We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but relaxing, and excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small but relaxing, and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in this resort over the last weekend. This stay is a pleasant one. My family enjoyed this vacation a lot. I got tips from previous review which has made my stay a better one so I would also like to share my comments.

The Good Things
- the service is excellent, wherever you go the staff will smile and greet you, all the staff at the resturant and reception are helpful and polite. Tobtab at the front desk is particularly helpful, I do feel that he is the type of staff that really cares whether you enjoy the stay or not. Lek in Chaam is also good. It is not easy to maintain such a high standard team. Well done.
- we stayed in a two bedroom suite, it is spacious and well equiped, my wife loves the balcony, she prefers to make herself a light breakfast and enjoy that in the balcony rather than going to the resturant for the breakfast buffet.
- the swimming pool is beautiful and never get crowded (but since they are building more villas, it may change in the future)
- May be because it is a relatively small resort, it is never crowded, it is always quiet and relaxing.
- DVD are available, so we enjoyed a few movie nights in the room after dinner, the AV system in the room is good.

The Not So Good
- the wifi in the room is weak and need to re-login from time to time
- they are still expanding the resort so some of the rooms are facing a construction site, and the workers are working overtime. Thanks to previous review, we asked for a room that is far away from the construction site and eventually we got a room (RM601) facing the swimming pool. So the room tips is to ask for a room that facing the swimming pool if you are not staying in a pool villa. The construction work will be completed in early 2015 as I am told.
- The resort is in the North of Phuket Island. It took us an hour to Patong beach and also an hour for the boat to Phi Phi. If you plan to spend at least half of the time in the resort, it is the place for you. But if you plan to go out most of the time, you will find the location too far away from other main attractions.

The resort is not as grand as other large resorts, but it got its own style. For instance, on one of the days there was a sign at the resturant - 'The boss has dayoff today, all food 40% off'. They delight you in a subtle way.

Room Tip: If you are staying in suite but not pool villa, ask for a room away from the construction site or fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Warren

Thank you for the great review. Will be sure to pass your praise to our Associates that you mentioned............ we are very proud of them too!

The construction works that border our south boundary will be finished in December. We endeavour to allocate rooms for our guests away from this area to ensure comfort.

Glad to see that you had an enjoyable time and hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards

Lyndon Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    171
    58
    11
    6
See reviews for
298
155
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The pool was great a clean also the room, the break fast was so good , overall if i visited Phuket again i would select Anatara :)

المكان كان روعه وخصوصيه والفطور ولا احلى والمنطقه حلوه وفي مطاعم وسوبرماركت قريب من الفندق انصح للي بيروح بوكيت يسكن في هذا المكان

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alshamsi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Alshamsi89

Great to hear you had a relaxing time. See you next year!

Kind Regards

Lyndon Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were invited for the Vacation Club preview and were given 4D3N stay at the one bedroom apartment.

To begin with, the location is far off from many things. If you're in for a relaxing stay away from the hustle and bustle, this is the ideal place. It's got enough activities in the resort to keep you occupied if you really need to, such as yoga classes. Kids would like this place too as there are also activities catered for them.

(Tips)
If you really need to get out or go sight-seeing etc, I recommend getting the "local taxi" which you can find just outside the hotel- they have a booth at the right-side corner of the hotel. Some may find it more expensive compared to the taxi in town, but the benefits are obvious: safety- these guys are registered and easily traceable to its organization, and the hotel people seemed to know them too; comfort- unlike some tour group or taxi which could bring you to souvenir shops / unnecessary detours, they don't (ours didn't, at least); convenience- the driver would wait for you wherever you go, to us this was definitely a plus! Price? we went out to Phuket town, Tiger Kingdom, Big Buddha, local weekend market, massage, etc, for THB 2200.

Our room was clean and spacious. It had all the things we needed: a big comfortable bed, big bathtub for two, laundry and kitchen appliances. The balcony was spacious with a day bed, very good for evening and sunset.

Food was good too. Breakfast was buffet style with good variety (try the Banana Bread!), and they have BBQ seafood/ wood fired pizza for dinner. There is also a shopping area with a few food choices, a mini mart, and a pub just a stone's throw away from the hotel. It's called Turtle Village. If you like authentic local food, there is always the food delivery option.

We went for the vacation club preview and saw the pool villa. Fantastic! Very spacious,tastefully appointed, and the highlight is that you can open the sliding glass door from your bedroom and jump straight into the pool.

Service was very good too. Staff generally greeted guests with a smile and were helpful.

HOWEVER... There were some negative points we noticed in our apartment.

First, the apartment area was not very well lit. It was probably done intentionally to set the mood, but it doesn't feel very nice especially around the corners.

Maintenance wise, the facilities have started to show signs of age (if I am correct this is only 4 years old). The latch in our room was broken, the towels and bed sheets were stained, etc.

They are building more villas, and this is good as the club members will likely only increase. But I do hope more attention is given the existing properties.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawker, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just completed a fabulous week in a one bedroom pool villa as part of the voyager membership. Third time in Mai Khao for a week and this one was way beyond what we were anticipating. The villa is huge with a great pool, excellent bathroom and kitchen facilities, and just a short walk from the beach and turtle village shopping. Ok, it isn't Patong but you can get there on a hotel shuttle, and for a relaxing week in really comfortable surroundings it does not come much better than this. The villa is big enough to live in. The restaurants around here are good, with the new noodle and Thai express restaurants just added to turtle village improving the choice. Off season the beaches are not for swimming, but the pools are great and make up for it in my opinion. AVC staff very professional and the membership sales presentation was not a chore like others can be. Benjamin kept us informed and amused, and was really helpful. Rest of resort staff very attentive, and even the main restaurant at breakfast was still well catered and reasonable. Loved the gym, bikes, food and pool. For a peaceful holiday with privacy this is recommended. If you want a better beach, and all the noise and nightlife then go elsewhere but the accommodation surely won't match the quality of the Anantara Vacation Club. The noise from next door construction did not worry us at all and it will be over by next high season if not before then. As good a place I have ever had the pleasure of staying in and will be back every year for sure.

Room Tip: Room 701 near reception was perfect. Quiet, private and well oriented. No maintenance issues whatsoe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very high standard rooms, well equipped with quality furnishing and fittings.

Had some issues with maintenance but they were very responsive and fixed everything in a timely way.

The only downside is that its not near any thing so need to hire a car or taxi. They have free cycles so you can go for bike rides, how ever they are a bit rusty and could do with a refresh. Otherwise, had a lovely relaxing time.

Top tip: July is rainy season so the sea was rough so couldn't swim or hang out on the beach.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urbandivaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
270 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

First, let me say my average rating is due to the distant beach and the remote area in which APV is located with no local vendors/markets, etc. except for a small, western style shopping center (Turtle Village).

Even APV's website shows a table set out for dining on a tranquil beach. That certainly brings a special picture to mind doesn't it and encourages you to think APV is on the beach? Nothing can be further from the truth! The beach is 1/2 to 1 km. away as the crow flies but you must go across the road and go through the Anantara Resort & Spa however you are not welcomed as it is for residents of ARS only. Anyway, if you get to the beach either through ARS or go a couple of kms. down the road, you witness one of the the most treacherous beaches you will ever see. At this time of year, it is totally unswimmable and warning signs and flags are everywhere.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was huge, nicely appointed and comfortable. The bathroom with double sinks and a huge tub was well done. The bed was extremely comfortable.

The community pool is very large and suited to swimming laps. At this time of year, because of low occupancy, it did not get crowded. During high season, I wonder how pleasant it would be.

The onsite restaurant, Chaam, was very good and we ate lunch there 4 times. The food variety was plentiful and the food itself was excellent. APV has managed to keep the quality at a high standard even though there were no more than 4 tables occupied at any time during our lunches. The service staff, and for that matter the entire staff of APV, was very attentive and friendly. Except for one hiccup when the appetizers and the mains were all brought at the same time, Chaam offered a very nice lunchtime experience.

All in all, it turned out to be a restful respite in a friendly environ but I would not go back again. If they could transplant the resort to a nice beach with some local color and activities, only that might change my mind.

Oh, one more thing. When we arrived, we had understood room upgrades were available gratis if occupancy allowed. I showed our form to the desk clerk who, while pleasant, said something about extra charges but nevertheless said she would "upgrade" us to the top floor. After we checked into our air conditioned room and unpacked, we went out on the huge, comfortable balcony and got to view the construction site below where APV is building more units. Some upgrade!!!! Tip---if you go, insist and a room away from the construction.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear jmwpga

Thank you for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review.

Apologies if the route to the beach was not clearly explained at check-in. The beach is only 150m from our main lobby. We have a pathway that runs between JW Marriott and Anantara Villas specifically for our guests. You can either take a buggy, however most guests choose to walk when they realise how close it is. Yes, correct, between the months of June-September the beaches on the entire west coast of Phuket, including Patong. Kamala and Surin can be quite rough. We always post flags, however on some days, such as today, the beach is very pleasant.

As we aim to give every guest the best possible experience, we do quite often upgrade the room type if we have availability. If availability is tight, yes, we will try and sell it as this is a core part of our business. I am glad to see that our Villa Hosts upgraded you (gratis) to one of our Sunset Suites.

Apart from this, I hope that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay.

Kind Regards

Lyndon Ellis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our 4D/3N family stay there was wonderful, nice room, great pool and awesome design though Mai Khao beach is quite far from Patong Beach. Room is equipped with all the needy for family dining and cooking which we really enjoyed a lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
0.0 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket

Property: Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket
Address: 887 Moo 3, Thalang | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Vacation Club Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anantara Vacation Club’s brand new signature resort in northwest Phuket offers a truly indulgent tropical escape, yet is only 15 minutes from Phuket International Airport and a short drive from the bustling beaches of the south. The resort’s luxurious choice of Apartment Suites and Pool Villas are designed with couples, families and friends in mind. All feature an incredibly generous living space, with sizes ranging from 94 sqm for a One Bedroom Apartment to over 250 sqm for a Two Bedroom Pool Villa. Each apartment and villa is equipped with a kitchen, large refrigerator, cook top and utensils, as well as a clothes washing machine and dryer, to create a convenient home away from home. Just a few minutes’ walk away are the tranquil sun kissed sands of Mai Khao – Phuket’s longest beach. While Sirinath National Park that fringes our resort is your gateway to an impressive natural playground of sea caves, mangroves, coral reefs and dazzling islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing