We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local food”
Review of JJ's Bar & Food

JJ's Bar & Food
Ranked #5 of 63 Restaurants in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice local food”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Only discovered the restaurant on tripadvisor. Its very easy to get there from the Anantara & Marriott Vacation Club via the delivery entrance. The food is well made so in line with Thai Express at Turtle Village & the Thai Restaurant at the Anantara. The prices are significantly different and the overall presentation. Can really recommend it if you like a local experience. Could be overall a bit cleaner but thats ok. The food was really good and the service extremely good, very nice people.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hstone5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    106
    39
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local restaurant to try if you are staying in Mai Khao”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having read the lovely reviews, we decided to give this restaurant a try. We stayed at the Renaissance, so to get here, we first took the complimentary shuttle to JW Marriott and then the complimentary shuttle from JW Marriott to JW Marriott Beach Club. We then followed the directions provided by ekw and had no issues finding the little restaurant.

The owner was very amiable and provided great service. The prices were also good. However we found the food to be very average. We ordered the pad see ew and the yellow curry with soft shell crab as we don't eat spicy foods.

I would still recommend this restaurant if you are staying in the Mai Khao area with time to spare as it is a good alternative to the expensive resort food however I probably wouldn't be back to visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gleee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Renaissance when we visited in October 2013 and had lovely Thai food at their restaurant Takieng. We then decided to stay at Anantara, with the expectations that Thai food at the hotel would be good or at least decent..but we were thoroughly disappointed, until we found this place! The most authentic Thai restaurant you can find near the Anantara Marriott area of Mai Khao! We had the Thai spicy salad, Tom yum goong, fried instant noodles and spring rolls.. Every dish was just what we expected of Thai food! Just the right dose of sweet, sour and spicy!!! Will visit again if we were to stay longer..!

It's actually pretty near if you were staying in Anantara. Walk towards the tennis courts from the back entrance. Once you reach the guard house/hut near the tennis court, turn right and you will see the staff quarters on the left...walk through the staff quarters and turn left towards the exit .. JJ's is just right in front of you! Otherwise, the directions given by previous reviewers are as clear as you can get since there are no landmarks around this area..!

Helpful?
2 Thank lingsue84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the trek”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

So, it took my husband and I an hour walk to get to this place. We must have asked 6 different security guards (who all sent us in the wrong direction) until we found this place. The husband and wife that runs JJ's are just the sweetest people. They are two locals who had both worked for the JW for years when the husband and started up this restaurant a few years ago and the wife recently quit the JW to join her husband.

It's a GREAT break away from the JW resort (and a fraction of the cost). The place reminds me of a 80's movie with the décor and the green lights, but order some amazing egg roll and you will be amazing. (Ps- the only dish we didn't love was the pad kee mao because they used ramen noodles instead of flat noodles. I don't know if they use ramen noodles for everything, but just a FYI).

Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Han S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must Go! Awesome food & great host”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a really Cosy place for casual dining. Initially had some difficulty finding this place but the staff from Anantara Phuket Villas were very kind in directing us along the way. We managed to find it and thankfully they were not closed for business at 8.30pm.

First, I must say the food is AWESOME. Me and my hubby actually had 4 dishes and a pad Thai not because we were hungry but the food really whet our appetite. And the host, Jit can adjust the level of spiciness according to your liking.

Secondly, the food is fresh and he will recommend the fresh produce for the day. That day, he had some soft shell crab and made it in yellow curry style. It is delicious! Must try!!

Thirdly, he is also a very fun loving man who opened the shop with his wife. He is always checking to ensure we have enough food and drinks. The price is very reasonable as compared to the hotel. And much much more yummy in my personal opinion. The portion is just nice for the two of us.

Highly recommended and the food will make you return there again, like we did the following day for lunch. Just before we fly back home.. Simply because it is the best in Phuket! Must try!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pastrylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Bar & Food also viewed

Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 
Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 

Been to JJ's Bar & Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing