We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mai Khao
Post
Inbox
Search

“Pool/Beachside Restaurant”

Sand Box Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #13 of 106 Restaurants in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our beachside hangout beckons everyone to come and play, feel the cool breeze and the sand beneath your feet, dine, have a drink, join the barbecue, watch the sunset, take a dip, and have some fun. It's a natural choice for children, and soon any lingering cares of adulthood drift away as well.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A cute restaurant beside the pool and beach at The Renaissance hotel. The service was not overly good - the servers did not interact much with us, and would always leave the table in a hurry when still needing to ask for things. We had to ask for our water to be refilled after waiting for a while with an empty glass. The pizza was decent. We also ordered poke which was ok. If you’re spending the day by the pool it’s inevitable that you’ll get something from here, so hopefully they can raise the service levels a bit.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank CassieD923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina_Kostinaa, Assistant Restaurant Manager at Sand Box Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon, CassieD923!

First of all thank you for your review, and for your feedback. I would like to apologize for the flaws you faced during your meal with us. We take all feedback very seriously. Be sure, that we will share your feedback with the team to avoid such things to happen onwards. As we are receiving plenty of great comments about our service it is especially sad that we haven't been able to impress you with this.
Our chef's team delighted to know that you've enjoyed our Pizza and Poke, which are especially popular these days.
I would love to welcome you back one day to deliver our SandBox service as it should be, so please do let us know in case you wish to visit us again!


Kate
Assistant SandBox Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 372 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2019 via mobile

Friendly staff and great service. Chill out with cool Mango Daquiri after walking the long shoreline. Good mix and choice of food selection on menu.
Special thanks to always smiling guys: Moht, R, Dis

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank bjornrosander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
734ekaterinak, Manager at Sand Box Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Dear Bjomrosander! Greetings from SandBox Bar!

Thank you for your great review!
Without a doubt, our refreshing Mango Daiquiri is a wonderful reward after walking along the longest beach in Phuket!!!
Team members that you mentioned are true stars, but it is always important to be recognized by our guests!!!
Thank you! have a wonderful day!

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2019 via mobile

We had so much fun on our holidays, honestly the staff were sooooo good with us, excellent service, they really took care of us. Moht, Choo, Chef Sandy, Ing, R., Kate and everyone else were fantastic team. Really motivated, they were always going for the extra mile, they made every customer happy providing an outstanding experience for me and my husband. We will definitely come back not only for the brilliant food and drinks but for the exceptional service from the team as well. We felt like home and we will miss them as they became part of our lives for those days. They are the best team ever!!!! Always smiling, recommending , helping you, explaining when you are not sure and with an eye for details. Honestly they are all brilliant ♥️

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank 11kleak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterina K, Assistant Restaurant Manager at Sand Box Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2019

Dear Klea and Don!
We already miss you!!!
Thank you so much for a warm words on your review! We're all delighted to hear that you could have felt the family atmosphere, that we have at our restaurant!!! Our food, indeed, is worth to try, as you reasonably mentioned!!!
Hope you got home safe and sound and of course we are looking forward to welcome you back again!

Cheers

Kate and all Sandbox team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2019 via mobile

This is the poolside cafe at renaissance hotel. Grabbed a bite here after the beach and pool time. Had the seafood platter and club sandwich, both good

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katharina_Kostinaa, Assistant Restaurant Manager at Sand Box Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear bcheong!

Thank you for your review!

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our sumptuous Seafood Platter and Classic Club SandWich, which are doubtless best sellers!

It is sad that you gave us only 3 stars, even though you have enjoyed your dining experience.

it would be great if you could give us more details, so we can become better for you!

Feel free to contact me anytime!

Ekaterina.Kostina@marriott.com

Cheers

Kate

Assistant SandBox Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in Renaissance, bar was right next to the pool. Staffs were very friendly. Variety options for drinks

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank swimfastG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Box Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 
Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 
Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 

Been to Sand Box Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing