We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I returned yesterday from an eight night stay here. I was a single traveller and the staff made me feel very welcome from breakfast to sunbathing round the pool. The fresh coconut juice is to die for. The room was exceptionally clean and quiet something I value very highly in hotels as I travel on holiday on my own all the time. I also judge a hotel on its breakfasts and would have liked to have seen more choice of fresh juices otherwise faultless, hence it just misses out on an excellent rating.

On the beach I felt like "Robinson Crusoe" it was so empty. Lovely beach restaurants hidden in the forest backdrop for my evening meals. No hassle, no intimidation and I felt quite safe walking on my own for miles down the beach. I do hope this part of Phuket does not change. The hotel is low rise and is difficult if not impossible to see from the dusty tracks.

I have returned relaxed and very tanned!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 377Alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for taking to express your satisfaction with your recent holiday.
We strive to always deliver great service. Your comments in regards to choice of fresh juices on the breakfast are appreciates and will be used to ensure this is improve on.
We also glad you did enjoy our Mai Khao Beach, the longest beach in Phuket and part of Sirinart National Park.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel has the most friendly staff we have ever encountered. It has a fabulous selection Thai and international cuisine.
The pool is amazing and the beach has fine sand that fringes a warm sea. We only left the hotel a few weeks ago and we are already planning to go back.
The staff are routinely obliging and have a very happy disposition.
The garden view rooms are well equipped and there is free internet.
We now number many of the restaurant staff among our friends.
Simply put, we can't wait to be back there with our lovely new friends ;-) <3 <3

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveTheRave66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to express your satisfaction with your recent holiday with us.
We pride ourselves in providing our guests with the best experience possible and it is so lovely for all the staff to hear such positive comments. Thank you so much!

Hopefully we could have a chance to welcome you again and will ensure that your next stay will be another memorable one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Families looking for a nice getaway should consider this Holiday Inn, nice and quiet location on Phuket, with new facilities and a wonderful kids club.

Rooms: get the family kids suite, my two little ones absolutely enjoyed their bunk beds and their "private entertainment areas" to watch tv or play video games... Adults get their own space, with nice and comfy bed. Bath room is plenty large. Overall a nice room, but not exquisite. Expect functionality and cleanliness but not classiness.

Kids club is new and activities are plentiful though many are paid activities. Not expensive but after a few days, they do add up. The staff take care of the kids well and the club open till 9pm, which is welcome if adults want a dinner together..

The pool is on the smaller side and some wear and tear can be seen on the wooden decks. Think it is strange for a new property to experience such things but it is nothing some patching will not rectify.

Will I return? Yes but only if its a family holiday. Couples can enjoy better choices in Phuket at the price points.

Room Tip: Kids suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAV3L3R_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

A sincere thank you for your great review of our resort and glad that you were impressed with your stay.
I am delighted you and family enjoyed our Kids suite along with the entertainment – play station and room functional. We have improved our Activity Program to serve the needs of all ages.
We also glad you did enjoy Mai Khao Beach – longest beach in Phuket and part of Sirinart National Park.
I agree the wooden decking is showing wear and tear around the pool and during the winter period we will be working to correct this.
We look forward to welcome you and your family again soon. We will ensure that your next visit will also be impressive!
Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed january 30th to february15th. Although fairly new this hotel blends very well into its rural surroundings and the gardens and grounds seem very well established. The beach is long,wide and steep down to the sea.but lovely sand. The sunbeds on beach are situated under the trees, offering plenty of shade.The pool area is very nice with plenty of sunbeds with parasols.Breakfast offers a wide choice of usual and far eastern fare. All the staff encountered were very pleasant and helpful.The room we had was adequate with a lovely bathroom with seperate toilet. The only concern with the rooms is the total lack of drawers to put ones things in.Housekeeping could not be faulted. If you want nightlife stay away If you want a pleasant restful break GO.

Room Tip: all rooms are not very far from all facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your comment about your satisfactory stay with us. . We are glad you enjoyed our hotel facilities from beach, landscape, pool, breakfast and room.
Please let us know on your return trip if you need anything to enhance your stay. Thank you for the feedback on the drawers and we will see how we can improve this.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just at the pool bar now writing this, our late check out is at 2pm, then off to the airport to start our journey to Abu Dhabi.

We stayed here for 2 nights after touring Bangkok, Patong and Phi Phi Island. Our stay was relaxing and we loved it. There are plenty of activities to do at the hotel if you wanted to but we decided to spend our two days sunbathing and swimming in the sea and wonderful pool.

The food is plentiful and of an excellent standard both at Pesto restaurant and at the buffet and the prices reasonable with last nights buffet being 599tb per adult and kids under 12 eat for free. The poolside bar has happy hour buy one get one free between 5pm and 7 pm so we made sure to get the strawberry daquaries in :).

We tried to book a Thai Massage but unfortunately there was no availability, so we took the opportunity to have a massage on the beach instead which cost 400tb.

The rooms are very modern and extremely well equipped. The shower is amazing, I have taken photos because when I get home I want a shower room just like it!

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

We were surprised at how quiet the hotel is during the evening and fealt that it was a shame the bar area isn't better used by guests at night.

The outdoor cinema is excellent with huge comfy beds to use while enjoying a movie.

If we visit Thailand and Phuket again then I would come back to this great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomjm79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review you recent stayed with us. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel facilities from beach, activities, restaurants and our rooms.

The kids eat free policy is a great offer and also happy hours buy one and get one free. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of and enjoyed all of this.

With reasonable priced spa and well trained therapists– Tree Tea Spa is a very popular venue. Bookings in advance is required, so just send the e-mail before your arrival we are sure that you will be impressed and enjoy the treatments.

If you return to Phuket again, we hope you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Sadly it can be 100/100 without the issue of flies. Is there no posible way to eliminate at the min. reduce the #? Rest of the hotel is perfect for anyone esp family. Great thoughtful events, facilities, classes, things to do. Not grand but all great. Would not come back unless mgmt do sth about the flies

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stTimeRailTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for taking time to post a review. It really is nice to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us.
Your comments in regards to flies we are working reduce the flies around the resort. We have taken immediate steps to further control and ultimately eradicate flies, by intensifying our integrated Pest Management practices. However after the sun set our resort is free of fries.
We are sure you will enjoy our resort when you visit us next time.

Once again thank you so much for your valuable feedbacks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked this holiday through Travelounge, Borrowash, Derby.
My wife has had a new knee replacement operation and needs wheel chair assistance for traversing the long distances at Airports etc.
Travelounge arranged all this for us, liaised with Kuoni and so eliminating any hassle factor.
The hotel is new (about 18 months old) and has large, pleasant and airy rooms. The only down side is a lack of bedside drawers.
There are two main blocks, the north side and south side wings. Both of which have lifts to the upper floors (as well as stairs).
The staff are exceptional, nothing is too much trouble. Their kindness and care surpassed all expectations, a buggy was available on request to transport my wife and self to and from the restaurant and lobby.
The resort is of a high standard and the cleanliness and overall "feel" are of matching quality. Facilities (and games areas) are available for both adults and children.

Dining: The breakfasts are outstanding and have to be experienced to believe. There is a full varied and extensive menu.
The two restaurants have theme nights with a' la cart always available. They do seem expensive due to the ++, which is 10% service charge plus 7% Government tax. (My understanding is that the service charge is shared with all staff).
There are some small family run 'restaurants' about 7 or 8 minutes walk away on exiting the hotel grounds. These have a much less extensive menu but are cheap and cheerful. We tried some but after an upset tummy ate at the hotel.
Beach Side: The beach is sandy but slopes quite steeply to the sea.
The hotel grounds beach side have many sun beds under shady trees, there is also a substantial swimming pool and Pool Bar (Happy hour 5pm to 7pm).
The grounds are kept immaculate by the busy gardening staff, and the friendly General Manager (Simon Morley) and chats with guests.
Would we come again? Most definitely - assuming no great increase in price (?there may be special offers available).

Room Tip: High rooms are quieter and over the pool is more interesting view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank relaxezvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Relaxezvous,
Thank you so much for your great review and feedback about our resort and team. It was a pleasure to meet you both and thanks for the great chats. Your valued feedback of bedside drawers will be great point to improve the comfort in our guest room. The team at the resort are always willing to go the extra mile and certainly wanted to make sure you could enjoy the full resort even with your injury. Glad we could help and ensure you had a great experience. Thank you again and of course get in touch with me so we can make sure you have a special return guest rate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
12.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
23.1 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#9 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,249 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $97 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing