We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday at a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

1st time to Thailand and stayed at this large hotel right next to the beach. Although large it's spread over a wide area making it feel relaxed & luxurious. 3 different pools make it easy to chill and enjoy the glorious sunshine. it was our first time in Thailiand and it lived up to its nickname of the "Land of Smiles". The service was excellent and the staff could not have been more welcoming. We had a fabulous holiday and loved it. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BruceHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,541 - 2,547 of 4,268 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

This resort is closer to the airport and away from the action of Phuket but a great place. The restaurants can be a little pricy, but well worth the price. This resort has multiple pools and bars. The ocean is a little steep and had quite an undertow when we were there. If you get the opportunity the Japanese restaurant was amazing and the breakfast buffet was one of the biggest I have ever seen and they had peanut butter! Tough to find in Thailand! We loved this resort so much that we spent an extra couple of nights. Will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Partygirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've stayed at the JW Resort twice now. In December 2012 and in June 2011. It was fantastic both times. First - we have 2 children - 3 years and 12 years. Both times we received adjoining rooms with a connecting door which was super convenient. The pool is lovely and the water slide is great fun. They have several activities for the kids on every day. The play room is great with play for young kids and tweeners. They even have a baby elephant that comes to the lawn in front of the pool in the morning for the kids to feed and ride.

There are several food options - mostly reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel. The breakfast which was included in our room rate is always superb. With a wide selection of Asian and Continental dishes to choose from. Tank up on brekker and have a light lunch.

The rooms are great - spacious, well maintained with a big flat screen TV and a balcony.

There's a supermarket and a few shops a short walk away. So if you want Phuket night life be prepared to drive to town. But if your idea of a holiday is chilling out at the hotel, this is it.

The best part of the hotel is the staff. They are super friendly, helpful and make your holiday a dream. Obviously they like working there cos we saw several of the same faces in 2012 that we saw in 2011.

All in all - this is one of the best family vacation spots we have been to. And we will be going back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mojo_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband, daughter of 6, and I stayed at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa in late February. I didn't think I'd like such a big, popular resort, but I'd have to say that this is one of the best family vacations we've had. While there are many people staying here, the grounds are expansive so that you often seem to be on your own when walking around. The South Pool is chic, with a waterfall over the swim up bar and lots of corners so that everything seems a bit more private. The kid's pool is perfect for non swimmers on up. Lot's of fountains, bubbles, and a slide to keep little ones entertained. The lounges pool-side did get filled up quite fast, but there were more available further from the edge of the pool. Our Deluxe Ocean View was spacious, clean, top floor and had a balcony, which we only ended up using to hang our wet gear. Staff was extremely friendly and hardworking. Breakfast consisted of international favorites, catering to every taste, and all was fresh. For dinner, we only went to the Japanese restaurant which we recommend. The Kids Club has something going on every other hour (hair braiding, face painting, baking cookies, terranium making, nail painting, plaster making were what my daughter opted for and loved.) In between activities there are lots of things to play with. Separate teen room. Kids had to be 4 and up to be left alone. My child didn't want to go at first, but then she was begging to go to Kids Club and didn't want to leave. Again, conscientious, fun staff. THE ABSOLUTE BEST THING WAS KIDS SOLE'. Mr. P and his staff put on Circus Training and Trapeze Training. AMAZING!!!! I can't say enough about Mr. P. He really understands kids and gets them to take risks in a safe environment with VERY impressive results - the kids and their parents burst with pride. Adults can learn trapeze too! Many other activities set up appropriately for kids, teens, adults, and family. Downside of the resort? Beach has steep drop off, so must be strong swimmer... but, the beach itself is beautiful and not crowded. Nice to walk. Winds pick up nicely in the afternoon for hobie sailing. Some might think the hotel is too far from the city... but, we've stayed several times in that area and we are glad for the solitude and beauty further north.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hildawho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Love this hotel. The beach is beautiful and private, great for boogie boarding in the early morning. The boards and kayaks all complementary, the water sports staff were all friendly and helpful...Look for them they are there to make sure you have tons of fun.... Thanks guys....Teerasak, Jakgapari, Sompong, Pongat and Porigsathom. The pools all have a different feel, one very quiet, one kid friendly with a water slide and one very hip and great for cocktail hour. The Resort elephant, Lucky very playful loves his bananas and tips. ;-) Great kids club, one of my sons always went to check out what was happening for the day. My husband and I really would like to say thank you to The executive chef Dietmar Spitzer for making sure our in room wedding anniversary bbq dinner was amazing, and also a thank you to Mr Charin (roomservice) for his great bbq-ing and attention to detail, making our 8 yr anniversary AWESOME! 2 words ...BOOK IT! Can't wait to go back

Room Tip: We stayed in a room directly off the pool, fantastic, when the kids wanted to be out of the sun they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lkbradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 4 days and was a good experience. The rooms are big and the beach front is long and nice. The resort is around 1 hour away from Patong and night life, so if you are looking for a quiet time, this is a good choice. There are various options for things to eat. Our convention lasted 4 days and we even had a beachfront dinner. The setting was beautiful. The pool is also nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manusrikumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Went for 1 1/2 days at conference. All you could expect from a top class hotel except power cuts which is poor. That said, with that allowance still give it a VG rating overall.

Rooms was large and well fitted but being on business did not really get to spend any time or us the hotel facilities.

Note that this hotel is very remote and not really Phuket at all. If you want remote and peaceful great, but if you want any sort of night life at all it would not be for you.

Room Tip: Room was in the main building to the right of reception and on the same level. small balcony and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodswoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
15.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 331 in Patong
6,108 reviews
5.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
11.1 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $179 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Twenty minutes north of the airport, our Phuket resort's grounds comprise 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing