We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our choice for a splurge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Nanjing, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not our choice for a splurge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

First off, this is an amazing hotel. It is a five star resort and completely up to standard. That said, as a family we prefer to splurge on quieter, and not so expensive five star resorts. The hotel is lovely, and service is great. For our tastes, the decoration and style is too "busy." Just too much going on--it gives a more crowded and stressful impression than we enjoy in a holiday. The restaurants are also very, very expensive.

The swimming pool (at least the children's part) was really fun for the kids as it had plenty of shallow areas and a waterslide. In my opinion the continuous fountains made too much noise. You could not hear or see the beach although you are very close to it, so it wasn't quite that total relaxation that you hope for in a hotel of this category.

Again, these things could be expected in this kind of hotel, in this location. The Marriot rooms and service were top notch. They also have one of the best kids clubs I have seen, so if you like your kids to be there (we don't) it is a great place. However for our tastes as a family we prefer a quieter location, more spacious and relaxed décor, and at least some more reasonable food options.

Turtle Village is nearby--a short (3 minutes and free of charge) shuttle ride from the hotel lobby every 15 minutes. There are more reasonable restaurant options, shopping, and a grocery store available there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MELISSA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,834
    740
    175
    65
    31
See reviews for
1,568
1,237
116
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Upon arriving at our hotel, we were welcomed by the hotel staff, and the bell boy who took care of our luggage. We were also welcomed by a flower lei and a welcome drink when checking in.

Hotel Overview
Beds were comfortable, washrooms were clean.
The hotel is secluded and you will require transportation to do something outside. However, they have family activities and kids activities that will keep you busy in the hotel. Along with several restaurants and swimming pools in the resort itself.

Must Try at the hotel:
- Andaman Grill - Fresh seafood and steak.
- Kabuki - Japanese teppanyaki restaurant, the cook makes the experience really fun. AWESOME food.
- Sala Sawasdee Lobby Bar- Relaxing place by the reflection pool to sip some cocktails and watch the sunset.
- Massage by the beach

Overall, the hotel was very nice and well worth the price we paid for. We would definitely recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cynthia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We wanted a unique trip. A secluded place where we could relax at the pool or beach most days. A resort that offered activities for our 5yr old daughter. A home base where we could take excursions if we wanted to get off our lounge chairs. A short walk to great restaurants. We found the perfect place - the JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa. We spent six days and nights there and loved every minute of it. As noted, this is an "excellent" place to go. The service was top notch, the scenery was amazing and the food was great. We are going back!

Room Tip: Chose a room by the adult pool area. It is a very quiet area and close to all the restaurants and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dlyork77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here in Dec'12 and had an excellent time at this property. Very nice sea facing rooms and some great activities at this property. Away from Phuket town but one can always rent a car and drive down on days where you feel like being in a crowd.

Excellent pool , Nice Gym but the Spa at this hotel was the best that we have ever been to. Even though its slightly steep but go for it since it is worth every penny.

Would love to go back to this property. !

Room Tip: Sea Facing Rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KunalChaudhary82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We arrived at Phuket airport and hired a car to reach this Marriott Resort. They gave us a great welcome with flowers and juice. About 20 minutes drive from the airport. The roads are straight and easy to navigate. The room was beautiful, clean and overlooking the ocean. They had also provided fruit basket which was changed regularly. The bathroom had all the goodies which is a trademark of Marriott Resort properties. My kids enjoyed playing at the pool and the baby elephant show. I had a special price on Priceline. You need a car to drive around else you can use the taxi or limo. It was very relaxing for the entire family and would surely recommend this resort in Phuket.

Room Tip: Try to request a room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My family of 3 stayed there 5 days over the Chinese New Year.
Although there was no free shuttle, we were coerced at the Airport to join a 90 min. presentation session of the new Anantara Vacation Club nearby which offered free return airport transfer plus a Bht 4K gift package on completion of the session.
(It turned out to be a high-octane sales effort for their vacation packages costing from US20K upfront followed by US1+K annual dues which we declined for several reasons.)
After being greeted by Mr. Happy at the door, check-in was fast and hassle-free.
The room was large, dim and well-appointed, though a bit used, with sweaty-smelling sheets on very comfortable beds.
Breakfast was sumptuous, best to be enjoyed at the Cucina rather than the main restaurant, which was ofter overcrowded.
Ther're choices of 3 big pools to dip in or tan from. We like the South Pool best because of it's layout as well as fewer and more mature patrons.
Kids were everywhere enjoying themselves with the many arranged activities.
Staff were courteous and helpful, tho sometimes forgetful.
The beach was only a stone's throw away, huge tho rough, and the breathtaking sunset not- to-be-missed !
Biking (bikes freely available at the Health Club) around the Hotel was great fun, esp. on the 4 km. trek around the nearby small lake.
If you got bored by the Hotel food, less expensive but delicious food could be enjoyed at the local Thai restaurants at the entrance to the lake (a 15min.walk ), or in the Coffee Club at the nearby Turtle Village.
All in all, we had a wonderful relaxing holiday at the J W, and have no hesitation in returning or recommending her to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room with new sheets if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wood1647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The JW Phuket is definitely one of the best properties we have ever stayed at. During our recent 7 day stay in Phuket, we stayed at both the Marriott Phuket Beach Club and the JW Marriott Phuket. I noticed that some of the Tripadvisor reviews confuse the two properties which is easy to do since they share the same location, restaurants, and facilities. However, the JW is a hotel, while the Beach Club is a timeshare which consists of two bedroom units. The hotel wings are located in the inner part of the property, while the Beach Club surrounds the hotel. This review will pertain to the hotel, although the comments on the property and location will apply to both.

The property is located in the Northern part of Phuket, about 20 minutes north of the airport. It is located in an enclave of other higher end hotels and resorts and is in the quieter part of the island. It is a beautiful area, right off Mai Khao beach which is in a National Park. Patong and Phuket Town are about an hour ride away depending on traffic. If you are looking for action- crowded beaches, bars and nightclubs, this is not the place to stay. You should stay on the Southern part of the island. But if you are looking for rest and relaxation in a beautiful setting, this is the place. Personally, being slightly older, I had little interest in Patong, but did want to see it. We did go through there and found it to be congested and not very attractive - really a little sleazy to be honest. Kind of like a smaller version of Bangkok. We did not find that appealing and did not wish to spend any more time there. However, it is easy to see other parts of the island from the JW. They run a shuttle service to both Patong and Phuket Town for about 500 baht each way (About $13). There are also tours you can take through the concierge desk for elephant rides, sightseeing, and boat activities. It is also pretty easy to hire a car or taxi for the day. I would recommend renting a car- from what we saw touring the island, traffic is crazy- a real zoo. Also, they drive on the left side of the road (like England) which can take some getting used to- especially since the lane markings just seem to be a mere suggestion for most drivers. The hotel provides Mercedes car hires, but these are more expensive than a taxi. We used one to take us back to the airport after taking a taxi from the airport to the hotel. It was more expensive (1400 baht ($46) for the limo vs 600 baht ($20) for the taxi, but at least our luggage all fit in the trunk of the limo and we didn't need to have suitcases on our lap like in the smaller taxi. We took a full day tour of the island offered through the hotel for about $75 and that turned out to be an excellent way to see the island. The tour had an English speaking guide and we were picked up and returned to the hotel in an 8 passenger air conditioned van. It included driving through Patong and Phuket Town, stops at Karon viewpoint, Big Buddah, Wat Chalong, and a historic house in Phuket Town, along with an elephant ride, water buffalo cart ride, rubber making demonstration, monkey picking coconuts demonstration, and visits to a cashew factory and jewelry factory (shopping opportunities) along with a Thai lunch. The guide also provided lots of information about Thailand and Thai culture. We figured if there was something we saw that we liked, we could hire a car and return to it. However, after seeing most of the rest of the island, we decided that the JW was probably the best place to be, and didn't feel the need to go the the Southern part again.

The resort is really like a city within itself and everything you need can be found there. They have probably 7 or 8 restaurants, so you can stay a week and eat a different cuisine every night. There is a Thai, Steak and Seafood house, Italian, Japanese, American (Marriott Cafe) and Cafe-Deli (Siam Deli) type restaurant along with various pool restaurants and bars. We ate at the Steak and Seafood, Italian, and Marriott Cafe and the food in each was very good. We ate most breakfasts in the Siam Deli which basically had the same menu as the Marriott Cafe but in a less formal setting. The Marriott cafe had different theme buffets every night, and the Deli had an espresso bar along with delicious fresh baked pastries. Although some comments have said they thought the food was expensive, we thought it was very reasonable. I suppose it depends on your frame of reference. While the food at the resort may have been more expensive than in Patong, by American resort standards I thought it was "dirt cheap". For example, an full breakfast with an omelet, breakfast meats, and toast was about $8.00 at the Deli. A similar breakfast in an American JW Marriott would be at least twice as much. Dinners were also considerably less than in a comparable, or really any, hotel in the US. Most dinners we had were in the $50 range for two people. (We don't drink.) To make matters better, Marriott Timeshare owners get an additional 15% off on food, and if you are a Marriott Platinum staying at the hotel the discount is 20%. So as the food was excellent quality, I thought the prices were quite good.

The hotel has all kinds of activities, many complementary. My wife took a yoga class, and we both attended a Thai culture class which was offered. There are bicycles to borrow, a tennis court, and a nice gym with exercise equipment. There is also a beautiful spa on site. The spa prices were very reasonable by US standards and the facility was first class, but again, you could get a massage on the beach by locals for 400 Baht ($14) if you chose to go that route. Our room overlooked a massage hut (not run by the hotel as they on public land) and they did a very brisk business all day. Finally, there were three beautiful pools (the resort is very spread out) - but we favored the North Pool even though our room was on the South side as it seemed to be quieter- not as many kids running around. There is also the uncrowded Mai Khao beach just past the path that runs by the hotel. The water can be rough here, but the week we were there it was pretty calm and many people were in the water. Also, I should mention we enjoyed seeing the baby elephant that roams along the beach several times a day. What fun!

As to the rooms, our room was wonderful. As a Marriott Platinum we were upgraded to a one bedroom suite right on the beach. It was spectacular- and if you don't believe me, check out the pictures on the Marriott website . Our private wraparound deck had lounge chairs, a dining table and chairs and a private hut tub. The bathroom was bigger than many hotel rooms I have stayed in. There was also a very large (60 inch?) flat screen tv on the wall, with a DVD player and surround sound! We really didn't want to leave the room. Obviously, not everyone will have a room like that, but from what I could see of the other rooms, they were also good sized and very nice.

Finally, a word about the staff. The Thai people are really a very warm and friendly people. The staff here were no exception. Everyone was helpful and friendly. At times there were slight language issues, but they always tried to be accommodating. Anyway, I can't complain since their English was many times better than my Thai. Thailand really is the "land of 1000 smiles." It's a long way from the US, but should I return to Thailand, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank IraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
15.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,192 reviews
5.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
9.1 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 231 Moo 3 | Talang, Phuket, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, our Phuket resort's grounds comprise 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing