We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family friendly resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good family friendly resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Just returned from a 5 days trip to Phuket. Stayed at this place for 4 nights. Good staff, great service with a smile and perfect pool and kids club for the little ones.

Staff was very friendly and did not ignore the guests if they asked for something out of the ordinary, which in my book is a great sign of a good resort.

The beach is a bit steep and even though the hotel has provided some sun loungers there is not much activity on the beach. No people around, at the same time no netted swimming area as well.

The only flip side is that it is very far away from every thing in Phuket that you should be doing. So usually that involves an hours drive everywhere and extra charge for cabs etc.

If rest, relaxation and family fun is on your mind then two thumbs up to this resort. If you are looking for outings and nightlife, perhaps you should look for Patong or Kata areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NittinHanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear NittinHanda,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us following your recent stay.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our staffs have done a great job to make your holiday memorable.

The team & I are looking forward to having your family back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    326
    94
    17
    12
See reviews for
425
291
57
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a hiccup with our booking via agoda as I called up the hotel prior to arrival and they couldn't find our booking with the confirmation number given. Finally after searching a few other details, they could trace our booking albeit missing the detail for our airport transfer request. So we took a taxi instead to the hotel instead and once checked in, the 5D/4N wonderful holiday took flight. We were given free room upgrade and it was really spacious with plenty of walking space still even after putting 2 cots in for our 3+ and 1+ years old children. It was great that there were different activities planned for the guests as the hotel was located far from town so we could literally spend our entire holiday in the resort itself. The kids club was well equipped with a variety of toys and a ball pit and the swimming pool was really child friendly. Other plus points: beachfront property, kids eat for free in one of the restaurants and complimentary DVD for loan. The resort staff did a great job, from those in the restaurants to housekeeping and the front/ service desk and special thanks to the ladies in the kids club. Suggestions for improvement: provide for recycling bins and complimentary airport transfers would be much appreciated.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor with garden view was nice as it had a small porch which we could just w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beeflich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Beeflich,

Thank you for your review about us on Tripadvisor.

We are very glad to hear that you have had a nice time with us and your little ones had enjoyed our Kids Eat Free program at J's Restaurant. We appreciate for mentioning the area we could improve on.

The team & I are looking forward to your next visit in our peaceful paradise.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We had three nights here before moving onto Phi Phi - we needed longer to enjoy the resort a little more. The outdoor movies and night fair that were alternating in the evenings made it fun for the kids (and we could have a drink in peace). The little 'village' on the beach offered a cheap beach massage, but without us having to leave the resort (after long day trips). The food is good and the family suite is large and spacious (think 2 rooms together, not one large room - and 2 bathrooms is brilliant for a family of 5, all for less than the price of 2 rooms.)
My youngest loved the kids doonas and toiletries, the older two were taken with the playstation and beanbags.
We didn't use the kids club but I popped in to get the playstation games and it looked fantastic (and my youngest complained that she never got to go there).
There are DVDs if you want movies, a nice lounge area (with computers) and the pool is great for littlies, as the toddler pool is large.
We arrived for New Year (Songkran)and the special party for that was great. There was a jumping castle and water slide, the staff had water fights and ceremonies through out the day - our kids were given water pistols on check in to join the fun straight away. So while our plane arrived too late to head to town, we still got a little of the feel (note also taxis were refusing to drive south from the airport because of a six hour traffic jam, so good spot if you are arriving or leaving around that time next year).
This is perfect for anyone with an early or late flight as close to the airport.
The beach is long (17 kms) and hardly anyone is on it (there are warnings for rips but it was very gentle when we were there).
The happy hour for sunset was generous and the kids eating free made it appealing to eat in the hotel.
If you want to go to town, there is a shuttle but it may take an hour, there is also a shuttle to the big shopping centre. We didn't do either of these but were only 15 mins away from where the boat to the Similan day trip left from, which made a long day shorter for us.
The other marina for Hong Island tours took about 40 mins and the ferry terminal to Phi Phi was an hour.
There are restaurants a short taxi ride away or a little local one you can walk to (literally next door on the beach front). The food in the resort is good and not over priced, so you can eat there too.
The buildings are low rise so you don't feel you're in a big commercial hotel, the gardens are beautiful and fragrant.
I really loved this resort and thought they have really put a lot of thought into what makes a good holiday, and then provide it.
I can't speak highly enough of it. If you don't want to be with the crowds, this is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariadne282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Ariadne282,

It's always a great pleasure to read such a beautiful comment from our guests after their stay.

We are very happy to read that your family have had a great holiday in our peaceful paradise and our little guests have enjoyed the areas which are designed for their own comfort.

The team and I are looking forward to having your family back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
316 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

My family spent 6 nights in this hotel and the experience was good and relaxing, overall the hotel is comfortable, the restaurants offers good cost benefit food and staff is friendly.
As a highlight the staff put a lot of effort to "rescue" my family and two other guests who were trapped in a huge traffic jam due a demonstration, we called and after some time they came up with a solution and we came back safe and sound. This shows that the management really cares about the guests well being, as we were in a bus with families staying in other hotels (5 stars btw) who did not move a finger to help, so their reaction and help is not to be taken for granted.
Only some small remarks why I did not give 5 stars. The staff sometimes has some communication issues, we had minor problems in 3 occasions, my husband birthday surprise, as some misundestanding happened and the cake ended up not arriving as planned(staff and management apologized and even sent a lovely card with happy wishes in our language to our room).
Second issue was asking for advise for the airport transfer, my husband had to ask at least 10 times to be understood.
Last during check out, when I asked why our first meal had a discount and it did not repeat for other meals, I understood it maybe was due to the platinum status. After half an hour and two changes in our bill it was decided the discount was a mistake from the waitress...
Maybe it would be a good idea to have more people fluent in English for these occasions.
Overall the hotel is good, location is lovely, the swimming pool is inviting and has a lovely view of the sunset.
The family suite is great, my kids felt very special in a space really designed for their needs.
Rooms were clean and daily cleaning was ok, once we've found a fork and a spoon in our bathroom... but nothing we could not live with!
I will consider staying there again in the future and would recommend to my friend.

Room Tip: Family suite is great for a family with kids, special features in the room like video games made the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPietscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear TPietscher,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us following your recent stay.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our Family Suite. We appreciate that you have mentioned some areas which we could improve on and it is important in our on-going review's process and training programs.

The team and I are looking forward to having your family back with us on your next holiday in Phuket.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I spent 12 days at this lovely resort with our 4 years old son. We had a fantastic time. The hotel had every thing you wish for regarding facilities for families and kids; staff was very polite and welcoming. Managements have made us so welcome, I am sure we will visit again. Thanks to every body. my special thanks to Mr Harinder who made our stay so welcoming.
Great time we are missing it already.

Room Tip: All the room had a lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Zoya A,

Thank you for your lovely comment about us.

We are very glad to learn that your family have had a great time with us in our peaceful paradise and looking forward to having you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Our family loved this hotel so much, it was very clean. The staff were very friendly.
We had breakfast at J's cafe, the staff AE was so lovely towards my 4 boys. He helped them with carrying breakfast and made them very welcome for the 4 days we stayed.

We booked for a massage everyday and even my three boys had their my first massage.
I had a lady called Kwan to do my massage and it was certainly worth the money.

The kids loved the kids club, every morning they would want to be there for a few hours. TAE was looking after the kids each day and we must admit it was brillant service as they kids were eager to go back once after lunch or any activities we planned for them during the day.

The hotel also took us onto day tours. We went on elephant trekking and the service provided was first class!

We just want to say thank you for the amazing service you have provided for our family of six. We def will come back one day!

pang family room 6413 13-17 april

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PANGS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Pangs_home,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment about us following your recent stay in our peaceful resort.

It's always a great pleasure to read that our guests have had an enjoyable stay with us and our little guests have had a good time in our Kids Club with our friendly team and their first massage at Tea Tree Spa. I will definitely pass your message to Khun Ae, Khun Kwan & Khun Tae who will be very happy to hear from you.

We are looking forward to having you and your family back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed in the kids room with dedicated space for the kids, private corner with their bed, TV and play station. Rooms quite spacious, also a lot of care for the kids, like a support to step and reach the sink.
Kids club is great with a lot of activities an toys.
Food is ok.
Hotel is not near to other cities, shops or night life. A couple of hotels and local souvenir shop / street food restaurant on the side. Great if you look for a quite place, not your choice if you have Patong in your mind.

Room Tip: Family room worth the value
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca294013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Luca294013,

Thank you for your nice comment about us following your recent stay.

We are glad to hear that you have had a memorable time in our peaceful paradise and your kids have enjoyed the activities/facilities which we offer for our little guests.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing