We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great facilities and friendly staff”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As a family with three children - 5 and 3 years, and 6 months respectively - this hotel seemed to match our needs perfectly, and we were not at all disappointed. The facilities were very good - clean and modern and our kids suite room was great. Our two older children were thrilled to have their own bunk bed, tv and games console, in their own completely separate room! The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make us feel welcome and assist with anything. Tasty pizzas from the poolside bar/restaurant and a good selection of food from the breakfast buffet. A great multi-level pool, perfect for all ages, including our little 6 month old girl who really enjoyed splashing around in there. They also have a medical centre onsite with a nurse who can give basic treatment and point you towards a doctor if necessary. Really clean beach and a gently lapping ocean right next to the hotel. We will be going again!

Room Tip: If you have young children, book the room with the kids suite. They will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-T-online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Steve & Family, Thank you for taking the time to do a review of the resort and on behalf of the team we are so happy you had a wonderful stay. The Kids Suites are so much fun and give both parents and kids some privacy yet still a chance for everyone to enjoy. Our team work hard to ensure everyone is happy and glad we were able to meet all of your needs. As KL is not far away we hope that we see you all in 2013! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    344
    99
    19
    14
See reviews for
449
303
61
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our family stayed there on October 2012. The hotel was really nice. Staff were very friendly. Size of room & size of bed are bigger than many hotels with the same price. My little nephew loved their small Kid club. When our holiday ended, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Nonasia,

Thank you for your great comments on our resort, the kids club and team members. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed in the hotel with my 2-yr-old boy for 3 nights.  The hotel was only 15 mins from the airport, right on a decent beach, had a good spa, a kid's club and very affordable babysitting service (200Baht per hour for one child), it seemed to be a good choice when one traveled alone with a baby.  They have a DVD player in the room and I brought my child's favorite movies with me. They also had a good selection of DVDs that you can borrow. The down side was that there were only two restaurants in the hotel and not much around in the area, so you got bored after a few days even though the food was pretty decent.  There were, however, a lot of flies in the restaurants and I was hoping my child would not got sick from the food.  Also the smoke sensor on the ceiling kept blinking in the dark and that disturbed our sleep. The lights in the bathroom was rather dim too.

The taxi ride to the airport cost 600 Baht. We hired a taxi to go to Central Festival for 1600Baht. The taxi could wait for 3 hours for you.  You can also take the hotel shuttle to go downtown. 

Overall I had a good stay there and would recommend the hotel. 

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Ashlee, Thanks for the review of the resort and overall I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We do have an abundance of activities in the resort and hope they keep most people busy but understand that there could be even more options. As for the flies we 100% acknowledge this as an issue and we are doing everything in our power to rid the resort of flies. This is an issue to all of Mai Khao and not just us. However in recent weeks we have seen very few around the resort. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presov, Slovakia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We wanted quiet location - not Patong, Karon or Kata. Looked for new Pullman, which is still not open or any hotel in Surin - they were fully booked, or Crowne Plaza - impossible to swim in sea, so selected this one after good reviews. Shame.
Location:
We knew hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so if you want go outside fir dinner/shopping it takes 1 hour to Phuket town or Patong area and it will cost you 1800 tbh return. Airport is only 15 min. and again overpriced taxi cost 600 tbh one way...
Service:
Check-in process was terrible as i did not understand almost anything of thai english of lady who checked us. In next i realized it is a major problem of resort - english. Check-out again slow, i asked for fitting room and shower night before check-out when i paid my bill. During check-out no one could tell me where can we have a shower and change swimsuit and go away. So we had shower on beach and change clothes at toilets..
Dinning:
We came here in evening so 1st night we tried Pesto on the beach - empty restaurant, noise music, bored staff, overpriced and limited for vegetarians.
Breakfast - expect crowds of russians and Chinese indoor, or terrace sitting outside - only 9 tables for such a big resort! Plus flies everywhere all over terrace. Selection of food - no fresh juices, in tropical country?, only 1 kind of non sweet cereals, any soya milk, good choice of vegetables and fruits... that's all what you can eat if you are veggie. For rest - egg station, choice of thai breakfast food, choice of west lunch/dinner food: rice, meat, meatballs - maybe rest from previous dinner buffet.
Big plus - you can have espresso or any other coffees from machine for breakfast, not just awful american breakfast coffee.
Good ice coffee for take away in resort deli - but again, no soya options..
Tried some cocktails for happy hour - horrible taste and quality.
I have to pick up nice cooks at restaurant, and extremely nice and the most professional guy - F&B assistant.
If you are looking for thai cuisine go outside: on right (north) you find 3 restaurants, on left you find another 4 restaurants (on main road, next to resort). We love the last one - best fish in garlic ever! Tried cocktails mixed with fresh fruit, awesome.
Resort:
Resort itself is nice, it has wow factor thanks to beautiful garden, very nice garden and pool area. Rooms are spacious, well equipped, except almost none place for clothes in wardrobe. If you except relax do not ask for room near pool - noisy every night due to "live music" plus mix it with music from movie which is played in garden - impossible to be in room, even with closed terrace door! Poor cleaning service in rooms.
Live music in Pesto restaurants - starts at 6 pm and finish aprox. at 9 pm - something horrible, lady tries to sing all you can imagine, but it is really very bad performance, and noisy. After few days you will know which song is going to be next, as they do it same every night..
Most of guests come from Russia - you know what does it mean..., plus lot of noisy asian groups and really few german speaking.
Beach:
Mai Khao is beautiful beach for those who like walking and can swim in rough sea. Hotel beach is small - all sun beds are under trees, one next to other, any privacy. Russians reserve their sun beds early in the morning, when i asked at reception if they have sun bed policy, they even understand what does it mean...
Do not leave your sun bed without somebody looking at or after swimming in sea you will find your things on sand and sun bed away. You can not put sun bed out of shade, they will not let you do it, why? answer is: "national park". Again, do not try ask anybody at reception, you will not get answer. There are beach/pool boys but they do not do anything during all day long, beach is getting more dirty, full trash baskets and sea - looks clear, but after swimming look at your shoes or white swim suit - black oil or whatever it is...
After having great time in Bangkok and Khao Lak it was really disappointing end of 3 weeks in Thailand.
Overall it is beautiful resort with poor services, lack of any thai atmosphere. Resort like this could be anywhere else in Mexico, Cuba or Spain ..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterSK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for writing a review on the resort and we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations. If you do not mind I wll try to answer some of your points.

As you mentioned we are away from the other crowded beaches of Phuket so yes we are somewhat isolated and due to the distance prices for taxi are not as low as driving shorter distances in the south of the island. However 1800 baht return from the resort to Patong includes 3 hours waiting time and around 2 hour of driving back and forth.

I am sorry to hear there were issues with the check in and check out. Our team is constantly trying to improve and agree we have to ensure a better experience and better communication. As for a showering facility we do our best to offer a room for guests to use or a spa room but during the day of your check out the resort was full. I am sorry.

In terms of the food & beverage comments I need to clarify a few points. Pesto Restaurant on the beachfront recieves wonderful comments for the food and is an Italian and Seafood Restaurant. Correct there is limited vegetarian options but if requested we can certainly arrange a dish to your liking. Breakfast is always extremely popular in the resort and we have a huge selection of foods. Cereals we have everyday a meusli, wheat bix, cornflakes all of which are not sweet. We serve two fresh juices everyday. We offer three options of milks, full cream, low fat and yogurt milk. And no we do not use left overs from the previous night. Also on the terrace of J Restaurant there is 12 tables offering seating 38 people. As for Soya options I appreceate your advice and we will certainly make sure in the future it is available.

Thank you for the positive comments about the resort, the gardens, the rooms and the many facilities. Delighted you enjoyed this aspect of the resort.

Movie night is two nights a week and I will make sure if it is too loud we will have it turned down however it finishes by 930pm-1000pm. Sorry to hear you did not like the band. I agree at times they have much opportunity to improve and no need to shout the song at times. I have spoken to them to improve as they are amazing on their instruements.
Over the Christmas and New Year we had 25 nationalities in the resort and we welcome everyone. Yes there are some nationalities more than others but in this day and age we all understand that every culture is different.

Overall I am again sorry we did not meet your expectations. You will be pleased to know we have spent considerable time reviewing your comments and hope we are working towards some areas we agree can be improved.

Thank you and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellent resort !!!!
Thats the very easiest way to describe the facilities and the service provided by the staff at the resort.
The resort is very near to Phuket Internation airport but far away from the city, but well connected by taxis and other transport means. The hotel staff is very helpful and often go beyond their limit to help the guest, we were very pampered and the food in the restaurants is simply great.
We prefered to stay in a resort with its own private beach and hence had selected this property. They also have a kids playgym with lots of activities which my kid enjoyed and we also had a good session at the spa.

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor have pools attatched with them, so family with small kids need to be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amitabh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Amitabh_B, Thank you for the fantastic review and over the moon that you and your family had a great vacation with us. Our location is perfect from the airport and on a beautiful secluded beach. Great spot for a family to enjoy time together and truely relax. Our team do take a lot of pride in taking care of our guests and although we are not perfect and always improving they were very happy to see your praise so thank you very much. Happy New Year and hope you all can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Kid's Club is a heaven sent especially if you travelling with young children. There are activities for adults and kids every hour. My wife and I can leave my children at the club and have time to ourselves at the pool or the beach. Nice rooms and my kids love the bunk beds. The hotel is far away from Patong therefore if you want a buzzing atmosphere, this is not the hotel to go. Dinner during Friday night is not as good as the breakfast though in terms of variety. I would think that if they have BBQ at night at the poolside or beachfront it would be great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Edward, Thank you for taking the time to do a review of the resort. I am delighted that your family had a nice stay and that the kids had a lot of fun in the Kids Club. You stayed in a Kid's Suite which is highly recommended for families and lots of fun for the Kids. As for the bbq on the beach we have started now fresh seafood stand which will be BBQ at your request. We hope that assists. Thank you again and we hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here 1 night in early December with family (2 adults+2 kids). Booked the room using Priority Club (PC) points and was upgraded to a Junior Suite. Since I was travelling with kids, the hotel staff during check-in was kind enough to assign me with a room close to the kids club. The kids club in this hotel is well stocked and sufficient. Since this hotel is quite far away from anywhere, we had our meals in the hotel. At the main cafe where we had our dinner, kids eat free as long as adults pay for the meal. The only darwback during the dinner is that they did not provide drinking water and we had to order 2 botttle of mineral waters. Usually when you eat in most hotels, they would provide free water for drinking. This hotel is nearer to the airport around 20 minutes but if you want to journey out to town or other places of night life, then the taxi rate are quite expensive. A single trip to Phuket town will draw you back by around 900Bhat. The room was quite simple, modern and nice. The bathroom is quite huge especially the shower area. Can fit around 10 people inside there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SengKwong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear SengKwong, Thanks for the report. Although just one day I am glad your entire family was able to have a nice relaxing stay and the kids got to enjoy the kids club. Sorry about the water. I have briefed the team and believe there was a miscommunication as we offer filtered water complimentary and paid bottled water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
23.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing