We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome staff service!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here from Aug 23 - 25. Right from the start, the staff service had been awesome. We were served by a petite and very courteous and sweet lady staff by the name of Kwan. And assisted by a helpful Jenny.
The stay was hugely enjoyable due to many cheerful staff. For example, we met a relating and cheerful male staff by the name of Ae at the breakfast cafe - JS cafe.
At Pesto and pool bar, we were served by an exuberant and helpful male staff by the name of Joe. The breakfast was brilliant, and the Italian food at Pesto was delicious!
We loved our pool access room. Excellent room, brilliant staff, great place to stay, try it!

Room Tip: If you like a relaxing and laid back vacation at Phuket, you have got to try Holiday Inn Mai Khao!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Queenic,

Thank you for your wonderful comment of our resort. Your compliments give a very high motivation to our team in maintaining the high level of service. We will pass on your compliments to Kwan, Jenny, Ae, Joe, and other team members. They will be delighted with your compliments and feedback. We looking forward to welcome again on your next visit and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    345
    99
    19
    14
See reviews for
452
303
61
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had few expectations from this trip. We wanted somewhere away from Patong with a decent beach. This hotel exceeded our expectations!

We booked a suite with bunk beds. Our 4yo son was thrilled by the bunk bed though he didn't manage to sleep there through any night (he not used to sleeping away from us). He had so much fun at the Kids' Club and pool that he can't seem to have enough. Treatments are reasonably priced at Tea Tree Spa too! My husband tried Thai Massage for the first time and he wants another when we return in November.

My son left his bolster at the hotel. We wanted to forget about it but the hotel emailed us the very next day to ask if they should return it to us via courier. It was so thoughtful of them.

In short, while there are few tiny misses (eg. the poor drainage at the shower on the first day but it was fixed by the next day), we enjoyed our stay and we are looking forward to our return trip in November!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank *patthes*
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear* Patthes*
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. We are so glad that the entire family enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to let all of the team know about your generous comments. In regard to your valued comment of the drainage in shower room, our team is working to fix this problem and hope we could how you the improvement on your next visit. Thank you again for your comments and see you again in November! Please send an email if you need any special arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Plus sides:
- The hotel is clean.
- Staff is friendly.
- Breakfast selection was excellent.
- The kids club is awesome and opens into the evening which is a great plus. The staff is very keen to help and eager to serve the kids.
- The trompoline was my girls' favorite.

Negatives:
- The swimming pool is a bit small. We visited during low-season but found the size just okay. I would imagine that the pool would get rather crowded if the hotel is full.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sylvia,
Thank you for your detailed comments on our resort. It is our great pleasure to welcome you and your family. Your compliments of our team and facilities will be a great motivation to our team to maintain a good level of service. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed with Holiday Inn for 2 nghts (12-14 Aug, 2013). The experience was just awesome. Very nice Property. I booked Pool access Room , which was very nice. very beautiful beach . Breakfast was also was great , Staff of the hotel was very nice courteous (Well Trained Staff). over all a nice property to Just relax and enjoy . Both of there restaurants were also nice. You can also try the small restaurants just outside the hotel...

Room Tip: If you want to relax & stay away from Crowded Patong beach , go with this property. they are awe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GKumar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear GKumar26,
Thank you for your great review of our resort. Our team was delighted to have your positive comments and delighted we were able to create great experience for you. We do hope we could welcome you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a 3-night stay at Holiday Inn Mai Khao. Here's my take:

1) rooms is really good. Do go for the pool access rooms. If its on a non-peak season, the pool is practically all yours. On my last evening. I really enjoyed the clear sky with lots of stays while taking a night dip. Awesome!
There is no tub in the bathroom though but then in place of it was a large shower area.
Oh yes - there is the annoying intermittent flashing light from the smoke alarm.

2) location - yes its far! But then I was not planning to go Patong every night away. Hotel shuttle (one time 50% off) is only good for taking you to Patong. For return, the last pickup is at 5pm which is no good if you are planning to have dinner at Patong. A one way trip by taxi will cost 1000Baht. Do prepare to negotiate with the 'mafias'. They wanted 1300 which I declined.

3) Hotel breakfast - was good with enough change in variety.

4) Island excursion - having been to Phi Phi just two months ago, we took the Krabi/ Hong Island option this time round. Tour was by a company called tourbyu and our guide was called 'Tick'. The cost of this was quite high 3300 Baht but we later found out that it was worth it. Tick does his job well and with much enthusiasm. They loan not only snorkel and mask but also fins.
We took the speed boat from Royal Phuket Marina which was a pretty grand place with all the fancy yachts. Drinks including soft drinks were provided on the board. Lunch was served at Rai Le beach and it was quite good (compared to my previous experience).
The trip included a very nice Hong Island (into the lagoon and on the beach). Just wished we were given more time here. All in all, I would recommend this.

5) Spa - we managed to book a 90m massage on the day itself (again, probably due to non peak season). Cost was 1050baht, a promo rate. Highly recommend this too. While it is cheaper outside the hotel of course, but the experience was different. The masseur skills and experience was evidently different.

6) meals - did not take meals in the hotel restaurant at all so could not comment. Had two dinners at 'Mama restaurant' just outside the hotel. A short 5 min walk (turn right). Served decent local meals and cheap beer. Do try the fried / grilled squid.
Also had dinner at Savoey restaraunt at Patong. was exactly what it is, quite over priced. You get fresh but expensive seafood. There are a few around Patong area though, I am sure there will be other cheaper ones.

7) Fly/ Russians - there were some number of flies around reception area which was not really a big problem but I can imagine it being an unpleasant sight.
Russians - did not spot any. There were some loud large groups from China. I would only say that different people have different cultures and habits. Unfortunately some of them are less considerate and do not think its can be annoying to others by talking loudly and smoking.

To hotel management, thanks for a great stay. Would highly recommend to anyone considering Phuket.
Please consider the following:
1) to have the shuttle bus pick up from Patong back to hotel at a later time, say 9pm.
2) change the smoke alarm to one without the flashing lights
3) consider putting some fly catching device in surrounding areas (I did not see any). Am sure a trap with the right bait would be effective to lure them away from the reception area

Do keep up the great work!

Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e30ygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear e30ygc,
Thank you for your detail review of our resort. We glad that your enjoyed our the breakfast, pool access room, spa treatment and other services. Your feedback was very informative, positive and motivating for the team. Great to have your total experience and share with other guests for the future.
Thank you for your valued comment of smoke detector and additional round of shuttle bus service. The smoke detector is one required under safety guidelines in Thailand and the flashing ensures that it is working. For the flies control in lobby and restaurant, we have in place controls and doing our best to manage this. Thank you once again for your recommendation and we looks forward to having you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Unfortunately we were a couple looking for a weekend getaway. Service is good, staffs' English was easy to understand. Food was good, maybe a bit bland on the Thai Style food, I guess they didn't want to hurt us! Very clean rooms & huge bathroom with separate private toilet area, which is nice in SE Asia where semi private bathrooms are the norm. We had a pool access room which was really neat, until 6:15 am when the neighbors & their children came out for a swim.....very noisily.... Directly in front of our room. Only happened the one morning, so, ok. Mai Khao beach is a long stretch of less densely populated sand & forest. Nice walks, but no swimming in August, probably not for the season, waves are just too big.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear DTatom,
Thank you for your great review of our resort. It is always a pleasure for us to get nice comments and we are really happy that you appreciate our efforts! On the Thai Food we do try to find a balance on taste especially in terms of spice. Delighted you loved your room and the pool access rooms. We are looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A fantastic resort, room was amazing and having your own pool.. Absolutely fabulous. Pool bar was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Bill from the pool bar. He remembered our names and big smiles when he saw us the next day around the pool. Breakfast and dinner were fantastic very high quality, quick and professional service.
check in and out very quick and hassle free. Loved coming back to the room in the afternoon and the housekeeping staff made 2 swans on the bed from towels. Great activities.
Couldn't ask for anything more. Was a perfect stay for us. Keep up the great work guys.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Mark F,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the team were able to create a special memorable experience for you. We have passed on your comments to the team to acknowledge their efforts. We looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
12.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing