as it is promoted with several restaurants. The rooms are large and comfortable with a viewing and relaxing alcove at the window, and equipped with all the necessary amenities. The slippers and gowns are always an added bonus. The pool area is rather stunning with ample deck chairs, surrounded by a tranquil garden.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are most quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2travelsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Arriving very late, we feel welcomed by the atmosphere of the hotel. Checking in into the room, we feel at home as our room is very spacious and well equipped.
The next morning, i did some jogging around the area, and it is actually a reservation jungle just behind the hotel. Very green and the area is very peacefull.

The swimming pool also large and divided into 3 different areas. Gym and activities full around the hotels and i did some Muay thai boxing training. It was fun, and we enjoyed our 7 days in the premise. Well recommended ...

Room Tip: The two bedroom is superb to accommodate up to 6 person
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackseminyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a great holiday from the minute we got to the resort until we left. The staff are just amazing always giving excellent service. It is definitely our home away from home. A place to distress away from everyday stresses.

We can't wait to come back. Well done JW Marriott Phuket.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
481 reviews
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
12.9 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,859 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, our Phuket resort's grounds comprise 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing