We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full facilities place but very far from Phuket town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Full facilities place but very far from Phuket town”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa that comes with full cooking facilities, washer and dryer. The bathroom is elder friendly, which is good for my inlaw. Service is good, especially if you cook, as they will help you to wash dishes everyday. We had full access to all JW Marriott facilities, free activities and gym classes, 3 swimming pools, etc. Don't miss the massage by the beach, it's only 400B for an hr, cheap for Marriott standards. We got a car rental contact from one of the buggy driver and rent a Toyota Vios at 1800B for 2 days! Cheaper than the rates at Avis at the airport. Trip to town is abt an hr, so be prepare to spend lots of time on the road... Don't miss the authentic Thai food restaurant Kin Dee, about 10mins drive away, they can deliver to your room for free!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cc.memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    243
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
567
264
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed 10 days at the Phuket Beach Club Villas and had a wonderful time. Truly a first class resort. One of us had a birthday while there and the front office staff noticed it on our passport and sent a beautiful birthday cake with flowers and candles that morning. We did have two incidences of our smoke alarm going off in the middle of the night, two times on the same night and we informed the desk about it. They sent round a maintenance man in the morning to replace ours and we were sure it was finished, but that night it went off again. We notified reception again and they did come the next morning to fix it and even sent a beautiful bottle of wine and a large fruit display the next day with a sweet apology note attached.

The food at the main pool bar was great, try the watermelon juice, its frozen and just amazing! Try the chicken satay with peanut sauce, its killer good! They come round with water and fruit slices every so often which is a nice touch.
The deli on the first floor is a bit pricey (a double espresso is about $6 USD) but if you're hankering for some pastries or baked breads this is the place to go! They serve a little almond biscotti that is simple and perfect.

Next door in the Turtle Market Place is a small grocery store, with some basic items and medications like Tylenol and Advil if needed.

There is a pub upstairs that we went to, however it was pretty deserted and a bit depressing.

Also in the market place is a coffee shop that serves a nice espresso in case the one at the resort prices gets to you.

Anantara Resort is next door and has a kiosk for sales presentations in the market place. We attended a presentation, beautiful upscale rentals and even though we didn't purchase. they gave us a free trip for two to Koh Phi Phi by speedboat. Definately worth the hour we listened to the presentation.

Had massages on the beach in front of the JW every day. 400THB (about $13USD) and we would recomend the girls to anyone. They had light touches or strong ones depending on your choice and all the girls were so sweet and warm. They felt lilke sisters by the time I left.

Nearby is a restaurant called Kin Dee, truly great and they have a cooking class offered which I took and was surprised how easy she made the class. The chef, Ton, is amazing and creative and very kind. The restaurant has the feeling that you are eating in a tree house. One side of it hangs off the back into the jungle and at night its magical! I suggest the prawn on pepper leaf tempura as an appetizer and the chicken satay as well. The pineapple fried rice is a winner in both taste and beauty also.

The resort is a little far from town, but this is pleasant also as you take a taxi and see the countryside a bit. A taxi to Phuket Town is about $40USD with a return and the driver waiting for you. Its about a 45 minute drive so its not a bad deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank artrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My family and I have been going to the Marriott Phuket Beach Club for a few years now, and I must say that this is by far the best hotel hotel in Phuket. The service, the facilities, the people and their kindness, everything is top notch at the hotel. Unbelievable service. To top it off, they have a beautiful private beach which offers foot massages as well.
The hotel is a bit out of Patong (which is the heart of Phuket), but if you're looking for a nice, relaxed and quiet holiday, you can't get anything better!! We go there every year and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indoscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed at here in August 2011 with 4 friends who flew in from the states. My parents are Marriott timeshare owners and I have stayed at properties in Aruba and Hawaii. I had high expectations based on my previous experiences and the fact that this property is combined with a JW Marriott and share the share the same facilities. First, the rooms (2 bedroom villa) were the best part - very spacious and plenty of room for the 5 of us (one slept on the pull out couch in the living room) and a nice balcony. We were very happy to also be placed on the far side of the resort right next to the smaller pool, beach and bar. The spa was also absolutely fantastic but that was about it. The first disappointment was when we realized there was really no beach. There was sand and ocean but no chairs or service - you can't call yourself a beach club without at least chairs on the beach. Second, the place was absolutely crawling with children uncontrolled by their parents, even at the "adult" pool. This is not the place to go if you want peace and quiet. The food also left something to be desired - we ate most of our meals at Siam Deli which is absolutely fabulous and services a good breakfast, burgers and sandwiches throughout the day. The Thai restaurant has awful service and the steak and seafood place was ridiculously overpriced. The food at the pool was mediocre and it always took a while to flag someone down who was willing to take your order. Overall, I expected more at this place.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms villas are a great value for groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We came here on a Interval exchange October 2010. This was the beginning of the monsoon season but we were lucky and had 2 weeks of cloudy mornings and sunny afternoons. It is a really big resort and has increadible manicured grounds. You do not think there are many people around you however. The 2 bedroom villa did not have ocean view but the huge master suite and dining room and living room had a jungle view with great balcony. The beautiful hardwoods throughout were stunning.
Three pools, first serene, then a "funtastic" water park for kids and the third a bit more youthful for the hip croud. All served great drinks and food.
One hour from Phuket Town but the hotel runs frequent shuttles for 14.00. In town you can get the best massages and treatments fo 10% of the cost at the resort so it is $ well spent. Ocean beach a bit rough for swimming but had a laugh whe the neighbour's cattle got onto the beach and lawns in front of the pools.
We'de go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Villas are huge do an exchange or request a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestHighlandTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

what a great place to stay. We just spent 14 nights at the Phuket Beach Club (Vacation Club ) and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a 2 bed villa (appartment) which is much bigger than it seems on the website. We asked for a ground floor room as we have 3 under 5's and wanted to get in and out easily with pushchairs. though it was just a request they confirmed at checkin. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed and were presently surprised at the lobby, the reflection pond, the fire and dance show whilst we checked in, the villa and so on. We did have several days of fairly continuous rain but found that there was enough to kep the kids busy by day 5 we knew we needed the sun though. The kids club is superb, the staff are great, the faclity itself is excellent and it caters to all ages. The main pool was perfect for kids, the slides, the bubbles, fountains, turtles kept them entertained for hours. The service by the pool was great, cold towels and fresh juice ice lollies came for free each day. Jumbo the resort elephant comes twice every day and swims in the sea, eats from your hand and generally is a great feature for the kids (and adults!). We took one day trip to the elephant trek (we took the 3-4 hour option), elephant show, a bit of education and then a 30 or 45 min trek through the jungle. We had a private transfer to the place which was about 50 min drive, which was probably about the max you want to do with young kids. But it was well worth the trip. Very professional. Worth being aware of but certainly didn't impact our overall stay: take mozzie spray if you usually get bitten (if not don't bother as only 2 of us got bitten), our DVD player was very hit and miss, they did change it but the replacement was the same, there isn't much outside the resort in close proximity (except Turtle Village - which is good) so if you like the hustle and bustle you may not enjoy this place. Tips: Ground floor villa was excellent as you get a patio and access to the stream/pathway, go to Coffee Club (Turtle Village)for an early dinner it is very cheap compared to the hotel options and the quality is good and it is family friendly (it gets busy by 7.30pm), make your own breakfast (you have a full kitchen) and save your pennies for lunch and dinner (you will need them as it is pretty expensive)! Cocktails by the pool at sunset (Happy Hour), grab a "floating bed"' at the lobby bar after dinner take a good book or good company and relax over looking the reflection pond, stick to the beach massage place 450 bart for an hour and hear the sound of the waves whilst you chill out. Overall we had an excellent trip and would recommend it to couples, families and most people who fancy a bit of paradise, in a lovely jungle and beach setting...

Room Tip: Ground floor villa and an end one is just about perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheryl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

It was my first time to visit Thailand and when I entered the MPBC everywhere looks pleasant, the reception staff are really helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The apartments are really spacious (2 bedrooms) and all the facilities are there ie washer dryer tv iron etc. There are fantastic surroundings at the complex, the pools are brilliant and clean, again all the Staff are friendly and always making sure you have water, cooling wipes, fruit etc. The restaurants are fantastic with a variety of different foods/flavours although they are more expensive than the Turtle Village Mall approximately 5-10 mins from MPBC. Bill Bentlies bar at the TV has a great atmosphere, lovely Staff, great variety of food, free music, pool table, darts, table football and Sky sports. The female waitresses are wicked at pool. I can only point out one fault and that is the resort is approximately 1 hour away from Phuket town so it is isolated and the Taxi Service are quite expensive, so always agree a set price before you do arrange a destination. It's a fantastic experience and I certainly recommend visiting MPBC.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woz106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Phuket Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Phuket Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Address: 230, 232 Moo 3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marriott's Phuket Beach Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Phuket Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Phuket Beach Club Hotel Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket Beach Hotel
Marriott Mai Khao
Phuket Marriott
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing