We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to relax on secluded beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to relax on secluded beach”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This resort is located on an isolated stretch of beautiful beach. The water is crystal clear and most of our 7 days we were one of literally a few on the beach. Mornings on the beach are sensational, swimming in clear, calm water with no one else around. Heaven! Pool access rooms are worth the extra as nothing beats a cocktail sitting by your own pool and having a dip at your leisure. Each pool has about 6 rooms leading onto them, however they are still relatively private. Food is a little disappointing however there are a couple of VERY local cafes/restaurants close by which serve very cheap and very nice Thai food. Take some aeroguard as flys can be annoying at some times. Service is outstanding in all areas. Grounds are perfectly manicured and resort is spotlessly maintained.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are worth the extra money. Especially if you are a couple. If travelling with frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreadingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Global Explorer, Thank you very much for the review and glad you had an enjoyable stay. The Mai Khao Beach is one of the last open national park beaches on the island that has not been commercialised and is a wonderful part of the island. Also great you enjoyed the pool access rooms. Perfect for a couple who want to have that great feeling of steppng off your balcony straight into a pool. Hope you return soon! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    351
    99
    19
    16
See reviews for
462
305
61
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just stayed 3 nights at this wonderful resort. To put my comments into perspective I'll give you some background...
Our first four nights in Phuket were spent at the JW Marriott Mai Khao, just along the beach from the HI. We loved it there, everything was exceptional. We then transferred down to the Centara at Karon Beach which we LOATHED - we spent our first afternoon there plotting how to get out the next day. The Marriott that we loved couldn't take us for another 3 nights so we looked at the HI and I'm REALLY glad we stayed there.
As is often pointed out, Mai Khao beach is very isolated so if you want the hustle and bustle of Phuket towns this is possibly not the place for you (although they do offer shuttles into Phuket Town and Patong). As the resort is isolated you really do rely on the on-site restaurants which are GREAT but could get a little monotonous if you stayed for longer than a few days.
That being said, the resort itself and particularly the staff are fantastic. Real, genuine warmth - particularly with our two girls aged 9 & 11. The breakfast is exceptional - good coffee, lots of options, really impressive.
The kids club was also great - I thought our girls might be a little old for "kids club" but they LOVED it and the staff were really engaging and encouraged them to stay and hang out and join activities as and when they wanted to. Big thank-you to Jee as the girls really loved her.
The pool is great - our girls would have LOVED a slide but still had a great time - there is nothing like a pool to bring kids together with others and they quickly found friends! The resort is super friendly and this seemed to rub off on the guests - they all seemed lovely and treated the staff with the respect they deserve.
The room was very clean and modern and family friendly and we loved being on the ground floor right next to the pool - fab spot.
The resort also has an excellent library of DVDs, books and board games in an area close to a deli that also has a pool table and foosball - great for rainy afternoons where you just want to hang out with your kids somewhere other than the pool.
I can't praise this resort enough - if you are just looking to come to Phuket to really relax and recharge your batteries in a resort that is very family friendly you really can't go past this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SydneyJennW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
SydneyJennW, Firstly we are so happy that fate brought you to our resort and so glad that the entire family enjoyed the time here. It sounds as though the kids loved the Kid's Club, the team there and so happy our team took care of your all. We really try to create a fun, warm and family environment for everyone. We hope when you return next time you spend a few more days with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Cannot fault the hotel (besides the lack of ramps for pushchairs), it is spotlessly clean (still new), all the facilities and beach are good and the staff very friendly (can someone be overly friendly?).

The family suite was perfect for our needs, very spacious and well thought out, overall the rooms were top notch - however the green flashing light on the smoke detectors was annoying and the airconditioning units loud.

The only slight negative is that the hotel is somewhat isolated and a 30/40mins cab ride is needed to see the island's attractions, sitting by the pool everyday is unfotunately not an option. The waterpark is nearby - but this is ok at best.

Furthermore there are no alternative restaurants in the vacinity - so if like us you have small kids who operate to a tight eat/bath/bed schedule the hotel restaurant is the only option - which is very nice but can become a little monotonous towards the end of a week (the kids menu could offer more healthy alternatives).

Dont come expecting the Ritz - this is very well priced hotel which goes the extra mile - and best of all is very well priced.

Would definately return - but would probably mix it up with an alternative hotel for the 2nd half of the week.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarpSex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear EarpSex, Thank you for the review of the resort and your excellent feedback. Very happy to see where we can look at imporvements so we can imporve everyone experience. The family Suites are one of our iconic rooms and glad it was the perfect fit for you and your family. Ramps, I agree 100% that we have to imporve this and in the last month we have made a ramp from the lobby into the gardens, a ramp from the lobby to the south wing, and under construction to complete early december a ramp from the back door of J's Restaurant into the north building where are the kids and family suites are. We also hope to complete a ramp in front of the kids club into the garden. The resort is located in Mai Khao and is directly on a National Park. I agree that it is away from town and hope that when guests choose to stay here for the tranquel environment. There is now about 4 restaurants, all located right next to the hotel in the south and then restaurants in the three hotels / accomodations to the north along the beach. Understand that other areas have a lot more options but hope this change will satisfy most.
Thanks again for a really great report with excellent feedback. We are working to make sure we continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to simply relax, then this resort has it all. Located right on the beach front, 15 minutes from the airport (so no lengthy ride after your flight) and surrounded by tropical gardens - you couldn't not ask for anything else. The resort is only 1 year old and the rooms are super huge. Layout is fantastic - plenty of room for families to unwind and kids to have fun and be kept busy with the kids activities whilst mum and dad can sit by the pol or beach and just chill. For couples also it is sensational. I stayed with my partner and not for a moment were we disturbed by kids running around as the resort is so spaciously set out. Either grab a lounge chair at the pool or one under the palm trees facing out to the Andaman Sea - and you could be a thousand miles away! Price is great too - menus are very reasonable. A great day spa offers really affordable treatments so you can visit more than once! So all in all a really fun, relaxing and affordable resort to plan your next holiday!

Room Tip: Book a pool access room - and walk out from your balcony into a private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakepb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Global Citizen, Thanks for the write up and so happy that you and your partner had a wonderful stay. Sounds as though you got a lot of relaxation time in and got to enjoy our signature Spa. If your travels bring you back to Phuket soon, please come and stay again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Get off the plane in Phuket ... drive 15 minutes in a taxi or resort limo and u arrive in heaven. There is no place that compares to this establishment. The accommodation for families is impressive and if u want to do both, like us, take your kids AND have romance as well.

i have stayed at ritzy places in Thailand, willing to pay the price, if they can deliver, and been disappointed and ready to start my search for my new Fiji in the Philippines I am the queen of tropical relaxing holidays and this place is a stand out. After traveling for 4 weeks visiting 12 resorts in a desperate search for my replacement Fiji I finally found Nirvana.

I stumbled into this resort from the beach and within minutes had packed up my gear from next door and stayed one entire day which ended my holiday on a huge high. We had just returned from Phi Phi early because the island just made me angry. i mean, u pay a fortune for poor service and to be eaten alive by mossies...DO NOT GO ISLANDS. i have never bad mouthed a place on trip advisor but when u compare the prices and compare the service and accommodation I cannot ...not share. Holiday Inn's standards were a beacon in the fog. The standard of service is 6 star quality with a family flavour at a price that will astound you. The pool is fun, staff friendly and accommodating, the rooms are tasteful, the patio areas, that are steps away from the pool if u choose, are spacious, luxurious and relaxing. We networked like Newyorkers, unintentionally, but everybody from couples to families were just so relaxed and happy it was impossible not to swim up to the bar and share happy hours... Cheap beers and massages are available from the locals if u want to save money but the resort has reasonably priced food that is divine and the breakfast cannot be missed.

You can send the wives and daughters on shopping trips to Phuket while u melt into Utopia and when they return with smiles they will be equally keen for the atmosphere of calm glam folksiness this place embalms u in. The price via the internet is ridiculously cheap, but it is a new place so get there now before they realise they are number 1.

Room Tip: we chose to be close to the pool and beach and bar and restaurants, the only walk was to breakfast a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank massaratti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Massaratti, Thank you for the most wonderful review and I can assure you the team loved having you all here and look forward to having you back. We try to ensure that there is plenty of activities for everyone to do at great prices and great quality. I was so pleased to read how everything worked out so well for you and honoured that after you have visited so many resorts we are your no.1 choice. Thank you again and on behalf of the team excited to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a six night stay at this hotel and we had a wonderful time here. The staff were very helpful and caring. They were very much eager to make our stay comfortable. Starting from checkin to checkout everthing was smooth. The housekeeping staff were doing a gr8 job. They have a childrens play area where they had two staffs to take care of the children. They had a lot of activities for the children.
The food at the restaurants were good. We couldnt enjoy at the sea 'cos it was too rough through out our stay.
The Spa people were very professional and they knew the perfect treatment for each person.

The downside of the hotel is:
1. The taxi mafia outside the hotel..they dont allow any taxis apart from theirs to pick u up. And they charged u a very high price for each trip.
2. There was too much of pork dishes than any other. Due to which I had to resort to eggs and vegetables alone.
3. The location of the hotel is in a remote place.
But it was still a superb resort overall.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, no A/c noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohammedSayeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Sayeed, Thank you so much for choosing our resort to stay with your family. Overall by your report you and the family had a wonderful stay and we are glad that the kids really enjoyed the kids club and the parents enjoyed the Spa! A perfect combination to keep everyone satisfied.
Sorry about the issue with the taxis. We understand that in comparison to Bangkok the prices are higher but within Phuket you are paying the same. The local taxis in front of our resort do maintain their cars and overall do provide excellent service.
We do try to create a variety of dishes on the menu for all travelers needs. When you return please let us know in advance and the chef will certainly assist with any requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had never stayed at Holiday Inn or been to Phuket, so we where so lucky to have made the choice to come and stay with Holiday Inn Resort Mai Khoa, We are a family of 4 and we where looked after like VIPs, and our children also, nothing was to much trouble they always had a helping hand for you and kept our children entertained, the Kids Club was great, we have never used one before but Nin,Tae,and Maeow, are all wonderful ladies with great programs for the kids. The grounds are kept beautiful,so are all the rooms,I cant fault our experience.
We didn't know Mai Khoa was a very quite spot so you will have to drive to see the sights, but they have plenty of transport to help with that,but for a quite relaxing holiday with no hustle and bussle it is the perfect area for this.Keep up the excellent service and keep smiling.See you all in Dec.

Room Tip: We had a family room it is perfect for the ages of our kids and asking for a cot was no touble eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stapo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Stapo, Thank you for the great report and so happy that the entire family had a great stay. We are in a great location for the perfect family holiday and the kids club as you mentioned has a wonderful team who love kids and put on some fun programs for the kids. We do hope to see you in December. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
12.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing