We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,183)
Filter reviews
1,183 results
Traveler rating
647
390
105
23
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
390
105
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roomkids suitepesto restaurantkids eat freetea tree spakids clubpool barball pitbunk bedsmai khao beachmovie nightcentral festivalwalk along the beachquiet beachkids menulocal restaurantsthai food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 1,183 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I am still staying at this hotel however I had to write this review right away so I will not forget.

Service is out of this world. We have Been staying at 5 stars hotel during this vacation, but this service beats them all.

We are travelling with a 5 year old and a 2 year old and everyone is so kind. Eventhough There are many guests they still make sure we feel special.

Familysuites are Nice and comfortable and more than enough space.

The staff at the restaurants and pool bars are the people that makes this a Great stay. Especially at J's Cafe. I am a foodie and both Thai and other dishes are Great.

The negatives: here I should start listing things so that I can have this place to myself.

Yes, it is secluded but who cares when You are on vacation with Your kids?

Also, an English teacher myself do not Get how You can complain on staffs English skills. They are by far the best I have encountered here on Phuket.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OsloTraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear OsloTrveler76,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our resort and that you were fully satisfied with our services and facilities. The team takes great pride in offering genuine service and we have a team that does love their jobs. Thank you for the comment on the English ability of the team. No doubt the team makes every effort to converse in their best English. We have English classes ongoing for all team members on all levels and they are also very proud to show off their efforts in building their level of English. Overall, a sincere thank you from the team for the recognition. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed with my family for 5 nights last week. The hotel was very clean and spacious, check-in and welcoming was amazing. We were offered with breakfast with special rate. After our first night, the FOM kindly allowed us a complimentary upgrade to a pool access room. However the only downside was the housekeeping service. There were some days where you wouldnt know that the room was cleaned except for the beds. I had to call the Housekeeping again in the evening for "re-cleaning." Ashtrays were never changed (and this was every night). The room maid Peach was very pleasing and she "re-cleaned" our room with a big smile. I had a bit of a problem with the tour desk however the duty manager Bank resolved it for me and I'm satisfied with his problem resolution skills. Lastly, the staff in general did not speak English very well and I had to ask to be connected to the reception for "translation."

Other than above mentioned points, I had a great stay!

Room Tip: Get a pool access room! If you are planning to go for tours, not a great choice as taxis are very expensive in Phuket. Great choice if you would not go out of Mai Khao area.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoonie129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Vivian Y,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your valued comments are useful for our hotel improvement. At first we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Our team member’s especially frontline staff does take additional English classes to improve their English communication skills. However for the most part we only receive great comments on the ability of the team members. Thank you once again for your valued feedback and we look forward to show our improvement on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our little family stayed at this resort for only 3 days (I so wish it could have been longer). Everything from airport transfer, arrival, check-in to check-out was seamless. Our room was stunning. We booked a family suite, and the the small attention to detail in this room was amazing. They knew we had a little girl, and so her room was made up in beautiful fun pink linens. I loved that they had a small safe step for little ones to reach the bathroom sink (so thoughtful !!), and that there was a special set of cute shampoo, conditioner, soaps, etc all kid themed. We at at two of the Restaurants, both were fantastic, and equally room service was first class. I also enjoyed an amazing spa treatment. Staff at the resort are so happy, and I believe that to be due to their management. I was amazed to be greeted by the Resort's GM one morning at breakfast, which made us feel very special. The Resort's Kids Club is honestly one of the best Ive seen, amazing activities and lovely carers. My daughter definitely did not want to leave. Until next time !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kath086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Kath086,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort! It is always a pleasure for us to get nice comments and we are really happy that you appreciate our efforts! The Family Suites have been extremely popular for both the kids and parents and I am glad you like the small touches. We are blessed with a great team in the resort and they are delighted to have your recognition. We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel is almost faultless!
On our arrival we were greeted by the very kind reception staff who were very efficient at explaining the check-in procedure and the facilities of the hotel.Their English language skills were also very good.
The room was impressive and kept clean by the housekeepers everyday.I like the fact that the hotel is conscious of the environment and that you can choose not to have the bed changed daily.
Toiletries are provided which was a nice touch.The shower was out of this world-a rain shower and the temperature was always perfect.
We always ate at the local restaurants which were so delicious as we thought the hotel food was a little too expensive.MAMAS local restaurant (turn right as you leave the hotel) and is only a very short walk deserves a special mention as the welcome we received and the presentation of the food was done with so much passion.
We visited the SOI DOG FOUNDATION on a regular basis which is run by a British couple who are trying to eliviate the suffering of Phuket's street dogs and putting a stop to the dog meat trade.This is one of the reasons why we booked the Holiday Inn as we knew Soi dog was only a short bike ride away.It is well worth a visit to experience the wonderful work they do.
This hotel is great if you want total relaxation and peace.There is not much going on at night but personally this affirms the calm environment that the grounds aspire to.
The only negative points I can think of is that the beach needs some serious cleaning.All kinds of debris litter the shore from bottles,flip-flops,cigarette lighters etc.I heard that they do clean it but only in peak season but surely if the hotel is conscious of the environment it should be done every single day.
The staff deserve a special mention as they are so kind,caring and considerate and a special mention goes to Ice who works in the restaurant.As we stayed for 13 nights slowly the staff began to know us as I think generally guests stay for a much shorter period.
So in all we had a very relaxing holiday surrounded by efficient and friendly staff.
Thankyou!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gibb067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Gibb067,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Your accolade about our team, service, room and breakfast give us a special motivation to maintain a good and efficiency service. In regards to beach cleanliness, the hotel is very concerned on the public beach cleaning. Our gardener is scheduled to maintain the beach cleanliness daily. Moreover, we do have a cleaning day which our team help clean up the beach once a month to maintain the cleanliness of Mai Khao Beach. However, in monsoon season the rough sea may bring garbage in more often especially as we receive high tide twice a day. Thank you for your valued information we will discuss for the frequency of beach cleaning. Thank you once again for your kind review. Your comments are high valued to the resort and we hope to have a chance to show our improvement on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This trip was arranged specially for my brother-in-law who is planning to propose to his girlfriend. We planned to stay for 3 nights and prior to arrival, we wrote to the hotel’s management and Khun Anutin Kraitong, the hotel’s Director of sales and marketing replied to our email. He helped us tremendously during the reservations of the room to liaising with the F&B director Khun Jamnong for the planning of the proposal and the set-up of the proposal place. They helped us arrange for the bouquet of flowers as well as the cake for both the proposal and the birthday.

The moment we arrived at the resort, the concierge helped us unload the luggage from the rented car and assisted to transport our luggage to our rooms. He gave us a ride to the room as well using the buggy. When we first entered the room, both rooms were adorned with a nice pair of swans that formed a heart shape on the bed. Both rooms had a nice view of the Andaman Sea and we overlooked the swimming pool.

Khun Jamnong also arranged to meet us to discuss the set-up for the following night. He explained what they have in mind for the whole process and asked if there were any additional requests that they can try to accommodate to. We left it all in their good hands and trust them to work their magic for the surprise.

The night came and thank God for the amazing weather and set-up. It looked absolutely breathtaking and they assigned one waiter to our table specially for the whole night. Dinner was prepared by Pesto. The food was very reasonably priced for the quality and highly recommend their pasta and pizza. Khun Jamnong came back specially on a Sunday to ensure that everything was in order and Khun Anutin was also present to greet us. Everything went smoothly and so did the proposal, kudos to the whole team who helped that night.

On the other days, we used the bicycles to cycle around the area and they have complimentary 1-hour cycle for guests. The girls also had a good time jumping on the trampoline.

Absolutely no complaints about the hotel, probably only the distance to the rest of the places, but we rented a car, so that was taken care of. Will definitely return for a visit. Check out the pictures of the proposal set up and the other things mentioned above. Kudos to Khun Anutin, Khun Jamnong, and their whole team for their impeccable service and help for the whole trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Devvic,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. We are very pleased to be a part of your special moment. Khun Anutin, Khun Jamnong and his team try very hard to work out for the preparation of this proposal and we glad to hear you like it. It was also exciting for the team to create this special moment for you and had many other guests wanting the same romantic set up for their dinner! Thank you once again for a chance to part of your special and memorable holiday. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews