We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a nice property and would be nice for a very quiet phuket experience. It is very remote so you will have the beach to yourself for walks etc.. Not for people who are going partying in Patong as it is just too far to be comfortable. Rooms were nice - though lots of walking as the property is huge and consists of a few different buildings. If you want it quiet, then this is as quiet as phuket gets. Breakfast was great with lots of stations more fitting to a five star. Kids club was free and kids over 4yrs could play without parents being there - under 4 you had to stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank River0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear River0m, Thank you for taking the time to complete a report on the resort. As you mentioned it is the perfect destination for those looking to rest and relax and enjoy the facilities and beach. Patong it is not. Thanks also for the 5 star vote for our breakfast. we take a lot of pride in our breakfast and certainly believe we are better than most 5 star resorts. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    325
    94
    17
    12
See reviews for
423
291
57
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

just like that...amazing or perfect for hole family. food, service, room, kids club, beach or pool area it's made for have perfect holiday. pick up service at airport was first class,also breakfast is served with first class service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Soistar, Really love the review of the resort and glad that you enjoyed everything. We hope that means you will be back soon! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

15 of us participated in a 3 day workshop in this one year old resort hotel; the rooms are very spacious and comfortable, we had one with swimming pool at the end and it was a great pleasure to enjoy a glass of wine after a good day of work. The meeting organisation was exceptional, the team was very attentive to our demads and performed really well. The food was very good, international cuisine and asian cuisines were both excellent and tea breaks were very good and generous. Air conditioning in the pool table area and the correct number of balls to play pool would be a nice improvement along with a bar in the same area. The resort is somewhat remote from Phuket city but this is easily overcomed by renting a car, only USD 33/day and driving in this part of Thailand is easy. Great place to go for business meeting or family vacation.

To all Holiday Inn people that made our stay nearly a woring vacation, many thanks for superior service and kindness.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenchie5032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Brenchie, Thank you for having a workshop at the resort and I am glad it all went well. We are very proud of our meetings / workshop set up and we pay a lot of attention to make sure all meetings and events are successful. Sorry about the incorrect amount of pool table balls. Suprisingly they seem to disappear all too often, but I have purchased more spares to ensure we are covered. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at this place for a week-long workshop. Very nice ambiance. Rooms were located among several mid rise buildings which gave one a better 'resort' feel. The down side is that if it rains, you'd need an umbrella to walk back to the main building where the resto and lobby are.

Food was good (esp the local fare). Meeting facilities were very good. There is also a decent spa and gym.

Only thing is that it is an hour away from phuket town so need to allow for extra travel expenses and time to get to other parts of the island.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Trippity. Great to have you at the resort and I hope that the meeting was a success. Glad that you enjoyed all of the F&B and hope our team gave you and your meeting all the attention necessary. We do hope you return soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband booked this hotel Late Rooms.com and the flights through Ethiad. We went for a week during the "low/monsoon" season. We had never visited Thailand/Phuket before so had no idea where to go or what to expect. The taxi transfer (booked through the hotel) was only 15 minutes away from the airport. The resort is situated in the North West of Phuket Island. We were warmly greeted with a much needed cool refreshing drink at reception and booked in. Initial reactions were very pleasant. Room large and bright and spacious enough for our 12 year old son and us. Air con good. Huge shower cubicle. Free internet and good choice of tv programmes. We had a 2nd floor balcony view of the beautiful gardens. The hotel also has a very good DVD and book library. There was a large enough gym, superb Spa (the Thai massage and products were extremely cheap compared to the UK and the Thai massage was simply out of this world! A must try). The pool was large and overlooked a totally secluded beach, although we were unable to swim due to the huge drop off of the beach shelf. There were two restaurants. The main restaurant offered outstanding buffet breakfasts and imaginative buffet themed dinners. The pool side restaurant offered value for money and very good meals as well as being romantic at night. I cannot praise the staff enough. The F&B Director, Kanisorm was so welcoming and so gracious. The other staff including Jammon were so professional and friendly. The General Manager, Simon took the time to introduce himself to us and various guests during our week's stay there and he was extremely friendly, I took up various free activities that the hotel offered - a lovely local Bike Tour with two of the hotel staff and one other guest. This took in a very enjoyable, flat, and informative 1 hour ride around the local area, taking in sights such as a rubber plantation including the moulding of the rubber etc, as well as a local Buddist temple. Really worthwhile activity. I also did the Yoga class which was very good for my stiff back. The other activities were varied and good, however there were not enough people to make up the number I think being low season. There were 3 small restaurants in local shacks just outside the hotel which offered delicious Thai food for a very cheap price! This hotel is not a place for loud music and dancing and partying, and if you prefer that type of holiday, it would be better if you went to the Holiday Inn right on Patong Beach instead. We went to Patong Beach for one day and were glad to get back to the hotel that evening! We also hired a private driver for £72 for the day to take us around most of the island and sights. This is well worth the money. The shuttle bus from the hotel (£8 return) goes three times a day to Phuket Town and Patong Beach. The ONLY criticism (that is why a 4 star rating instead of 5), is that there seems to be filtration problems with the swimming pool. NO IT IS NOT dirty, but because of the beach sand blowing off directly from the beach, the sand ends up in the pool and it leaves the pool cloudy (not dirty). Some people expect turquoise water in their swimming pools, and this pool is not. Do not let this put you off this hotel. The gardens and flowers and beautiful! All in all, a fabulous hotel, fabulous staff, and an inexpensive holiday. Also the gardens are beautiful and a paradise for gardeners! It is isolated and away from the noise and buzz of typical holiday beach resorts and bars, but for us, it suited us perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor rooms because you can walk straight into the pool on your doorstep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Claire and Family,

Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review of the resort and it was both my pleasure and the teams pleasure to meet you all. I am glad you got to enjoy the many aspects of the resort and the team kept you entertained. I hope that if you have plans to take a quick trip away from Abu Dhabi you choose to stay with us again. THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Overall an excellent stay, and a very good deal. There are a few cons, but they certainly don't outweigh the pros in my perspective.

Pros:
- New hotel at time of writing (opened end of 2011 according to staff); facilities in excellent condition;
- Excellent staff, including at restaurants, very friendly;
- Very modern, clean and nice rooms; huge and nice shower;
- The rooms with pool access are a must have; these are not individual pools, but a set of rooms actually share a pool; it's not connected to the main pool as the term "pool access" suggests, but we ended up using this private swimming pool more than the main one; it's so pleasant to just walk out of the room and dip in the warm water (this was off season, but nevertheless the water was warm); moreover, the pools are protected by trees, so only your neighbors and people passing on the bridge can peek at you; this was the highlight of our stay;
- Very nice main pool nonetheless, with bar inside pool;
- By European standards, food was very reasonably priced; sure, it's more costly than street food, but significantly below a western restaurant; moreover, there are lots of tasty snacks (western and Thai), so you are not forced to pay for a full meal at all; you can simply snack at the pool during lunch, for instance; it's important because the hotel is rather isolated, so you will end up taking most of your meals there;
- The Thai buffet (one day a week off-season) was excellent;
- Breakfast buffet was similarly excellent;
- There is a person at the hotel in charge of making reservations for tours, very helpful; we were booked on two tours in a snap, and she negotiated a discount for one of our kids who was slightly above the child age limit;
- There is also a small shop for essentials, you can borrow DVDs (large collection of the typical hits) since the rooms come equipped with DVD players;
- My wife tried the Thai massage and was also very happy with the experience;
- On paper (i.e., Google Maps), it looks pretty close to the airport, which initially made us hesitate, would we be hearing planes ? It turns out it's not the case, except once or twice during the day, so it's not an issue;

Cons:
- It's located north, so if your goal is to be often in Phuket town, or south of the island, it's not a great location;
- It's pretty isolated, which can be viewed as a Pro or a Con: there is no shop around except for a few street food stalls; if you want calm, this is the place; if you want to get out of the hotel and be quickly in town, this is not it;
- Taxis are expensive in Phuket; the good thing is that the hotel has negotiated fixed prices for many destinations (they have a card with all destinations/prices), so you don't risk being ripped by the taxi drivers on your way out;
- We were there off season, and it was pretty windy; I don't know if it's the case all the time off-season, or in the whole island; we went once on the eastern part and it seemed less windy, but I can't be sure;
- As a result, the beach almost always had a red flag, i.e., swimming is dangerous, and in fact, no one was; I guess this is only off-season; since the main pool is next to the beach, we did not feel it was too much of a letdown, but if you do want to spend your time in the sea and on the beach, this is not the right place off-season;
- While the beach area was quite nice with chairs/long chairs, trees, etc, we found a few trash here and there on the way to the beach; it's hard to know if it was the sea which just brought them, or if the personnel in charge of cleaning up the beach could do a better job; but it was not a big deal anyway;

Room Tip: Pick the rooms with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Gr0f, Thank you very much for the detailed review and particularly happy that you enjoyed the pool access rooms. Certainly a nice way to enjoy a holiday. Thank you for pointing out the food available. We have adjusted our lunch menu at the pool in particular because we understand during the day guests just want snack items and not always huge meals. The new menu at lunch continues to be very popular and have guests from other resorts coming to enjoy. Glad your wife had an enjoyable massage at the Spa and breakfast was a hit. On your other points thank you for going into detail. Agree that guests have to make sure they understand the location of the resort relative to shops and more. We offer the perfect place to relax away from the busy areas and as mentioned do have both shuttle buses to areas such as Central Shopping Centre and Patong. The taxi service in front of the resort is run locally. They have agreed to post prices so guests are not intimidated to negotiate. We understand the taxi price is higher than Bangkok but unfortunately with no Public transport system on the island this is the result. The taxi drivers are all local to the area and do provide good service. Although a little expensive at least you know this is where they work and live and will therefore always do their best. Lastly we clean the 100 metre stretchin front of our resort 2 times a day. A lot of trash does come on to the beach from the tides. As the beach is 10km long we hope other resorts share in our desire to keep the beach clean.
Thank you again for the report and please return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a great time at the family suite and the staff were humorous and excellent in their service!
We brought all our 3 children there this trip and they loved the bathroom and kid's bedroom. The staff wrote to me a day before and asked for their preferred linen theme too!

The staff at the restaurant where we had breakfast were all very friendly, staff like ice, ae, etc. They were very friendly and helpful.

We were also able to watch sunset at the beautiful Mai Khao beach at the hotel. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous too!

We will return in dec for our family trip again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Kelly and Family, The team remember all of your family very fondly and so delighted you enjoyed the stay. Thank you for recognising some of our team members. Our family Suites are a treat and at times I wish we had more due to the high demand! The sun sets in December are even better and to help you enjoy the sunset we have a live band playing! Thank you again and see you and the family soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.7 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing