We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
$102
$92
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$157
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$239
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$326
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$353
$226
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coriacea Boutique Resort(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$191
$63
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$323
$242
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,200)
Filter reviews
1,200 results
Traveler rating
865
269
44
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
865
269
44
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturtle villagephuket beach clubsiam delijw marriottkids clubfull kitchenbedroom villavacation clubtesco lotustime sharewasher dryernorth pooltowel animalsrented a carhealth clubnorth sidebeautiful resort
Filter
Updating list...
980 - 985 of 1,200 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2007

We have just returned from a week at the Marriott Phuket Beach Club through the Marriott timeshare exchange program. We had the 2 bedrooms villa located on the north end of the resort which was absolutely perfect for our family of 6 (5 adults and an 18 months infant). This property is incredibly amazing. Words cannot describe the serenity and tranquility of the hotel as it is wonderfully situated on an almost deserted beach just 15-20 minutes north of Phuket airport and about 35-40 minutes away from the hustle bustle of the tourist centers of Patong beach and Kamala beach.
We love almost everything about this hotel. The services were impecable and the staffs were extremely helpful and friendly. The lightling ceremony in the lobby at 5:30pm is a must see. We also enjoy the pools and the spa. We did not try the beach massage, but did go to an off-site somewhat upscale "spa" in Phuket town upon recomendation of a local guide. Granted that there is a large difference in price/hour, the experience between the hotel and the local spas are not comparable. If you are seeking rejuvenation, relaxation and a little indulgence, then the hotel spa is the way to go. Otherwise, the local "spa" experience would feel like a cheap rub down which could also result in physical injury due to inexperience and/or incompentcy of the masseur (one of my ankle was slightly twisted from the local massage experience and is still sufferred from minor discomfort when walking or standing).
Dinning options are limited and expensive here. Therefore, a trip to Tesco is worthwhile (also, currency exchange counter here has better rate than the hotel and Patong). The drinks from the Sala Sawasdee Lobby Lounge is watered down and expensive ranging from 300-380 baht for cocktails. The international buffet breakfast at the Marriott Cafe is also not worth the 750++ baht. Gingka (Thai restaurant) locates litterally steps from the beach and is very elegant. Although the food has some interesting flavors, it is merely average and price is expensive even for western standard. The food options at the bakery/deli are the most reasonable and very good. There are also local restaurants on the main road which could be reached by bicycle (rent from fitness center). We saw rows of seafood restaurants right on the beach about 5-10 minutes by car on the way to the phang nga bay. There is also Thalong seafood restaurant going opposite direction (toward the airport) which was recommended by Chef Tong from the cooking school. The cooking school was also a fun and memorable experience. Upon request, Chef Tong will share with you traditional Thai cooking techniques different from the methods used by the restaurant which dramatically toned everything down for the western palates.
We pre-arranged all of our transportation needs and tours with Mr. Mor ([--]) before arrival. It is much cheaper and more convenient than the hotel services.
Overall we would say that this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in and will defintely come back. For those who are contemplating staying here in the near future, this is probably the best time to visit this area (Maikhao Beach) since more developments are on its way both north and south of the resort. Let's hope that the developers won't turn this hidden gem into another Patong or Kamala beach.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank CaliforniaSilas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the JW Hotel using our Marriott rewards points. It was our first time to Thailand, so we only stayed in Phuket for 5 days. I'm very glad that we did, as I did not like Bangkok. This resort is amazing! It's in a remote location, away from the filth of Patong Beach. The staff members were so polite. You experience sensory delight from the moment you arrive (the smells of the herbs and flowers throughout the property, to the sight of brilliant colors in both the fabrics to the wide variety of flora and fauna on the grounds to the sound of Thai music playing in the background). Our room had a private sun patio and a walk way to the pool. The staff members could not be more delightful. Our room was cleaned to perfection each day without any interruptions. The in room coffee is the best I have ever had (it must have been from nearby Sumatra). The food at the resort was spectacular (try the international buffet). The dinner performance felt so authentic. The hotel recommended a local tailor for custom made suits, which we were pleased with. The resort pool was beautiful! Everything about this resort is wonderful. I would go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: April 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FtAshby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Had a wonderful stay in a 2 bedrm villa at the Marriott Beach Club Mar 23-March 28. The accommodations were spotless and very nicely furnished. Beds extremely comfortable. Housekeeping staff unobtrusive and always refilled our welcome basket with coffee, filters, creamers etc. Even did our dishes! Tidy service was daily. Free hi-speed internet for villa guests.
The property shares all the facilities with the Marriott Hotel and the landscaping is gorgeous. We often travel to Hawaii and are used to tropical vegetation, but this resort tops it all. Not a leaf out of place!
The staff is superb and very nice and well trained. Everyone has a friendly smile and is happy to assist. We enjoyed dinner at Ginja, the lovely Thai Restaurant, as well as the noodle buffet lunch at the Cafe. Siam Deli was great for freshly baked goods every morning as well as the small, but sufficient breakfast buffet. We ate at the Andaman Grill once, and although the service was tops, it was a very expensive meal, even by US standards.
The beach and ocean was as calm as a lake, although no chairs or service was provided. Kids were playing in the water with a baby elephant, as there seem to be a couple of these adorable animals roaming the beach front grounds with handlers for the the amusements of the guests.
Beach massages highly recommended. You can't beat the price. We did several day excursions that I had booked in advance since I read that the resort was off by itself. We wished that we would have had more time to just relax and enjoy the pools and facilities, like the cooking school. Instead we did a day trip to the Phi Phi Islands (horribly crowded with a 1000 tourists), an afternoon at Cheraim Spa in Phuket (great!) and an evening for dinner in Patong Beach (somewhat interesting, but not terribly impressed). Also a day trip on an elephant trek, among a few other sights, was fun. But it was always nice to get back to the resort, have a drink at the Blue Bar watching the sunset. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Cleeclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2007

My finace and I stayed there for my 30th birthday. We loved the property itself but there were a few issues.
-The beach (as a result of the tsunami, I believe) is a very steep decline to the water. As a result, when the water meets the inclined beach, it creates dangerous swimming conditions. The resort always recommends that you not swim in the water so the pools are your only option.
-The resort is also very isolated from everything else. There is nothing within walking distance and cab rides to anything are 30 min. at a minimum.
-If you rent bikes, do not use the map that they provide for you. It isn't at all accurate and you will find yourself in the middle of nowhere being glared at by angry water buffalo.
-The guy trying to sell you a timeshare will be annoying.
-Otherwise, the resort rooms are some the most beautiful that I have ever seen....and I have traveled quite a bit. The resort layout is superior and the infinity pools are beautiful and never crowded. I would also say that the food was excellent.
If you are looking for an exceptional resort and have no need to leave the area or swim in the ocean, this is your resort!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank FidgetMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2007

It is an amazing resort. Has everything restaurants, bar, pools, gym, shops. Very classy. We stayed in both the villa and the rooms both were excellent. It was nice since we wanted to relax for the honeymoon and just stay in the resort itself, however its location is very isolated. They do have excursions and trips that go into town and its a good idea to buy food, soda, snacks in town so that you wont have to pay so much for the food at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank kenmare12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews