We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, far away from everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have been to Mauritius and Zanzibar a number of times and looked forward to our trip to Thailand - Phuket. Because of what we heard about Patong - party vibe, loud music and hectic night life we decided to book at Mai Khao Beach which is close to the Airport but far away from everything else. The hotel is very nice, rooms are up to standard and facilities are on par with those in Mauritius and Zanzibar. Breakfast was good value and a reasonable variety. Our rate included Bed and Breakfast only, and rest is for your account. Both restaurants at the hotel is very pricey and food is not great but acceptable. Since it is far removed from everything else you don't have much of a choice other than eating at the hotel restaurant. Staff was very friendly and helpfull and lived up to the Thai way of service with a smile. Beach was good and we enjoyed the sea, but no snorkeling or other water sport activities offered by the hotel like they do in Mauritius or Zanzibar. It all depends on what you want out of a vacation whether you would enjoy this hotel or not. I found it too far removed from everything, and if hotel offered decent buffet dinners, more variety of evening entertainment, etc. perhaps. Next time I will stay closer to Patong without being right in the hustle and bustle, but not in Mai Khao Beach as it is too quiet and nothing to offer other than what the hotel has and they take advantage on prices for dinner, drinks, etc. Even getting around will cost you - the hotel shuttle charges you, but much less than a taxi. We paid about 350 USD for use of a taxi for a day (9h30 t0 4h30).

Room Tip: If you stay here, make use of Hotel shuttle to Patong. I would not recommend going to Phuket Town as...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RudiGrobbelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear RudiGrobbelaar,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us following your stay.

We appreciate your feedback which helps us understanding what is important for our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.

"Book your next stay with us to get a chance to win a free accommodation voucher. Check out our Stay Lucky package"

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

We decided to stay here as it was close to the airport and we wanted to explore this end of Phuket! Transportation is simple, so no need to worry about Crazy traffic going down to Patong especially if your arrival flight time is late afternoon! The hotel is very nice and the layout is spot on, with nice garden/grass area in the middle where kids could run around and they have movies at night in the same area. There is also a very good kids room/house which has lots of activities for the kids and they all seemed to be having a good time when we looked in through the window. Then you come to the main pool and then the beach basically starts from the pool area with the sea just a 100 yards or so away, which is PERFECT! The pool area has bar and restaurant and plenty of sun bathing areas.The beach is incredibly quite and around 10km long so for people who want to jog/walk in the morning/evening without the MASSES is BRILLIANT! This would be the same at any time of the year as there are not many hotels on that beach, so guaranteed peace/Bliss! There is also a Water Park just up the road about 10 minutes away max for the kids/adults young at heart. There is a gym which looked pretty good/yes did not try, although took my training gear, so 1 point for that! Health/massage centre looked very professional, so pampering would be high on the list for some. We had breakfast outside in the sunken seating area under the awning which was very pleasant and the staff of course very friendly, simply Thai style! We had booked the pool access room which is very spacious, simple modern design with a nice terrace then the pool which runs the length of all the rooms. I was told you could swim up and down but that would mean swimming past peoples rooms which is a bit intruding to my mind, so stayed within our room area. Which is fine, beacause if you prefer to do laps just go to the pool or sea. There is also a great little simple restaurant just outside the hotel which has great food dishes & BBQ seafood / Yummy, very cheap with nice big Cold bottles of Singha Gold beer!
So, basically the hotel is far away from Patong and all the main action, so to travel will be a pain for most people! But, if you are just relaxing or doing a lot of tours you will be too tired to worry about going out again at night so the place is perfect and just popping out to the little local restaurant is a God send when you are Knackered!

Room Tip: We stayed on the left hand side as you look from the reception area towards the sea and found that y...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 321Hoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear 321Hoody,

It's always a great pleasure to read such a nice comment about us.

We are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our peaceful paradise and looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Phuket.

"Book your next stay with us to get a chance to win a free accommodation voucher. Check out our Stay Lucky package"

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had booked this vacation for a long time coming, and read all the reviews from past guests with great anticipation that this was going to be an awesome holiday for my wife, my 19 month old daughter and I.

From the very first moment that we left the airport, we were greeted by our driver to bring us to the hotel, car was a Camry - most importantly is that it was comfortable!!

Reached the hotel and I must say that I was impressed with the ambience and the check in was detailed - well done to the receptionist, sorry did not get your name. *However remember you as you were sweating from the heat.

We were brought to our room and I was absolutely over the moon with the room that we had gotten - open up our sliding door and our own personal swimming pool, without waiting I jumped in with my daughter!!

Dinner was at the J's Restaurant, it was good! The staffs made my daughter feel like she was the most important person and they even remembered her name throughout our stay there! Well done!!

We also tried the Italian restaurant - Pesto by the main swimming and minutes walking to the beach, amidst the constant bombardment of flies, but the food was great!

Breakfast was good and the staff were very accommodating and friendly it was worth the price paid for it.

There was a slight problem at check out, as my camry was apparently not there, but the night manager was quick to get me an alternative 13 seater without waiting.

Overall, I want to come back again and will choose this hotel again! Great Job Guys!!

Room Tip: Get the Deluxe Pool Rooms, just open your sliding door and jump right in!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bartholomeusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Bartholomeusz,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us following your recent stay.

We are very glad to hear that your family have had a great time with us enjoying the pool access room, J's Cafe, Pesto Restaurant and other facilities. We are also thrilled to hear that our staffs have done a good job to ensure you having an enjoyable stay.

The team and I are looking forward to having your family back with us in the near future.

"Book your next stay with us to get a chance to win a free accommodation voucher. Check out our Stay Lucky package"

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here using my points and got 2 nights free.

Check in and out was swift.

Food portion in the coffee house was small have to order another snack during tea. Thai Cooking just about average nothing to write home about.

Breakfast was good, wide spread for a holiday inn.

Room is nice & comfortable sleep quality good.

Beach is nice. Tried the spa fell asleep and had a giod rest, worked all the travel fatique out.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Fei-Low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Fei-Low,

Thank you for being a member of our IHG Rewards Club, the world's largest hotel loyalty program and for taking the time to write about us following your recent stay.

The team and I are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and spa treatment in our peaceful paradise.

We are looking forward to having you back with us on your next holiday in Phuket.

"Book your next stay with us to get a chance to win a free accommodation voucher. Check out our Stay Lucky package"

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had two nights to kill in Phuket after our 8-day, all-inclusive stay in Phang Nga ended. We found the Holiday Inn Mai Khao online, and it sounded almost too good to be true -- swim-up bar, breakfast included, etc. -- for US$90!! We jumped on it, and when we arrived, without even asking, we were upgraded to a pool-access room -- just open the sliding glass door, and there are the steps into one of the long, meandering pools. It was a FABULOUS value for the dollar; not too far from the airport, but we never heard it once.

Room Tip: The pool-access rooms were just magic -- grab one, if you can. Only once did anybody swim past our...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LemmonHerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear LemmonHerk,

Thank you for your comment about us on Tripadvisor.

It's always a great pleasure to read such a beautiful comment from our guest and we are very happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to having you back with us in the near future.

"Book your next stay with us to get a chance to win a free accommodation voucher. Check out our Stay Lucky package"

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Pool access room was clean, beautiful and quiet. Breakfast buffee had lots of tasty choices. For dinner we went to nearby local restaurants. Pool with kids pool was great. Hotel is right on the beach. Mai Khao beach is very beautiful, long and hardly anyone is on it. In kids club were lots of toys and offered many activities for children. Reception staff should pay more attention to details: they gave us wrong room, forgot babycot etc. Luckily they solved problems quickly after our complaints. At the check in they should mention, that they give only one keycard. If you want more keycards, you have to go and ask from reception. At first we thought, we have lost one keycard  Hotel is great for family vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kertuliisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Kertuliisa,

Thank you for your feedback about us following your recent stay.

We are glad to hear that your family have had an enjoyable stay with us in our beautiful Mai Khao Beach. We appreciate that you mentioned some areas which we could improve on.

The team and I are looking forward to having your family back with us.

"Book your next stay with us to get a chance to win a free accommodation voucher. Check out our Stay Lucky package"

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for a coyuple of days after transferring from another resort in Mai Khao, excellent place, service is good, the facilities are good as well, The beach bar serves has wide choices of drinks. The room given to us has its own front pool , all the rooms of this row has their own pool facing their rooms, which is excellent if you have kids who loves to swim, not to mention the summer weather. room service is efficient and corteous, and offers wide range of dishes from local to international as well.
Will definitely be back here again when in the mai Khao beach area

Room Tip: Pick a good season to go and if possible check put their available rooms first online
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gatch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Gatch69,

It was our pleasure to read such a beautiful comment about us.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our Pool access room which is a highlight at our peaceful paradise. I will definitely pass your message onto our team members as a great motivation for them to work hard to serve our guests even better.

The team and I are looking forward to having you back with us in the near future.

"Book your next stay with us to get a chance to win a free accommodation voucher. Check out our Stay Lucky package"

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
12.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $74 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing