We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a good family beach resort ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a good family beach resort ...”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have three children below 6 and it is great to just chill in this holiday resort. Although away from Phuket city, there were enough to keep us occupied and spend a good 6 days on the resort. The children love the beach and pool ... The kid's club, newly renovated was a draw for them.. We even rented bicycles for free and did a family outing to nearby budget eateries. A bonus was meeting the director of sports, Sam, who gave my son a free bicycle lesson, to add courage to learning a new skill!

Would definitely return to do more sporting activities!!

The two bedroom who lived in was very comfortable for our family, including the grandparents. Kitchen facilities were excellent when we ate in... There were other options including ordering in from a Thai restaurant ... And JW Marriot together with turtle village offered good food alternatives!

All in all, a good experience even though it is our third visit! Always something new... Including the resident baby elephant this time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueannearnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    248
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
578
272
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Keremeos, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

With a very close location to Phuket airport, this resort is easy to get to, plus while you can see the planes coming and going, it isn't noisy because of it. Our 2 bedroom condo was really way too big for just the 2 of us, but wow! was it ever nicely equipped. We were wanting for nothing, except maybe a better map, as it took us almost the whole week to know our way around this huge property. Baby elephant on site twice a day was adorable, but ethically I wonder? The property was actually not bad price wise, for such a high end place, which is relatively secluded by Phuket standards. There are only 3 or so resorts, all high end, in the area. There is a mini mall with stores and a market nearby, but all here was very expensive for the convenience. There are a few local restaurants a few hundred meters up the road where many go for cheap food and beers. Bring your mozzy repellant! The food and drink at the resort is pricey by comparison, but the cheeseburger in Paradise at the bistro can't be beat, and you can even order it done to your liking for those of us dinosaurs that live dangerously. My wife loved the free palates and yoga every morning! I enjoyed the sauna before bedtime, and the free DVD library. The beach is very nice , coarse tan colored sand that squeaks when you walk in it! The beach is a few k long, and hardly any development. Wifi worked everywhere here, and all the staff we encountered were super nice. Lounger hogs were here as well, even though the umbrellas all had warnings for people that loungers not used for 45 minutes could have their articles removed. I think all hotels should have these warnings, and then actually apply them! I can't say enough about how nice this place is, and is managed. This is the third Marriotts resort I have been lucky enough to stay at worldwide, and they have all been fantastico!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainronanejo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai, china
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from fantastic trip to Phuket Beach Club. Loved their 2 bedroom suite! Kitchen was adequately stocked with utensils, plates, pots, dishwashing soap, towels etc and they had a washer and dryer with detergent in the room which is very handy when you have kids or want to pack light! Very nice that the rooms are cleaned everyday and the dishes washed for you as well, even though it's a timeshare property.

Master bedroom had a super king size bed and the 2nd bedroom had two full size beds and attached bathroom. We loved the big bathtub in the master bedroom and overall the room's layout was great for a family. Everything was 5 star quality!

Also, we found a little sign that said we could pick up a free gift which turned out to be some coupons like 15% off Siam Cafe and Andaman dining, free glass of wine at the Mai Khao Resort, other F&B discounts and something for an excursion.


FOOD TIPS
The first night, we arrived late and were exhausted and made the mistake of ordering Thai food from room service. It wasn't horrible, but it wasn't good, either. Just order directly from Kindee Restaurant http://www.kindeerestaurant.com/ much better value for money and tastier!

Siam cafe was a nice, cheaper alternative and it serves pizzas from the Italian restaurant if they are fully booked. Also, breakfast sets in the AM are a good deal and the baked goods are 50% after 9pm :D

(Aside- There was a beautiful, skinny Mom cat that hung around the Cafe in the afternoon and evenings. Feeding her with your table scraps or a can of tuna from the grocery store will bring you good karma :D )

Coffee Club at Turtle Village has yummy Western food as well if you're willing to walk 5-7min or take the free shuttle.

POOLS/BEACH
The kid's pool was beautiful and has a fun slide and wading area for the young ones, but it has areas that drop off suddenly so you still need to watch them carefully. Their are other pools that are much quieter if you're a couple. As others mentioned, loved the service around the pool area- cold waters, lollipops, and warm towels.

Beach wasn't that exciting. Not very busy so that was nice, but not very appealing. To be honest, in our 3 days stay we stuck to the pools. The JW Marriott Khao Lak has a much nicer beach and we went in the ocean every day there. There is also nothing on the beach compared to other resorts that have little locally owned beach hut restaurants adjacent to the hotel properties.


EXTRAS
The baby elephants were amazing and so much fun to see everyday, even though our little one was terrified of them in the beginning. The elephant trainer will gladly pass you a big bunch of bananas to feed the elephants for anywhere from 40-100 baht.

Massage beach huts were conveniently located on the resort property and were 400baht for an hour. They will also put down a mat and sarang under the palms trees if you want a bit more privacy. I could have gotten a massage everyday.

Staff were all excellent and very friendly. Love Thai hospitality! The manager even stopped suddenly to take our order when we were trying to get the attention of the waitstaff one evening.

MISC
Not that stroller friendly as there are alot of little rock or wood paths you need to cross. It's makes for a beautiful, natural look to the grounds, but be prepared to pick up the stroller if you're staying in the 2 bedrooms which are kind of set back from the beach. Or you an walk around the road/back side of the resort...

Public toilets were clogged alot and should have been attended to more regularly, especially the ones by the pool.

SHOPPING
Turtle village is a very close walk so you don't have to wait the 10-15 minutes for the free shuttle. The grocery downstairs is stocked with most things you need albeit at a fair markup. Local fruits, bread, eggs, etc were pretty cheap, but a big chunk of imported cheese was about $8-10USD.

The Coffee Club restaurant was pretty good for Western food as well and cheaper than the JW/Beach Club.

SUMMARY
Overall, if you have extended family or grown kid's the 2 bedrooms are a perfect set up compared to renting two hotel rooms, especially since you have the full kitchen and laundry. However, be prepared to feel like you are in a resort anywhere rather than in Thailand specifically. For our tastes, we felt 'stuck' in the resort (ie few other options within walking distance) as the whole area is resort after resort with no beachside locally run restaurants or shops close by. But, for a short, relaxing trip this place is perfect as it's only 15 min from the airport.

For a longer trip, we definitely preferred the JW Marriott Khao Lak's beach area and direct pool access rooms which was about 1 hour away from the airport. Will write up a review for it shortly!

Happy holidaying!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom rooms are a bit far from the kid's pool, but are great for families and come with full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank shanghaiexpat2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We we joined our friends in their timeshare 2/bedroom 2/bathroom villa. The pampering began with cold towels/cold bottled water when we were collected at the airport and continued throughout the impressive week that followed. From our balcony we watched a young man climb the palms nearby with just his bare hands and feet - his job was to cut down any coconuts or bunches of dates likely to fall on the guests., impressive! Other reviewers have described the two baby elephants who frolic around the gardens but nothing prepares you for these friendly animals bouncing up to you for a banana treat. The range of dining out choices are many and top quality, especially happy hour Pina Coladas at 5.30 as the sun drops into the sea, followed by the spectacular sunset fire dance in the main hotel pool. The small supermarket in the nearby modern small shopping Turtle Village is quite adequate for fruit and snacks and ingredients for cooking a meal in the apartment. It is unusual to have a beach for the exclusive use of guests in Phuket, having seen the crush at Patong etc, and 17km of pristine sand is quite breathtaking, although lounging around one of the resort's 5 pools while friendly staff bring cold iced water/towels and platters of fresh fruit is hard to beat. Acres of exotic grounds, carefully tended orchids and pots of water lilies, a lake and the main hotel pool lit at night with rows of flames adds to the dream. January is the recommended time of year and we agree although quiet air conditioning and ceiling fans keep everyone comfortable. We hired a car to circumnavigate the island but be warned, it's not for beginners and our friends were familiar with the hair raising traffic - the locals are fearless. Check the car hire contract very carefully as you may need to delete some sections.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at 2 bedroom villa, the room is amazing and really clean. Stayed in the corner room in the north which is really close to the road, but since our room is just next to the water supply so it does not irritate us because the sound of water supply is just like waterfall. First time I arrived in the room, I thought that it was a fake waterfall. Wi-fi in the room is fast enough, staff are really friendly. The restaurant is great, just had 3 times to try they restaurants, the Thailand restaurant is amaziinnngg,,, they have really good thai food although the food is quite expensive. The beach is amazing as well, and they have really long beach line. The swimming pools are awesome!! But the location is quite far from the town and the hectic places, this is the place that you wish you could really getaway from everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EugeneS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am amazed that people plan a vacation and don't do research on their resort. Before booking I was fully aware that the resort was somewhat isolated, and this made it very appealing to me as a real "getaway". I also went onto the Marriott website where I was able to view menus for almost every restaurant, including the prices. I knew the dining options were pricey, but I was informed and prepared.
I am a Marriott Timeshare owner, and this is the most deluxe of any I've stayed in throughout the world. I truly felt that I was in a 5 star luxury resort. The villas are modern, attractive, comfortable, and large. Most Marriott timeshares only do one cleaning service during the week, but here there was daily service. I requested 10 a.m. housekeeping, and got it everyday.
There are enough dining options to try a different place each night, but we especially liked Ginga, the Thai restaurant. I have many food allergies, and every restaurant accommodated my dietary needs. We found all the food wonderful. Yes - the breakfast buffets are expensive - around $30 US per person, but the dinners were reasonable in comparison.
Someone mention having to take a "buggy" to the beach? I'm not sure where they were staying. The beach was about a 3 minute walk from our room! The pool areas (3) are spectacular, and someone comes around all day with water, cold towels, and fresh fruit. We also loved feeding YaYa, one of the resident elephants everyday!!!
We flew for 23 hours to get to Phuket, and I'll hopefully do it again next year!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TerriRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at a 2-bedroom villa - the property is really fantastic in terms of the facilities and amenities - most places make such a fuss about internet/wi-fi and this place had free wi-fi in the room and common areas. The staff are very friendly, unlike many other places in thailand. The food is a little expensive, but its still ok for a short trip. The beach is highly underrated and is a beautiful beach.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HydTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
879 reviews
0.6 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Phuket Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Phuket Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Address: 230, 232 Moo 3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott's Phuket Beach Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Phuket Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Phuket Beach Club Hotel Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket Beach Hotel
Marriott Mai Khao
Phuket Marriott
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing