We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family resort......But the Flies are terrible.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Family resort......But the Flies are terrible.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The good.
Great Family resort. Plenty of activities. Great pool. Quiet and peaceful.

The bad.
flies. Flies at breakfast some days. Not every day mind you. Flies at the pool after four P.M. We had a lunch at the pool restaurant and had to leave there were so many flies. My wife found out that the reason for the flies is that there is a chicken farm nearby. While the chicken served in the restaurants was great, there are just too many flies.

Sorry but I could not return to this resort due to the fly problem. Everything else about the resort is top notch. So if you do not mind the flies then by all means go for it.

We stayed for a week and did rent a car. We had a great time exploring Phuket by car and eating dinner at outside restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantilever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Cantilever & Family, Thank you very much for staying at the resort and also for taking the time to write some feedback on the resort. I can only so that the fly issue that occured for around a week over the new year has finished. I understand it was an issue and I sincerely apologise for this. We have increased the amount of spraying and deterrents used in and around the resort and we have succeeded in all but eliminating the flies. Glad otherwise you thought the resort was awesome and really do hope you change you mind and consider returning. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    345
    99
    19
    14
See reviews for
452
303
61
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with our 18 month old child - we were fortunate to be upgraded to one of the rooms that accessed a swimming pool from the balcony. Of course we had to be very careful with a young child in a room such as this, but our little water baby loved it. We did not leave the resort all weekend - there was enough there to keep us entertained, and having visited Phuket before we didn't feel the need to go exploring and were happy to just relax. The resort offers a nice swimming pool with good sized kids pool, excellent and fully supervised kids club. The hotel offers loads of free activities such as movies in the gardens, scuba diving lessons, volleyball and soccer games. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. The beach that this hotel is located on is very clean and quiet - probably not the place to stay if you are looking for a party atmosphere like you would find in Patong. If you want things to do outside of the hotel it is a bit of trip into Phuket town or Patong, but transport was easy to come by. My only disappointment was with the spa who refused me a pre-natal massage even though their spa menu offers it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLM81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Christylee, On behalf of the team we thank you very much for your detailed review and so happy that you had a great stay. The pool access rooms are fantastic and glad you enjoyed it. Agree this is not the party place and really perfect for those looking for quiet time, family time and just want to relax and use the many facilities within the resort. I have discussed with the Spa Manager about the pre-natal massage. We of course try to be as sensitive to guests requests and do state in our Spa Menu that we do not recommend a pre-natal massage for the first trimester of a pregnancy. The Spa Manager was told by her team that you were in the 3rd month and this is why they declined the booking. If this was not the case then our team misunderstood and I apologize for this case. We of course never want to refuse business as even the therapists benefit from each treatment they do. Again we are very sorry for any misunderstanding. In any case I really am thankful you had a great stay and do hope that you return soon. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Isolated but great if u want to just relax with the kids and not do much. We got an extra fold out bed in our room which was hard as a rock, would recommend having 2 doubles if need more beds. Requested more blankets to help to soften the bed but apparently there weren't any, hmmm found that interesting. Service at the swim up pool and bar was very slow.
Everyone was nice and polite but didn't had the personal feel of other resorts. Great kids activities and the pool is amazing!!!!!
Food okay price however not many options of places to eat because of being isolated. Great and cheap little place to eat next door. Spa very over priced but massage lady's on beach good value

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rokama01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Rokama01, Thanks for the review of the resort and overall thank you for the kind comments and glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We have taken note of your feedback and will use your points to continue to improve. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I visited the Mai Khao Holiday Inn for a week to see in the new year. At first I was a little tentative as my memory of Phuket is one of crowed beaches, partying, etc. However, this place (which has only been open for 18 months) is on a semi deserted 12km beach, northern Phuket, just 20 mins from the airport. Stunning! We got off to a bad start, as the hotel forgot to pick us up at the airport and they werent great about taking the blame. However, the hotel is lovely and most of staff are very helpful, although there English is not great (particularly at the reception), but they try their best with a smile. Our family room was excellent. The beach and pool are clean and you could always get a spot without having to put your towel out at 8am. The hotel was mainly populated by Russians, which was a surprise to me and they monopolised the New Year's party a bit. If you walk 50m up the beach, there is a great little local restaurant, which is much cheaper than the hotel food. Although Under 12s do eat for free in the buffet restaurant of the hotel, which is a great deal. My wife and daughters did the Spa, which they were very happy with apart from the booking arrangements which they messed up. All in all, a great spot, if slightly badly organised (but well meaning) staff, but well worth the stay and we would cetainly return

Room Tip: All rooms seemed good to us. if we hadnt taken a family room we would certainly have gone for one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Andy & Family, Thank you for creating a review of the resort and also it was a pleasure to meet your family during your stay and discuss the many great things about the resort and of course areas to improve. Your feedback was fantastic and a delight to spend time looking at many points through the guests eyes. Sorry again about the airport pick up. This was an error on our behalf and we have ensured this would not happen again. The team has a great deal of energy and pride to take care of the guests and I can assure you we continue to get better and better and certain the next time you return we will exceed all of your expectations. Thank you again and wish you all a wonderful 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwon, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 7 nights with 2 kids.

Except for flies, this resort deserves 4-star. Like other review below, flies in the pool were very dreadful. If you have some snacks on the sunbed, you will meet more than 100 flies continously trying to land you body and food.

But, others are good. Breakfast is good, especially waffle. like other good resort, you can order free iced americano, cappuccino and so on.

Kids club is great, my two son really loved playing there. Also, staff here also very friendly.

Pool itself is great, big enough to swim, and beach is very private like other mai khao based resorts.

We stayed at the pool access room located in left-side wing from the lobby. (Room number starts with 7- or 8-) But, we were not able to swim here because of low water temperature. There is no sunshine to this pool at all. So, I recommend to stay opposite side wing if you want a pool access room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seokii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Seokii, Thank you very much for review of the resort. It seemed that overall you had a wonderful stay in the resort and enjoyed many of the amenities and facilities however I understand the issue with the fly's were a problem. As mentioned on a few responses recently we agree recently there were a lot of flies in and around the resort and in Mai Khao area. We have brought in additional pest control to assist and can confirm 100% that the flies are all but non-existant at this time. The weather along with the other factors contribute to the flies but we have been working closely within the local community to rectify this long term. Again I am delighted you had a great stay but truely sorry for the issues of the flies. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This holiday at Holiday Inn Mai Khao Beach was by far the poorest expierence since many years for us. We spent New Years Eve over there and the arrangements for the New Year Eve dinner were not well organized, the food just average and the price beyond any reasonable threshold. A lot of garbage was around the resort and nobody was cleaning it up. This was for all the time we spent there. No wonder that the place was occupied by many flies. The staff was friendly but not efficiently managed. We never saw any manager taking care of the hotel guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 847Andreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Andreas from Singapore, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a report and I am very sorry that your experience at the resort did not meet your expectations. I wish I had an opportunity to meet you during your stay to discuss the issues but I assume you were quiet busy. We have a team of eight gardeners and they spend a lot of time cleaning up rubbish and keeping the gardens well maintained and cleaned. As we had over 500 guests during the period of your stay we did our best to clean up as often as possible but understand at times something may have been left for a little time. We have discussed this point in order to improve this. Our management team is always working within the operation, with managers in all restaurants, front desk, activities as guest facing areas. If you are referring to non-thai management it is only myself, our guest relations manager who sits outside in the lobby all day and the executive chef. All three of us meet guests all day and everyday. Again I am sorry I did not get to meet you.
Lastly the New Years Eve event. I am certainly sorry that it did not meet your expectations. 300 guests joined the event and we have recieved wonderful feedback for the most part. I agree that there was some organization issues at the beginning when we sat guests at tables as this took some time. However value for money we were by far one of the cheapest on the island of Phuket. We only charged 2,950. Please see other prices of NYE events at other resorts in our area or similar type of resort - JW Marriott 7,999, Renaissance 7,500, Dusit Thani 9,800, Crowne Plaza 6,500 Radisson 6,300, Hilton Double Tree 4,500, Movinpick Karon 7,800, Hilton Acadia 5,800, Swissotel Phuket 4,500 Novotel Phuket 4,500
We provided a games temple fair in the early evening, an enourmous buffet with over 80 choices, 3 complimentary drinks, a thai dance show, a fire dancing show, and a live band all evening. I also believe we could have improved the period of time when the DJ was playing music. For about 20 minutes it did not match to the guests taste.
Again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and wish I could have assisted to make it memorable. All the best in 2013. Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Exactly as I would expect from a Holiday Inn in Asia. Clean and comfortable, well designed if lacking in character. The staff made every effort to go the extra mile. The assistant F&B manager (Kanithorn? sp?) was extremely helpful arranging a table for our Christmas Eve dinner. The GM and breakfast staff made an effort to remember names, when travelling with children that makes a difference.
The beach is not ideal for children - large rollers & steep entrance - but there is a good pool and kids club.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singasyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Singasyr, Warm Greetings from Phuket. Thank you very much for the review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the resort. The team enjoys remembering guests names and loves kids so I believe this make a great impression and we are glad this was the case with you. All the best for 2013 and we hope you pop up from Singapore for a return to the resort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
12.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,054 reviews
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing