We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Christmas Lunch”

SALA Phuket Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 75 Restaurants in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have just returned from the most uninspiring and over-priced Christmas lunch we have ever attended. For B1800 per adult and B800 per child we were promised a delicious beach BBQ with free-flow red and white wine, beer and soft drinks.
On arrival we saw 5 tiny food stands. 2 held a selection of Thai and Western salads, one was the BBQ, one had desserts and one drinks.
After sitting for a while we approached the drinks (no-one offered to serve us apart from filling water glasses). I asked for fruit juice for my children but was told none was available and they could have either a can of Coke, Sprite or Fanta. My husband was poured a flat beer from a jug and I had a glass of quite possibly the worst wine I have tasted anywhere in Thailand. After carrying our drinks back to the table we tried the food. We wished we hadn't bothered. The meat was poorly cooked and placed on small plates for you to serve from. If you asked, the chef would put the meat back on the BBQ to warm it! If, like me, you were not a great meat fan then the choice was salad, BBQ or a tiny baked potato. There was rumor that someone saw grilled fish at one point but we did not. This on an island where outstanding seafood abounds.
As for making the lunch a "Christmas" lunch- zero effort had been made. Not a decoration or anything remotely intended to make this overpriced event anything other than a low impact and effort BBQ that you can better at any beach bar on the island for a fraction of the cost.
Apart from clearing plates, at no time did any member of staff approach our table unless we asked them - water, cutlery etc. all had to be requested.
This lunch was the low part of our Christmas and we will not be returning at any time. We are not guests at the hotel so our review is focused on this lunch only.
If you have booked here for any "event" during the festive season I wish you good luck.....

Thank tamarind116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef S, Manager at SALA Phuket Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear tamarind116, Thank you for your feedback. Given all the positive feedback we received it's disappointing that you had such a bad experience. Our team is always available and are quick to respond if any guest are unsatisfied, a recent comment our resort Tripadvisor page "The staff we could not fault, they were wonderful and always friendly." We hope you will return and give us the opportunity to show you how special SALA is. Sincerely Jan Hollister EAM Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 156 of 212 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just have come from the Sala restaurant, I was waiting for beer about 20 min and waiter forgot to bring draft beer to my husband, the food is so terrible, I orded the soup tom yam with chicken no spicy , it was not spicy but there was too much celery in it, I could not eat it really, I orded the salad with seafood, but these were no seafood , only vegetables 1|4 of cabbage and carrot and two prawns and too much celery, my husband orded the snack with fresh fish, but it was smoking and finely chopped in creamy sauce, waiters did not speak English. The bill for 2 soups, two local beers,one salad and one snack , which looks like the creamy soup was 2000 THB.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Yulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef S, Manager at SALA Phuket Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Yulia C, Thank you for your feedback. It was unfortunate that you had such a stressful evening in our restaurant, ultimately yelling at the staff. Fortunately our manager was able to assist you and you were able to finish your dinner peacefully. Given the positive feedback we receive on our resort Tripadvisor page, "Despite the lovely surroundings, it is the staff who really make Sala. There seems to be a ratio of staff to guests of about 1:1! They are the most friendly, attentive, smiling staff you could ever hope to encounter. They are unobtrusive, but seem to anticipate your every need.” and "The restaurant on site is excellent, the Crab with Yellow Curry Powder ranks as one of the best meals I've had in Thailand out of the 6 occasions I have visited this wonderful part of the world." I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Sincerely, Jan Hollister EAM Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We went to Thai dinner last week call Na Thalang Ancestral Siamese dinner , it was very nice. Love the foods something that you can't buy from the market something that you have to know and chef Pam done a very good job for us. Hotel staffs was very friendly , we had a good time there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef S, Manager at SALA Phuket Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Kheed, Many thanks for your support on our dinner. It was quite a unique experience featuring ingredients all sourced locally from Phuket and Phang Na region. Please become a fan of SALA Phuket Facebook to know about all upcoming events. Sincerely Jan Hollister EAM Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager S, Manager at SALA Phuket Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager S, Manager at SALA Phuket Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SALA Phuket Restaurant also viewed

Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to SALA Phuket Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing