We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Just got back and thanks to the reviews on trip advisor this was a great choice. We stayed in a basic room with a garden view and it was stunning. Everything is on sight so it is a bit expensive but we used this as a special treat.

The room was immaculate a good size, free water, free fruit, bath and separate shower. We used room service once, it was very slow but were too relaxed to care on this occasion.

Swimming pools (x3) are very well done, some for kids, some just for adults and free water sports (not motor due to turtles in the water).

The beach is right outside the hotel and very nice but this is not a lying on the beach type resort, it is on a turtle marine park so they have been very careful not to damage the beach. it is stunning and you can layout but there are no beds provided, these are by the pools and there are more than enough. You CANNOT reserve them either, which we found very helpful.

We would totally recommned this hotel. if you have a tighter budget like us then watch out for food and drinks being pricey and whether or not breakfast is included in your package.

  • Liked — A touch of luxury, the room was great.
  • Disliked — There is nothing around the hotel, once you are in you are in for sleep, food, pool everything.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4starleaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,976
    786
    184
    69
    31
See reviews for
1,650
1,298
125
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

Everything you read in these reviews is spot on. And, generally speaking, that is true for the negative and positive aspects of the reviews.

Overall I just can't recommend this place enough - IF the property is what you are looking for...

Positives
Well maintained
Great staff
Wonderful atmosphere
Good dining
Amazing spa
Nice gym
Did I mention great staff?

Negatives
Too far from Patong - or is it?!?
Too far from "local" restaurants.
Swimming is not normally an option due to water conditions.

So don't stay here and whinge about the location! And don't stay here and complain about the price of food. (If you have a villa get a local taxi and stock up at Tesco!) It's a 5 Star resort in a somewhat remote location.

The resort offers 3 different pool areas with a completely different atmosphere at each. The north pool is our favorite for relaxing and getting sun. The south pool is great to have a drink and meet people. The "hotel" pool is great for kids.

I wish there was a little more nightlife in the area - or that the bar was hopping at night. But that just isn't the case.

But for lounging and dining and just being on vacation - this is our favorite place in the world. Period!

The villas are just spectacular. And the A/C works like a champ! The bathrooms are great and the kitchen well stocked.

Housekeeping will do your dirty dishes and leave you "animals" made from towels. Hopefuly you'll leave a few hundred baht to show your appreciation!?

Say Hi to Su and Sasiporn and Tum at the beach!

Dreaming of the JW...

  • Liked — Villas, Staff, Siam Deli
  • Disliked — Location (good news/bad news)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SoManyPlaces2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

In this hotel we had our best vacation me, my wife, 5 years old son and 18 months old daugther.Everything was just great! The only bad thing was that the kidsclub lost our son, which was very scaring for us. When I asked them how its possible, that they lost him. The staff gave me the answer "But he doesnt speak english!". Funny reason! After we found our son again, the entertainment manager apologized and promised that they are going to change the security system. But after all everthing went well. In the reviews I red here that people complained food prices were too high, well ; why do they go to a 5* Hotel then? What else did they expect.

  • Liked — The Thai Staff was very frindly
  • Disliked — Kidsklub security problems
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank berke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

My family and I traveled to the JW Marriott in January of 2008 and it was the most amazing trip! We flew from San Francisco, Ca to Tokyo, Japan and stayed for four days sightseeing. We then flew to Bangkok and then Phuket for an 8-night stay at the JW. Since we arrived at night, we really had no idea what we were arriving in. When we woke up in the morning we were in paradise. The rooms are nice and spacious and I am still dreaming about the beds. The only downside to the rooms is the bathrooms that are far from soundproof. You are guaranteed to wake up when your roommate goes to the bathroom, just make sure you are comfortable with who you are staying with!

We spent most of our time at the north pool, which was really quiet and relaxing. We did not have too much of a problem securing 5 lounge chairs together every morning. We had our lunches delivered to our lounge chairs everyday and it was delicious! I don't have a very adventurous palette so the food was fantastic for our family, I could get pizzas and my family could try different foods.

We tried two different trips from the hotel. We did the Island Safari elephant trek and the trip to Ko Phi Phi Island. Island Safari was very strange and far from a "trek." The Island trip was all day, but very fun and a bit of a rough trip out there, but very beautiful.

I actually think one of the best parts of the hotel is the location. It is so secluded and private and the grounds are so large that (even in peak season) the resort hardly felt crowded. The food at every restaurant is some of the best I have had. The Italian food couldn’t have been better if it was in Italy, and I have been to a million restaurants in Italy. The Thai food restaurant was also really good. Make sure you get the spring rolls and the mango and sticky rice. I'm a serious vegetarian and I had absolutely no problem finding food here.

I will think about the breakfast buffet at the Marriott Café every morning and wish I was there! I would love to ship the banana smoothies to California. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, their English isn’t perfect, but lets remember, we are in Thailand!

Another great thing we got to do was have a professional photographer take out pictures on our last night. We got him and the general manager of the hotel to take pictures of us all over the ground of the hotel for only about $100. It was such a great way to remember the trip and we got two CD’s the next morning. It was a great little extra thing to do.

Overall, I can't imagine a better vacation for our family. I could have stayed another week and never gotten bored with just laying by the pool and watching the elephants walk by while eating my fruit. You will never want to go Hawaii again – it’s so worth the long trip! I will definitely return and hopefully stay even longer!!

  • Liked — I loved everything, but the food couldnt have been better
  • Disliked — Going home
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank spooner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2008

This is the most beautiful resort we have ever visited. The grounds were absolutely stunning. Like the other reviews mention, definitely not the place for you if you're looking for the night life scene. We were looking for a place to rest, relax and be spoiled - we got everything we were expecting and more! One of the best things about the trip were the sunsets. They were so beautiful. Best place to watch them is outside at the Blue Moon bar or just a ways down the beach at Tu's place. He has a great little bar right on the beach not too far from the hotel. You have to check it out - great drinks (much cheaper than the resort) and perfect seats for the sunset. You can't miss it! Also enjoyed a day with Captain Mark on Phuket Sail Tours. Small tour that was unbelievable! We'll definitely be back!!

  • Liked — The grounds, beach area, elephants and the service
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything not to like!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank asiaexplorers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We came to the Marriott after our original hotel arrangements fell through. This hotel is not for people who want to be where the nightlife and shopping is happening. I would recommend it more as a place to come and unwind, even if you have kids. It is north of the airport but the hotel its self is fantastic. Phuket Town is about a half hour drive away. We had a massage at the spa there (Mandaras I think it was called) and it was devine. Food is a little expensive but not to bad for a five star resort there is a choice from about three restaurants to eat from. The hotel is on its own beach which is lovely. I believe there is a free shuttle bus into town however we did not utilise this service. We saw (though did not need to use) a fantastic children's club. There are also Thai cooking classes for those who want to cook. We enjoyed our stay so much we are coming back next year to fully utilise or the facilities we missed out on last time round!

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cap3tt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2008

Before continuing this review I have a confession! At check-in I weakened and we upgraded to a suite so our experiences are through rose tinted spectacles! Our bank manager is not very happy though!

Our whole holiday experience was just great from start to finish with excellent service and food throughout. Our aim was a simple relaxing holiday and this was 100% achieved.
Our suite was on the top floor looking out to sea and was excellent and really made the holiday for us, although we cannot comment on the normal rooms. The swimming pools (3) and mature gardens are very good. We used the northern pool which was peaceful and quite.
The location of the resort is quite peaceful and remote and for us was the main reason for choosing it. There are miles of deserted beaches in both directions.
The down side of this is you are a captive audience for the hotel and consequently the prices charged are international rates for food and drink and not the ‘normal’ local rates. We were aware of this when selecting the resort and had budgeted accordingly but you need to be aware as it could come as a shock!
If you want to stroll out and visit local bars and restaurants then this isn’t the place for you.
The resort operates shuttle services to 3 locations, Phuket town, Patong Beach and the Central shopping mall. All around 45 minutes each way and costs around US$15 to $20 each for round trips. Taxis did not seem to be readily available.
Phuket town was a little disappointing, Patong beach was shopping, bars, restaurants and crowded beach and the Central mall was a pleasant if not spectacular place to spend a couple of hours.
The resort is on level ground on 3 floors and well serviced by lifts so I would imaging not a problem for wheelchairs and pushchairs but we did not put this to the test.
There are numerous good quality restaurants; we tried them all in our 12 nights there. One very nice feature is the 24 hr deli, bakery and shop.
The breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of local fresh fruits, smoothies and freshly squeezed juices.
Don’t forget the bananas for the baby elephant that visits a couple of times a day round the pool area!
A couple of other comments that may be relevant (if the hotel management are reading!):
We are not serious spa users but do dabble occasionally. However, the resort spa costs were quite high and for us not justifiable. We did sample the Prestige Spa on the top floor of the Central mall which was a pleasant experience at a sensible price. Also there are numerous massage ladies on the beach at the resort who give a very peasant
1 hour massage for 400 baht. They appear to have the blessing of the hotel.

The hotel wine list is a joke, huge prices for average quality wines. It was very rare to see anyone drinking bottles of wine in any of the restaurants, just the occasional glass.
A missed opportunity as we could easily have consumed a bottle each evening during our stay (a dozen bottles) but instead did not buy a single one. Ironically the hotel had several wine tasting evenings where for around 900 baht (can’t remember actual amount) you could drink as much as you want. This amount would hardly buy you a half a bottle of cheap stuff from the wine list! Given the nature of these events I’m sure people got more than their moneys worth!

We love Thai food and have a passing interest in Thai cooking. Again, we could have been tempted by the half day cookery course but to ask US$300 for the 2 of us was another joke.

I think the hotel is missing opportunities with their pricing policies.

The hotel smoking policy in restaurants is unacceptable. It appears to be non-smokers indoors and smokers outdoors. We are non-smokers but always prefer to dine outdoors which we did on most occasions. To be fair, smokers were few and far between and we were never inconvenienced by smoke but this is down to luck. The exception to this is the Andaman Grill which has a smoking and non-smoking balcony outside. On one occasion we were unable to get a table on the non-smoking balcony as it was 100% booked so we elected to go to the smoking balcony which was nearly empty. No one smoked there all evening!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jacafoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
481 reviews
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
12.9 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, our Phuket resort's grounds comprise 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing