We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the most family-friendly resort in Mai Khao”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We are a family of four with 2 young children and decided to try out this resort to our usual JW Marriott Phuket and were very impressed with it.

What We Liked:
- The large and safe ground with plenty of green spaces and trees which was great for the kids to run freely around.

- The nice beach-front infinity pool with a large kids pool.

- The nice kids club with various activities and other kids facilities such as trampoline, playground and selection of books and DVDs to choose by yourself. You could leave the kids there and come back to pick them up later.

- The entire resort was well maintained and kept clean.

- The good food, especially the Thai choices at the J's restaurant, although at the expected resort prices but not that outrageous compared to other resorts in the same area.

- The nice rooms, especially the ones with the pool access.

- The laid-back family-friendly atmosphere.

- The free wi-fi internet anywhere in the resort.

- The great service from the entire staff.

What We Liked Less:
- The pool-side chair mattresses and towels were old and could do with replacement, especially if the resort has been going through a renovation program.

- The lack of restaurant choices with only two restaurants, although we noticed but did not try restaurants who were next to the resort so this was not a huge deal for us.

Overall, this resort is now one of our favourite resorts in Mai Khao along with JW Marriott Phuket. The latter offers a bit more of an atmosphere, touch of luxury and provides romantic settings but our kids loved Holiday Inn Mai Khao so this was more important for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hippodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear hippodiver,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you have been impressed with the Resort and it is now one of your favorite Resorts.

We are looking at sourcing larger beach towels for the pool and renewing the cushions on the lounges.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon on your next visit to Mai Khao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is our second time here, we stayed here 2 years ago not long after it opened, and the second time was just as good as the first. We stayed 4 nights in a pool access deluxe room, courtesy of IHG membership and an upgrade due to a minor booking mishap that was quickly fixed before we arrived. The rooms are great for families or couples with 2 double beds and plenty of space. The rooms are clean and very well serviced. The gardens are lovely, the pool is terrific, the gym is well stocked, and the beach is the best, there is no rubbish, no one hassling you to buy anything. If you want to party and have load nights and get drunk all the time do not stay here,go to the horrible hole of a place called Patong, the best part of this place is that there is no sleaze and filth or constant hassling you get in Patong. The staff are fantastic, they will do everything they can to be helpful, and they love the kids. The food is great, especially the buffet breakfast. Access to other parts of Phuket is easy with a shuttle bus and all operators will pick you up for tours. The day we arrived was my 40th birthday, and once the checkin staff saw that on my passport the made a fuss about it (which was really nice), i even got a surprise when the the staff brought me a cake and sung to me at the restaurant that evening. We would come back to Thailand just to stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room is good, but a pool access is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Andrew D,
Thank you for your loyalty and for completing a wonderful Trip Advisor review. I am glad to hear you had a lovely birthday and that we were able to exceed your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you again and will continue to make sure every stay is memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Family Suite (Rm 6401) on 6th Dec to 10th Dec.

We were picked up promptly from the airport (thank god I booked the hotel transfer as I have a 19mth old baby and way too many touts at airport) and when we arrived at the reception, was greeted and checked in by Khun Prem. First impression was top notch and he made it very swift and was very service oriented when managing my check in. We were given cold towels and drink too. In my booking I asked for baby cot and was told they ran out and wld try to look for me but I never heard from them after that. Good thing baby slept well on the usual bed

I must also say my thanks to the concierge whom I failed to get his name but I remember seeing a tattoo in his arm. He helped us with our heavy luggage and whenever we came back with shopping bags, always offered to drive us in the buggy and carried our bags to our rooms.

Our room was lovely. I guess it being a family suite some form of wear and tear wld be present and I saw that with some of the kids furniture. Not a big issue anyway. But we loved that they had kids amenities like shower gel, shampoo for kids.

Our room had this sweaty smell and I found it coming from our Aircon in the main room. So I told front desk about it and they sent maintenance over to check but didn't find anything wrong. By morning the stench got stronger and I feedback again and later 2 maintenance guys came to check and fixed something to the Aircon and the smell kinda went away altho not completely but definitely better than the first day.

Kids club - great place for the kids. Altho this hotel is FAR from just about everything (nearest tesco is about 20 mins drive) but it's a great family resort. Very relaxing even tho clientele is mostly Russians. We saw many Singaporeans too.

I also spent 3 days at the fitness centre. I engaged Khun Baw from the activities centre to be my private Muay Thai instructor for THB500++ per lesson and had a fantastic time working out and learning from him! To the GM of Holiday Inn Mai Khao if u are reading this -- Khun Baw is AWESOME!! He deserves a raise! :)

Overall a great family resort. If you don't plan on doing much apart from laze, swim, suntan etc this wld be the resort.


Stayed: December 2013
Thank synkronize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Synkronize,
Thank you for your review on trip advisor.
We are glad to hear that you spent valuable time at the Fitness Centre and loved our amenities for children. It is with great pleasure that we will pass on your comments to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have just stayed here for 2 nights after having been in Patong for 10 nights. Considering we were at Patong I would have appreciated the courtesy bus from the Patong holiday inn to the Mai Khoa holiday inn. They do have a courtesy bus but refused to take us because they said it doesn't allow for luggage. We seen the bus and there would have been plenty of room for our 2 bags. However, we were made to take a taxi (cost 1200 bht) from Patong to Mai Khoa beach.

I'm glade we didn't book any longer at this hotel, as the location is far away from everything (perfect for a couple of days relaxation) but the location and hotel don't offer much more than that. There isn't much of a fun atmosphere here, most guests are Russians and don't like to interact, as a previous review indicated. We came across no other Australians at this hotel.

Pesto restaurant was average, oh and I seen a rat in there which is a turn off! We ordered room service following that and the food from the room service menu is great!

We had a pool access room but only swam in it for 10 mins as the water was cold, it doesn't seem to heat up.

The rooms look nice and are a great size, however the bed is a bit hard, they have a variety of pillows to choose from though.

Tea tree spa is wonderful, very ambient, except the massage therapist kept coughing and sniffing - I hope I dont get sick now! The massage also cost 5 times more than the massages available on the beach, so you have to weigh up whether its worth it.

Breakfast buffet had a good selection, I just didnt enjoy it given there were some rude guests who like to push in and take food from you (eg. At the omelette station, and when taking plates).

The beach chairs need their cushions upgraded as they are all dirty and stained, not very inviting.

Would I stay here again? No.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Melissa, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on trip advisor. You are right when you say we are far from everything else and that we believe is part of the charm of staying in Mai Khao. Mai Khao beach is Phuket’s longest beach and in the national forest, hence great for long walks on the beach without getting disturbed. We have also ensured that pest control has taken the necessary steps in our outdoor restaurant Pesto. As for creating more atmosphere, we are currently in the final stages of creating some fantastic themed night events as well as introducing more activities for guests to enjoy here at the resort in 2014.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Spa, Breakfast and the rooms and once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Outdoor lobby area? What! Really? Gorgeous!! A very nice touch. The reception assigns you a nice person to assist you from start to finish of your stay. They assist with awesome amenities and arrange transportation and fun activities. All the food was delicious especially Pesto. The free wifi worked great. The upgraded room was updated, clean, and comfortable with the step out personal private pool. It simply cannot be topped by anyone! What a perfect and romantic getaway. This location and the landscape is so surreal and beautiful. The outdoor movie night and the beach access with miles and miles of gorgeous skyview was so convenient and made for the best vacation ever. Thanks to the entire hotel staff including the room cleaning staff. You all are the Best! You all Rock!!

Room Tip: Room with Private Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlynPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear FlynPenny,
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are very glad to hear that you loved our resort style, service and facilities especially the food at Pesto and had a relaxing and refreshing getaway.
We look forward to having your stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel was great! The rooms were very clean and well kept. The hotel staff was very helpful with everything from a taxi to the airport and helped with a shuttle bus to Patong. The food was great at both restaurants. The manager Ae was great at Pesto!! Its a great location to relax and the pool and beach is very nice.

Room Tip: Get the KING BED DELUXE POOL ACCESS Room its really nice to relax in the private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mkirk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Mkirk17, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences with us on Trip Advisor. We will enjoy passing on your comments to Khun Ae and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a night while on a layover and was impressed. A top notch resort, with terrific staff and service, reasonably priced (by Australian standards). It's quite a bit out of the way from the hustle of Phuket and fairly isolated. I'm not sure how it would fare for a longer vacation for someone looking for a bit of action, but can see it as a great quiet getaway. Loved the room, a junior suite that was a complimentary upgrade, and especially the shower. Free WiFi too. Yay!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank joeinnyc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear joeinoz, Thank you for your feedback, the resort is away from the hustle and bustle of Phuket and is located on Phuket’s longest beach which makes for a great break from the city for both couples and families. We are look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit, perhaps for a longer time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
12.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $77 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing