We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket
Nearby Hotels
$102
$92
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$315
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$142
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$353
$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$326
$313
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coriacea Boutique Resort(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$191
$63
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveler rating
401
212
67
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
212
67
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvacation clubturtle villagebedroom apartment suitekids clubwashing machineprivate poolthai expressbig bathtubmovie nightpatong beachfully equipped kitchennice resortswim up barcoffee clubsmall kidsturtle martpool side
Filter
Updating list...
472 - 477 of 709 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We went there on the 3D2N free stay offer with condition of 90 mins talk with their sales staffs from Anantara Vacation Club sales team. We upgrade our room from normal 1 room apartment to 2 room apartment for $170+. Scam 1) When we went there, we were entitled to only 30mins of wifi. So we thought maybe upgrading the room again for experience and better facilities access. Scam 2) we were introduced the 2 room apartment with pool, was told it cost only 1500 baht to upgrade (about sin $60 then we were shown the 2 roon villa with pool and was told it cost 2500 baht (about sin $100). We felt that was a great deal so we accepted. My wife was told to sign an empty form for agreement on upgrade and she sign it innocently, trusting a 5 star resort won't cheat us on this. But the final bill is 25,000 baht per night upgrade which is 10 times more or 1000 sing dollars than agreed! When we question them about this, they said they did tell us and their staff told us the amount and the blank form my wife signed was added the 25000 bill and since their staff said so, what we heard is not valid and she sign the form, we have to pay it.
So please be aware of this Anatara Vacation Club scam offers. If you take the offer, get everything in black and white and and read them carefully, don't sign anything especially blank forms from them until you know what it is.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
68  Thank keno808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Ken0808

Firstly, we are not in the business of "scamming". We are in the business of providing great experiences for people........ that is our core commodity.

I would just like to clarify that the amount of THB25,000/night was clearly marked before it was signed by your wife. This I am positive of. We have a very clear procedure and specific form for upgrades to prevent this type of claim.

I understand that our Manager on Duty extended a 50% discount as a gesture of good will.

FYI, over the period of your stay (peak) we were selling the Villa you stayed in for THB50,000+/night.

Thank you

Lyndon Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just returned back from Mai Khao Beach. As we previously stayed at Anantara Vacation Club and we got several issues, we decided to see if any improvements have been done.

Oh YES, after having our first breakfast at their new restaurant - Chaam, we got addicted to the great quality of food they offered and we had all breakfasts and most of dinners at Anantara. The food is very tasty and plenty, well prepared and presented. Also my daugther said that their wood fired pizzas served at Crust are the best she ever had.

We could see that their Executive Chef & B - Lee Alan Wood is doing a magic job.

Congratulation!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Mr Luc

I am glad you made it back to Mai Khao to join us once again at Chaam. It was great to have yourself and family dine with us and we all look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Chef Lee already misses you!

Kind Regards

Lyndon Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Located close to the airport, this offers a very relaxing place for a family holiday. Main downside is that it's not on the beach. However, if you have young kids, the pool is a better option. We stayed in a 2 bed pool villa and we only left for meals.

Main restaurant has a very good breakfast offering. Lunch and Dinner choices are a bit limited. The main issue was that apart from the manager, the employees' command of the English language was extremely limited. So anything out of the ordinary, like a special request, was painful.

Across the street, there is a small shopping mall area with a good grocery shop for kids stuff. The main restaurant at the Anantara hotel is of a very high standard. Other hotels, such as Marriott are also located near by - if you wish to try their restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed for a week in October 2013, great rooms, pool area is great, friendly staff, happy hour at the swim up bar is good. Modest gym, but can get a good workout, bicycles are free, just need to book and there are some good places to explore, especially along the beach.
Restaurants at Anantara are pricy, however there are some great local eating options, great cheap food and beer also cheap.
The beach is a 10 minute walk, the quickest way to the beach is through the other Anantara resort opposite, where the mini mart is, the beach can be quite calm, however can have large waves smashing down, it is a steep beach so the water gets deep very quickly.
Local cheap restaurants near the beach are really good and you can also get a good massage along the beach front.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We joined the AVC last year and used it for the first time this week. The beach is very remote and cabs to and from are not cheap.
The check in was fast and friendly, the villa was absolutely divine. We saw the first one completed last year and am glad to report this one looked as good as the model one. Everything was absolutely perfect, we are both designers and check for faults all the time,none found. Lovely quiet position away from the kids club. Breakfast at the club was fabulous, a great choice and different each day.
I'd like to especially mention the manager who chatted to us while we were leaving, very friendly,and the friendly chef Ian Wood who chatted to guests, helped people with choices. You know it's good when the chef takes such a active role. We also had pizza one night there, great, also with a very entertaining karaoke singer! The pool area is well suited for families, kids club etc looked fine. We really enjoyed the whole experience. We were approached a few times by a rep trying to get us to go to another talk, we weren't bothered by this as it is their job. But that VIlla was just divine.
We also used some on the Anantara villa facilities. The entrance and walkways and landscaping is just beautiful. You are not allowed to use the pool area which we do understand. Lots of other people from other hotels on the beach wandered in and the staff toLd them very politely it was for hotel guests only. We ended up sunbathing in the area below the pool and staff didn't bother us. No one was there anyway. The pool is beautiful though! The loungers on the beach for the AVC guests to use are a bit of a problem. There is no direct pool access from AVC so you need to go past the pool area. We did get a discount when using the food areas. The pool bar is not cheap but we had great cocktails ( English garden mojito :)) and salad. We also had sunset drinks at the tree top bar which is just beautiful. Lovely girls working there. Everything about his hotel is just amazing. Privacy,calm, tranquility. I don't think it's suitable for young kids who tend to dash off as lots of walkways over water. Which is just fine by us!
Maew the pool bar manager ? Is good, friendly efficient and very hard working. The girls working at the tree top bar also lovely. Thanks for a great visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews