We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David S
-

Chill out and relax....

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 4, 2012
If your destination is MAI KHAO Beach, then JW Marriott should be your choice—it’s the best resort around Mai Khao. And I’ve seen other resorts around such as: Renaissance, Sala, and Anantara.

PROS:
*Great pool areas, it’s hands down the biggest pool in the area, the pools are located spread out around the beach front area and there are plenty of sunbeads around the pools too. We happened to be given the room on the ground level next to the adult pool (the only one with with the pool bar). The service in the adult pool area is the best. The poolboys diligently providing all the guests in the pool area with plenty of ice water and keep refilling each empty glass all time.
*The landscaping around the resort is beautiful. The reflecting pond in the lobby becomes the main attraction during the sunset. It’s simply gorgeous.
*The room is so spacious, with a big bathroom and a huge bathtub and separate shower room too. There are a small lounge area where we can sit and just chilling out all day in the room.
*The breakfast selections are top notch. Plenty of fresh fruits and fresh juices too.

CONS:
*Location wise it’s a bit far from usual crowded area such as: Patong Beach and Phuket Town. Taxi shuttle is quite expensive since it’s monopolized by company which caters specifically for Marriott guests.
*Food/restaurant choices can be quite limited since there are only few restaurants located outside the resort. Besides Turtle village which has only 1 restaurant, there is 1 other well-known restaurant in the area called Kin Dee. One time, we decided to rent the bike from the hotel and went to Kin Dee Restaurant near the highway for a wonderful dinner. Food at the hotel property is so overpriced.

Bottom line: If you’re looking for a place away from the crown to chill out and relax. This hotel is the answer. But if you prefer to see the usual crowded touristy areas in Phuket, then you should find one of the resorts in Patong areas.
Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$145
$123
  • Tripadvisor
    $123
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 miles from JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$103
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $83
  • Hotels.com
    $103
  • Expedia.com
    $103
1.4 miles from JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
$450
  • Expedia.com
    $155
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Hotels.com
    $155
0.2 miles from JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $466
  • Lol.travel
    $414
  • Trip.com
0.2 miles from JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
    $327
  • Hotels.com
    $327
0.0 miles from JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
  • Booking.com
    $144
  • Hotels.com
0.6 miles from JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $38
  • Hotels.com
2.6 miles from JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $30
  • Priceline
3.2 miles from JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    $20
  • Hotels.com
4.0 miles from JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mai Khao
Reviews (7,297)
Filter reviews
7,299 results
Traveler rating
5,804
1,066
256
106
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5,804
1,066
256
106
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jw marriott phuket lobby bar siam deli kids club andaman grill italian restaurant ginja taste north pool mandara spa health club fire show tennis courts breakfast buffet cooking class adult pool turtle village family vacation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5,199 - 5,204 of 7,299 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Had a great time here on a family vacation. Stayed in a garden view room on a high floor so ended up with a decent view of the sea. Room size is on the larger end. Bathroom was equipped with a separate shower stall. Technology in the room is good - 46" flat tv, dvd player, easy access to plug points, good wireless speed. Good number of restaurants made sure we had variety in dining over our week long stay. Pools were ok but get crowded quickly. Concierge was helpful in arranging local excursions and taxi's. Keep in mind this hotel is away from Phuket town and Patang. Overall, we had a great time and would stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flightlevel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A bit secluded but the hotel has it's own resort where you dont want to miss their activities. Turtle island and the Andaman shopping place are just nearby where we could get cheaper food and JWM provides free Tuk Tuk shuttle to get there.
A great place for holidaymakers, families, honeymoon goers as one wouldn't be disturbed by the hustle and bustle of the town.
Breakfast has varieties of food to choose from, wait, i would say brunch.
In short, i would definitely go back to JMW!!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiiliyeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This was my first trip to Thai & did some research before choosing this resort over many others though it is located up north which is far from the much happening patong which is located towards south of phuket. The advantage - less crowded, serene beaches to spend value time with your family ; disadvantage - all touristic attractions including lagoon point for island visits are towards south & may take 45 to 90 mins of drive from marriott. We had a room very close to the kid's pool & beach but very far from the main lobby & restaurants. The rooms are very good & housekeeping does an excellent job considering that people come back wet from the local tours. 3 out of our 5 day stay there rained but did not dampen our spirits to enjoy the beautiful island. But the local trips especially to james bond island & phi phi island depend on the weather conditions. We were fortunate to see both though we had to reschedule phi phi island visit twice due to rain. If you want to save some serious money, then get your drinking water & liquour from the nearby turtle village mart. (almost two to three times expensive in marriott). The restaurants offered nothing extraordinary but the we enjoyed sala sawasdee for its exotic drinks with Jazz music during late evening. The pools are located nicely & kept in excellent condition for everyone to have fun. The best place to wind up at the end of the day is on the sofas located in front of the reception desk & we did really spend lot of time there enjoying the cool breeze. Overall it was a fantastic experience & would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank navjyo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

From the start to the finnsh we loved our stay, the staff were the best i have come across, so helpfull and attentive. If you want a hotel on a beautifull beach then this is the place.the Thai restaurant was the best on the island.Were else do the staff bring you fresh fruit when you are lying beside the pool!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikea712
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed there for 5 nights with family (wife and kids aged 6 & 3)
The GOOD: Excellent nanny service...very friendly easy to get along with. The nannys catered to every whim of our fussy kids. Good childrens play area and kids club. Good Japanese restaurant...the wagu beef is quite special. Breakfast was good.... bacon was crispy. Excellent landscaped main pools all three of them, two of them have water falls and the bubblies, one can find privacy despite the hordes of guests in any of the pools. Probably one of the best Spa's amongst the resorts in Thailand (dare I say Asia), but make sure to make a booking as soon as you get there. Facilities are endless.
The BAD: The hotel's service was quite slow....even by Thai resort standards. Beware! it can be an overpriced money trap if you are not careful. JW is one of those corporate vacation sites that delivers on the relaxation level...sure. However, its no different than any other corporate asian resort in format. Calculated and serviced. An all encompassing safe bet...which keeps you in.
The UGLY: At our only meal at their Italian restaurant, 2 out of 4 adult seafood main courses were returned because the mussels were bad. The chef acknowledged that the mussels were bad and proposed to serve us another meal which we politely refused. At the end we did not pay for our meal, no scene. Even though the scenery was picture pretty, the beach was rough and steep. Even if the sea were calm, the gradient of the beach was not pleasant....at least not for young kids.

Room tip: The hotel rooms are sprawled all over this huge property. Everything is within a short walk.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Supershahram
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews