We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced, small portions, kids menu a shame”
Review of Pesto Restaurant

Pesto Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 64 Restaurants in Mai Khao
Price range: $10 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
202 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“overpriced, small portions, kids menu a shame”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

the kitchen is clean, and tha's that. food enormously overpriced, ultra small portions, Kids menu a disgrace, KIDS DO NOT EAT FREE HERE. food get prepacked and portioned into the kitchen. The cooks are mealheaters, a kind of upgraded microwave meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
594 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
“Italian food on a Thailand beach”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to Pesto as we were feeling "Thai-ed out" after eating for several nights at Thai restaurants. The restaurant is located at the Holiday Inn in Mai Khao and is located on the beach.

We were seated immediately without reservations. We were a party of 4 adults and 3 children including a 2 year old, a high chair was provided. The service was prompt and the location next to the pool and beach was spectacular.

We found the food to be very good and authentic Italian tasting. Service was prompt and attentive in keeping with an establishment affiliated with an international hotel chain.

The cost was 50% more than you would pay at a local Thai restaurant, but Thai restaurants do not serve Italian food ! When compared to Venice or more accurately Cinque Terre, Italy, The costs were actually less at Pesto for a comparable meal.

The hotel is a 20 minute walk south along the beach from the JW Marriott resort.

TIP: make a reservation for 6 pm and walk along the beach if you do not have a rental car. After dinner it is easy to have the hotel call you a cab for the ride home. Although Thailand is safe it is best not to tempt bad luck by walking the deserted beach at night.

We would recommend Pesto for change from the usual Thai beach restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Food on the beach”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Nice restaurant at a great location, had good selection, enjoyed eating there few times during our stay.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khurram-Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Such amazing views, wonderful service and the food was sensational! Tucked away in the holiday inn resort (so you know the standard of food and service will be of a high level) is this great restaurant and if you are staying in the Mai Khao area definitely a must try! Very relaxed atmosphere, very friendly staff, poolside with light entertainment, this is well worth the visit! Well priced too! And must try: the crab cakes ( to die for!) and the tuna salad - one of the best I have ever had!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakepb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent staff”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed several months ago and only found now that I could post a review on this special restaurant at the Holiday Inn in Mai Khao beach. We ate a few meals at Pesto, both lunch and dinner and were extremely pleased with the quality of the dishes, the portions were huge, and service was excellent. Nice open kitchen, and excellent staff. Sat on night for sunset in Pesto and enjoyed the early happy hour. Overall better than some of the other 5 star resorts near by and suggest worth the drive here to enjoy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pesto Restaurant also viewed

Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 

Been to Pesto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing