We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good food choices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle Village Shops & Cuisine

Turtle Village Shops & Cuisine
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Mai Khao
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Some good food choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Recommend Bill Bentley's and Coffee Club for alternatives to the resorts. Coffee Club offered some very good Thai and western choices. The green chicken curry and calamari were very good. Very disappointed in the Thai Express. Very loud and food wasn't that good. Service was fair.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaryFSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    86
    117
    47
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great To See New Dining Options”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We visit The Marriott Mai Khao twice a year and have had very little choice if we wish to walk to a restaurant. This time we were delighted to find Thai Express and The Thai Noodle Cafe next door had opened. We have eaten now twice at Thai Express and found good food,good service,fair price but small portions. A welcome addition to our other favourite The Coffee Club.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SuOpontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“New Additions to Turtle Village Eateries”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Another visit to Phuket's Mai Khao Beach and the Marriott Vacation Club at Easter saw the family dining once again at Turtle Village.

On my last visit (Nov 2013) I was happy to post a good review for Bill Bentley's Pub and we lunched there again on this visit. Food quality and service was again good. My review here concerns Turtle village itself and the new eateries now on site.

I was pleasantly surprised to see a couple of new additions to the dining options on my visit at Easter. A Thai Express restaurant and a Thai noodle cafe have been added to the ever growing list of places to eat at turtle Village.

We dined at Thai Express one evening. The restaurant was busy, and the service was efficient and polite., The food quality was of a good standard and well presented. The only negative thing I could say about the experience was that the food portion size was quite small. A fair bit smaller than we had imagined while ordering and while the price wasn't high (compared to say dining at The Marriott Hotel) I feel this let the venue down. Overall it was OK, but it could so easily have been better if the portions had matched the competition on site.

We didn't sample the noodle express cafe on this visit so no review on that one. Overall it is good to see a growing number of eateries moving into Turtle Village as the location is quite off the beaten track and in the past had few dining options.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesWHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
139 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“small mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Considering the fact that its situated adjacent to JW Marriot and Anantara hotels, you can check out a few stores and restaurants without fetching a taxi. The food at Bill Bentleys was amazing. Dont miss Swenson's ice cream!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alireza k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Convenient!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

If you want spend all your money on Phuket taxis fares, I'm pretty sure that there are a lot more nicer shops in Phuket. However, if you are in Mai Khao, you don't have any choice but to go here... But it's really not that bad. The whole place is very clean, even their restrooms. There are 2 or 3 restaurants you can choose from. We love the food they serve at the coffee club. They have a lot of mouth watering options and it's a far more affordable option than eating at the hotel. Theres also a place to buy swimwear and souvenirs. My favorite part is their mini mart. To sum it up, this place really does serve it's purpose. It's a great place to hang out after going to the beach.

Helpful?
3 Thank thepickyflashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Village Shops & Cuisine also viewed

Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 

Been to Turtle Village Shops & Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing