We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Thing About This Resort is the General Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The Best Thing About This Resort is the General Manager”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just back from a few days at this great resort. Stayed in a two bedroom apartment which is big enough to live in. Unfortunately it was just me, in a beautiful room, but will take my family next time.

Had some amazing meals in the restaurant, the BBQ buffet on Friday night was great value and the prawns were great.

The staff are all friendly and professional, providing great service without being asked.

But teh best thing about this resort is the General Manager. He will meet you on checkin, and you will see him all over the resort talking to you whilst you eat in the restaurant or lay by the pool. You can't miss him, a burly Aussie guy with a big smile. Nothing is too much trouble, so ask for him if you need anything.

Ill be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade toa Villa , they look amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussiExpatinHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    177
    65
    12
    7
See reviews for
323
170
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
125 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We swapped our timeshare points for 12 nights in a bedroom pool villa. Our experience was as follows.

Check-in was efficient, friendly and fast. The villa was extremely spacious and very well furnished. Our son slept on the day bed which had been converted to a bed for him. The bathroom is amazing, lots of space, indoor and outdoor shower with a beautiful bath tub. Kitchen was fairly well equipped. The only downside was the lighting in the kitchen. We found it a bit dark. However, when we visited the 2 bed apartment, the kitchen area was better lit. Living area was spacious as was the bedroom and the bed was really comfortable. Internet was good and I was able to connect to work from the villa.

The private pool was great and the shaded sala was great for breakfast and lounging in. We had another outdoor shower along with the outdoor shower in the bathroom. Luckily our pool was not overlooked. Some of the private pools are overlooked by the apartment block.

We had breakfast once in the restaurant, but given the price, we didn't bother again as it wasn't anything outstanding. We also had dinner once in the restaurant. We did experience a few issues which we pointed out to the Food and Beverage manager: one of our meal was missing and they didn't realise this till everyone had finished their main meal. The pizza with wild mushrooms were not wild but canned straw mushrooms, pepperoni was not in least "peppery" and service was slow and poor despite being the only guests there that night! We did receive an apology, discount and drinks but we never went back. We did have a poolside lunch one day and the service was slightly better. We ate room service the first night and this was very good.

Housekeeping was efficient and friendly and if you stay in the villas, you have a turn down service. At the moment, everything is new and clean and I do hope they keep up the maintenance and keep it clean.

Please note that you cannot use the Anantara Phuket Villa swimming pool anymore. We tried to and was told by both parties we had to use the Vacation club one. Pool area was good with pool toys for the kids.

There is a small shopping centre across the road which has the Coffee Club restaurant. This was very popular (reasonable prices, good service, do good breakfast, dinner, lunch and cakes). The small supermarket is extremely expensive. Taxis are at a fixed price to Patong (main tourist hub), Phuket Town, etc.

The major downside to this resort is the isolation, maybe OK for a few days, but there is nothing outside apart from the small shopping centre (Turtle Village) and the other hotels. There are not many local restaurants, shops, bars etc. We hired a car for a few days to get around and buy way cheaper groceries at Tesco Lotus. Reception will arrange reasonable car hire for you. To get to Patong, it is close to 1 hour driving. There are some free bikes that you can book from the sports club which we used to cycle to some nearby "local" restaurants.

The other annoying thing was the timeshare staff. There is one in Turtle Village and we told her on day one, we were members and every time we saw her, despite recognising us still wanted us to go to the presentation. She would not take no for an answer! Even on the day we left, we told her we were leaving and she asked us to squeeze in time for the presentation. We never went. The other misconception is that Anantara Phuket Villas is not Anantara Vacation Club. They are across the road from each other and we can use the spa (very pricey) and the restaurants but not their pool. Some of the pictures advertising Anantara Vacation Club have the pictures of Anantara Phuket Villas. In fact the bilboard outside AVC has picture of the Phuket Villas.

The beach is nice but in the summer (wet, monsoon season), the red flag is up due to the strong currents, so it pretty much empty.

Overall, excellent spacious villa, but location is a bit too isolated. Would we exchange again? Maybe for a few days. Phuket itself is nice, but to be honest, I would head south and if I was to return, I would stay somewhere in the south of the island rather than spend my whole vacation here. It is good for a few days, but anything longer than a week, most definitely not!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment.
Rooms were beautiful, very big, modern, clean and well equipped.
Body wash, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion were all supplied and were actually nice!
Good tv channels, nice deck, apartment had washer and drier.
Pool was nice with a small swim up bar.
Can take bicycles out for the day, there is a very nice ride around a lake/water hole out past the other resorts which is nice.
Gym was small but good.
Kids club was great with nice staff.
All pillows way too soft for everyone and hurt everyone's necks in the morning!
Short walk to beach across the road, not even 5 minutes. Turtle village is across the road directly which has a couple of food places and a convenience store which is handy.

Main restaurant was delicious for dinner, and around 650 baht per person for a set three course meal.
The pizza restaurant was not that great, but that is how all pizzas seem to be in Thailand.
Drinks fairly expensive but this is normal for the area.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
However expect a lot of pestering by staff next to the reception and also across the road at Turtle Village to join the timeshare club if you are not a member. This was very annoying and unnecessary as we had already said no.
Villas looked amazing.

Overall, excellent hotel and great facilities. Would love to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegaJord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Anantara Vacation Club definitely has the wow factor! From the quality furnishings to the fully equiped gourmet kitchen, everything is provided for your comfort ...even a toothbrush!! Great pool and restaurant. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This resort is different from the Anantara Phuket Villas. So please note. I had booked it under the impression that it was Phuket Villas.However I dont regret booking this. Its a fantastic resort. It is located next to JW Marriot Vacation Club and away from the hustle of Patong. So if you are looking for a relaxing vacation than this is the place you should be. Let me go point by point

Rooms: I stayed with my wife and 3 year daughter for 8 nights from Aug 10 to Aug 18 in a one bed room apartment. I must say the room was very good, much better than my expectations. The living room was spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. Bed room was big too. Pls note one bed room can occupy 4 adults. I would give 9/10 for the room

Kids club: Excellently maintained and the most important part is the staff - I must commend NA and her team. They do a very good job by keeping the kids engaged. We had gone for spending our daughters birthday and my daughter enjoyed thoroughly. If u want your kids to be kept occupied while u enjoy the resort facilities must say you wound want them to be in the kids area

Swimming Pool: Big and well maintained. There is bar in the pool as well.

Restaurant : We had dinner on most of the days in the CHAAM restaurant. Good and tasty food. However I didn't find the breakfast that exciting. Could have been better.

Location: Opposite Turtle village which has eating joints and a small super market.

Distance from the beach : 10 mins walk through the Anantara Phuket Villas.

Staff courtesy : Very helpful

Over all I am very happy with the experience and would rate this as one of the best vacation that I had.
Only downside: Rooms booked through dial n exchange are cleaned only on the 4th day. This was a bit of a problem for us . We had gone with a small kid and cleanliness was of utmost importance. My wife had to clean the room on the other days. I would suggest that they buildup cost of housekeeping in the price for the exchange.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 4th floor from 401-406
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajuk1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week during June with 4 adults, a toddler and an infant at a 2 bedroom villa followed by a 2 bedroom apartment.

Villa was extremely spacious and the kitchen was quite well equipped. We could cook for our family. Our family enjoyed the pool, especially the children as they also had a children's pool in the villa. We had issues with the airconditioning for both nights, but the issue was resolved quickly. In lieu of this, they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom during the last few days (we only booked 1bedroom as some went home).

2 bedroom apartment on level 2 was equally spacious with a luxurious bathroom. The master bedroom shower room floor was not made sloping towards the drainage, so water will accumulate on the otherside of the shower room. We had to end up using the shower from the other room. I have reported it to the front desk and I hope they have done something about it, if not, avoid staying in level 2, first block, middle unit (forgot unit no). Again, very pleasant service from the front desk when I requested for an extension for late checkout (with an infant, toddler and senior citizen). They also helped us to arrange for a buggy to a nearby accommodation (we would love to have stayed but it was fully booked!)

There was a great variety of children's activities at the kids club with no duplications throughout the week. The club was well equipped with toys and books for
Various ages. The staff at the club was very professional
And friendly. They took noticed of my child's name and called her by name. They even started addressing me by Mrs xxx by the second day. I was impressed. My children enjoyed themselves and would want to just stay there the entire day! We came home with many crafts!

The swimming pool was greenish. I thought it was dirty and under renovation until I saw people swimming in it. It was just the tile colors. The children's pool is sheltered to create a shady area for the kids. However, it may be too successful as the kids pool was too cold for my kids. We brought them into the main pool instead. The kids club also arranged for toys for the children to play at the pool (sand).

In conclusion, this is a great place for families and children to hang out. It is a luxurious place to stay with child friendly policies! I will definitely be back. My 3 year old toddler is still talking about this vacation after 2 months.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandora m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

An 8 day stay here was a delight. The facilities were superb, staff well trained and eager to help and food good. Appreciate some earlier reviews identified some issues but these certainly appeared to have been fixed by time of our stay.
Mai Khao is out of the way with not a lot of local flavour around the resorts complex in which this new facility nestles. Beach is a bit of a hike although for Aussies who have far better beaches at home this not an issue. Was not beach weather while we were there anyway but a very pleasant area to stroll along.
Wifi is available but currently seems to require fairly constant signing in. Not sure if that a fault of the system or own incompetence.
We had friends along and both stayed in pool villas. Talk about roomy - possibly would be bigger than many people's homes. Well fitted out with outdoor showers (fun). Liked the way the housemaids would observe things like a blown globe and the maintenance man would turn up to replace it without having to draw it to attention.
Power outages during storms dogged us and would suggest to management investment in a better capacity generator. Appreciate they can't be responsible for Thai power supplies but think part may have been an internal problem.
Yes the sales people could be annoying but firm but polite message meant we were not bothered after that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
9.2 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket

Property: Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket
Address: 887 Moo 3, Thalang | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Vacation Club Resort)
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anantara Vacation Club’s brand new signature resort in northwest Phuket offers a truly indulgent tropical escape, yet is only 15 minutes from Phuket International Airport and a short drive from the bustling beaches of the south. The resort’s luxurious choice of Apartment Suites and Pool Villas are designed with couples, families and friends in mind. All feature an incredibly generous living space, with sizes ranging from 94 sqm for a One Bedroom Apartment to over 250 sqm for a Two Bedroom Pool Villa. Each apartment and villa is equipped with a kitchen, large refrigerator, cook top and utensils, as well as a clothes washing machine and dryer, to create a convenient home away from home. Just a few minutes’ walk away are the tranquil sun kissed sands of Mai Khao – Phuket’s longest beach. While Sirinath National Park that fringes our resort is your gateway to an impressive natural playground of sea caves, mangroves, coral reefs and dazzling islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing