We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Paradise.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is amazing! I recently stayed at this resort during November 2012, and stayed in one of the villas. And I couldn't have loved it more.

We arrived to the hotel via cab since we came to the hotel straight from the hotel. Make sure you tell your cab driver exactly which resort you're going too, because there's 3 different hotel right next to each other, and the cab driver may get a little upset if you tell him the wrong one. Also, this resort is definitely located far away from all the shopping and food. It takes at least 30 minutes to get anywhere else that you may have planned for your trip, so plan accordingly! Anyways, we arrived at the front desk and they helped us with the bags while we checked in. While we were waiting for all the paperwork to be done we sat in the waiting area where they walked over with wet towels and a iced tea to cool us down from the heat. So considerate! Afterwards, we hopped onto a golf cart and they drove us to the villa where they helped place all the bags into our suite. The suite was so amazing! We got a 2 bedroom-2bath suite, which included a fully stocked kitchen with all the supplies you would need to cook. They provide you with free large bottles of water every day, so you don't need to worry about drinking the tap! Each room has a different setting for the AC, which is very helpful since not everyone loves to be freeezing cold when they sleep!

We also had a backyard area which lead into a pathway of the North Pool, which had a beautiful view of the beach! The beach is literally about 20 steps from the pool, amazing! And sometimes the baby elephant at the resorts will visit everyone at the pools. So cute! Make sure to bring your camera! While at the pool the workers are always kind enough to bring you some ice water because of the heat, and sometimes they'll bring you some fresh fruit.

Some tips:
If you are staying in a villa or a room with a fully stocked kitchen, buy groceries in town. There is a local market within the area of the hotel, but the prices are tripled what you can find in the city. There are restaurants within the area of the hotel as well, but you're basically paying US prices for American meals. Not much of a deal!
Visit the stands located near the beach, they have some thai food for real cheap! I believe it was only 80 baht for some Pad Thai, and it was delicious!
Pay attention to the colored flags before entering the water of the beach, my sister and I didn't realize what they meant the first day, and we went in when the flags were red, and let's just say.. it was a tough time..
If you can't find anything on tv to watch, you can always rent movies from the fitness room. They have a pretty decent selection!
Definitely try not to spend your whole trip at the resort. As amazing as it is, it's the Americanized version of Thailand. If you want to experience what Thailand is really about, spend the day going around, shopping, eating street food, and meeting new people! (I'd probably try to limit the organized trips and just try to find your own way around!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    243
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
567
263
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about this hotel and location. Almost totally private beach with hardly anyone to share it with, water that laps the sand. Sunsets that kiss the ocean with vermillion sprays, just stunning in every way. The staff are always amazing and so polite. Two bedroom apartments are spacious, clean and well serviced. If I had to find something as a negative, I would say the poolside menu needs updating after so many years of the same fodder but seems to follow a Marriott tried and tested formula. For me, some variety please for long time guests. If that's all I can find wrong, then there is awful lot right about it. Patong is a long drive (1 hour) which is a good and bad thing. A long way from the sleaze but a long way from the nightlife and variety it offers also.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vern0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our third time in Phuket, with some apprehension we booked a hotel in Mai Khao due a friend recommendation. Mai Khao is a 15 to 20 mins north of Phuket airport, in traffic an hour to Phuket Town or Patong Beach. We have stayed at the Le Meridien in our last visit before the tsunami, and only 10 minutes to Patong. So this trip I was worried about our choices and quality of what to eat and things to do.

I'm glad we did decide to stay at the Beach Club. The 2 bedroom self contained apartment was plenty of room for my 2 teens. Master bedroom like all posted photos, had bathroom as big as the 2nd bedroom with a giant bath enough for four people. The 2nd is also an ensuite, walk thru to entrance an living area. There is a king size bed in the master, 2 doubles in the other bedroom plus a sofa bed in the family room (accomodating possibly 8 people). The kitchen was fully equipted, very comprehensive . With the supermmarket in the Turtle Village 5 minutes walking distant, you really don't have to eat out. But the prices at the Turtle Village was fairly expensive, add up with time and effort it's pobably cheaper to feed hungry teens at the 2 buffet breakfast at the resort. We mainly stocked up with snacks, fruits and drinks in the full size fridge( no dish washer, but double basin and liquid wash and plenty of kitchen towels...). The washer and dryer was very handy, washing powder provided but house cleaner missed replacing it for a few days.

Our reservation about the lack of activities was unfounded. The teens lover all the activities, from Thai boxing to learning how to walk on stilts to trapeze. With all the golf courses near by, and cheap massages along the beach, my husband was happy he even join in the Thai boxing with us. I was over the moon finding out their gigantic fully equipted gymn was open 24 hours upon request. There was enough pilates, yoga classes...All these activities were necessary to burn all the yummy food.

The resort has more than a few restaurant, may it be alot more expensive compare to the meal we had in Patong. But, in comparison to prices in Australia very cheap for the fine dining we had at eg. Ginja. The Thai food in all restaurant even by the pool bar was excellent. The seafood was so fresh we could smell the ocean. But I don't believe my version of "mildly hot" is same same as in Phuket. After three days, I couldn't feel the roof of my mouth. Thank God for Kabuki, a tepanyaki Japanese restaurant. The steak and sea food at the Grill by the beach was amazing too!

We did leave aside a day to venture to Patong etc, but I would have been happy to spend all my time at the resort. The service over all was fantastic, especially the three staff in charge of cirus training, stilts and trapeze. Amazing enthusiam.

My only negative and most inconvenient one. The staff manning the booking at the kids/teen room was below standard, they keep getting our book wrong, sending the kids to the wrong places for activities or miss booking it altogether. Otherwise i would have rank the resort 5 star

Tip: All activities must me booked in advance, some one day in advance. Make sure to double check. The leaf origami was surprisingly fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TramTranTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

It's always tricky taking small children to beach holidays... But this hotel makes it as easy as possible. A spacious, well stocked Kids play room was the highlight of our trip - because it meant that my wife and I could leave the kids to participate in some activity and get an hour or so by ourselves by the pool or at the bar.

The suites are exceptional - with a kitchen and a lovely balcony. The pool is good. The spa by the beach in a gazebo is surprisingly affordable. The hotel also had a baby elephant come around - one can buy and feed it, the girls loved that bit

Not much of a beach though - it stretches for miles but less than 50m wide at most places. The water is choppy and not suited for much of a dip - small disappointment (we went in Sept - towards the end of the monsoon season I believe)

The restaurants are good - a wide selection of cuisine. The lobby bar was charming... With swings and beds to sit on and enjoy a sundowner.

The 'Turtle Mart' is a ten minute walk (or four minute bus ride - by hotel shuttle) away, to stock up on essentials. There are some other good shops within the complex, including a big Jim Thompson showroom and an English pub, if one wants to get some memorabilia / clothes / drinks / meals outside the hotel. Don't expect Thailand prices here though.

All in - very good. We enjoyed our week and will look to head back the next time we head to Phuket.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narayanisms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were really impressed with our 2 bedroom apartment. It was huge and very well equipped with all the kitchen items you may need. We did eat at the hotel and also ordered room service so we had a hefty bill at the end of our stay. but we enjoyed ourselves!
highlights were the Teppanyaki restaurant and the chicken satay at the pool.
Next time, and there will be a next time, I would bring a box of breakfast cereal and also eat more at the Coffee Club at the nearby shopping centre. It was less than a 10 min walk away and much more reasonably priced.
The Kids Club was under renovation so it was in 2 smaller rooms but our 5 yr old participated in some activities and hung out in the club for a while most afternoons. It was well staffed.
We spent most of our week in the kids pool. We enjoyed the complimentary fruit in the mornings and ice lollies in the afternoons. Service was excellent throughout the hotel and Beach Club.
The Marriott is close to the airport and we really wanted an R & R break so it suited us perfectly. If you are wanting to sightsee and enjoy Phuket nightlife then Mai Khao wouldn't be for you.

Room Tip: If you have children, stay at the beach club, not the JW Marriott
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This place is so relaxing, but if lying on a recliner between the pool and the beach as "YaYa" the elephant sways by is not your cup of tea, then there are plenty of activities. The cooking class at Ginja is a MUST for anyone who likes Thai food. There are excursions to Phi Phi island, the spa on site, two huge pools and more restaurants then I had time to visit. It is very geared towards families, but as a couple, we had a great time. Get to the pool early to get a good spot under an umbrella.

I love that it was only 20 minutes (maybe less) from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanghaisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We just joined MVCI and this was the 1st club experience we had.
Stayed at 2 bedroom apartment, huge and comfortable luxury, as Marriott always do.
My nephews (4yo and 7yo) love the kids club and the pool area.
Food was great, beach pretty but unluckily it was a very high tide when we were there, so..the beach was too dangerous for swimming, also cant do any water sport.
The location of the resort is a bit far out of the city and busy area of Phuket, but the resort can arrange all the tours , sightseeing, shuttles, car rental, and everything you need to explore Phuket at the very reasonable price.
Beautiful sunset on the beach, and baby elephants walking around the beach area, make it very interesting experience for kids.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FransiskaTjhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Phuket Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Phuket Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Address: 230, 232 Moo 3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott's Phuket Beach Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Phuket Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Phuket Beach Club Hotel Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket Beach Hotel
Marriott Mai Khao
Phuket Marriott
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing