We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting for a quiet family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for a quiet family holiday”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We live in Thailand and usually head to Samet for sun and sand but wanted to try something different this Songkran. While it's a little expensive compared to Ko Samet (but that's true of Phuket generally), the Holiday Inn Resort was a great choice for a relaxing family holiday.

Both restaurants (Js and Pesto) offer excellent food and with kids under 12 eating free at buffets it worked out a treat for us and our two food demolishers. The pool was heaven for our kids while the poolside bar was well appreciated by us parents come happy hour (excellent cocktails at a great 2-for-1 offer).

We booked the kid's suite which allowed us privacy and gave the kids their own themed bunk beds and TV. Games for a PS3 were available free at reception but our kids were too interested in the pool for be bothered really. Our 4 year old love the kids club and would have stayed there 24/7 if she could.

The staff were fantastic, spoke excellent English, make our kids feel very wanted and overall we felt very safe and secure with young children in this hotel.

We were there for the April Tsunami alert and the staff and hotel manager were faultless in their evacuation of the hotel, and we were safely taken with the minimum of panic to a high point on the island and kept informed as to what was going on. A fantastic safety procedure that makes me feel even more secure when we visit again.

If there is a down side to the hotel, it would be the beach. Again, as we're used to Samet's long, lazy, golden beaches with shallow, gentle water, Mai Khao's steep beach and strong waves and current made beach-side relaxation a no-no. But to be honest, the pool and facilities more than made up for it.

A great family hotel away from the hustle, bustle and jetski operators of Patong and Phuket. Great food, excellent value for money and a wonderful, attentive staff. We will be back.

Room Tip: Kids suites are a must for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strangefish32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Sincerely thanks to share your thoughtful comments to us. The team as very happy we created a memorable stay with us. Our guest safety and security is extremely important in running our hotel so you can rely on us to take care of it. Nobody wants to have to go through a tsunami even if it is a false alarm but we take warnings extremely seriously and glad that our procedures met your expectations. Thank you again for staying with us and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    339
    97
    19
    14
See reviews for
441
301
61
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Nothing to say but perfect! Hotel is superb, service is excellent, wonderful staff, good rooms etc.
Only downside are the stairs everywhere if you are with a baby.. But have to say that all the hotels in Phuket are like that at least here wherever you go someone is willing it Assist you. Stayed there for 5 nights and than moved to indigo pearl and have to say that this hotel is a much better experience. Will come back! Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shufel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
It’s our pleasure for your great comments to us and to our great team. We’ll continue to provide great service to our guests. Every comment from our valued guest feedback assists us to improve and we are always looking to be better. We hope that in the near future if you choose to return to Phuket you do stay with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This resort is remote from all the action in Phuket, but it is a good hideaway for family. The Kids Suite, Kids' Club, and Teens' Area kept my boys busy, in particular my 6 year old wanted to go back to the Club each day.

The hotel airport transfer at Bht900 per trip is a bit steep for such a short journey, but it saved us the hassle of negotiating with Phuket taxi drivers! I was warned about the gangster-controlled taxi industry in Phuket.

We took the hotel's shuttle to Central Festival but got trapped in the mall for almost 6 hours due to Tsunami warning, a consequence of 8.9 earthquake in Sumatra. After the ordeal and missed our return shuttle, we no longer wanted to struggle with other tourists to get taxi home. After couple of calls with Holiday Inn, they contracted a taxi to come and picked us up from the mall at no extra charge. Though we had to wait an hour, we felt safe and relief with the arrangement.

I was in Holiday Inn at Patong Beach just in March, but I definitely think this one at Mai Khao Beach as more suitable for a getaway vacation. It will be good if they can add more F&B choices to the resort!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauliano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Sincere thanks for your recent stay with us and glad to hear that your boys enjoyed our Kid Club and our activities provided. Thank you also for your kind words relating to the teams assistance during the tsunami evacuation. It was a very difficult moment but very proud how the team handled the situation. I am sure next time your visit us you will see some additional changes and improvements. We are looking forward to see you again real soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay in the north of Phuket this is the hotel to go. Quite ugly architecture, mediocre service with basic English skills, poor F&B and a nice pool.
The mayor issue for us was that there are millions of flies in all open and public areas. At the pool it was very annoying. The pool is ok but rather small. Sine there are large pine style trees between the pool and the beach there are constantly leaves/long needles falling down.
The ocean was calm and swimming was nice. Unfortunately it was the season of Sea-Lice (larvae of jellyfish) and our daughter had an allergic reaction which kept us busy even two weeks after the holiday.
We stayed in one of their family rooms. The room was quite spacious with modern decoration. Unfortunately the design is not well thought since there are almost no drawers, no hangers and the sliding doors are uncomfortable. The beds are rather hard and if you are used to a high quality mattress you will have some problems getting a good sleep.The bathroom was rather small with only one sink and quite dark.
Our daughter liked the kids room with the bunk-bed and the play-station. Housekeeping was on the first days very late (after 4pm) and only after we put the sign to clean the room on the door in the morning it was done in time. The room service was not picking up the tray with the plates for hours and in front of some rooms you could see plates and trays with bugs and ants for almost a day. Quite discussing!
The Italian restaurant on the beach is reasonable priced for Phuket hotel standards. However the food is quite mediocre and better avoid ordering steaks since the kitchen can't deliver. If you are ordering a bottle of white wine be prepared to wait until it is proper chilled in an ice bucket.
The breakfast buffet is also average but this place is certainly not a 5 Star Hotel.
During our stay about 60% of the guests had been from Russia. They tend to be quite noisy and it is not very pleasant if you are on the way to your room in the evening with your children and a Russian Gentleman is escorting two very obvious looking Thai 'Working Girls' to his room in front of you. Not so easy to explain to my daughter.
During the check-out the staff was very unfriendly and not even asking if we had enjoyed our stay. It took me more than 30 minutes to get my bill settled after an unpleasant discussion with some front office staff.
Overall an OK place if you are on a budget and want to got to Phuket. I would definitely not go back again. There are a plenty of other choices on Mai Khao Beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanghai_1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear shanghai_1789,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. We hope you enjoyed your vacation and are glad to hear you were happy with the room accommodations and pool. Whilst I am pleased with the really good comments, I truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We are very sorry to hear about the service you received from our hotel staff. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27731311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

This hotel is located in a really quiet area. Stay here if you want to get away from all the chaos of the larger tourist places. This is not the place if you want shopping and lots of restaurants and bars.
I stayed here for a week in a pool exit room. The rooms are very nice and comfortable and offers a flat screen TV, DVD player, alarm clock with iPod docking station, Tea & coffee making facilities, Iron and iron board, In-room safe and free wireless wifi. The rooms are kept spotless. The whole resort is well maintained.
The breakfast is fantastic and not to be missed. The restaurants and bars are nice but overpriced. The staff are very friendly and speak good English. The hotel offers a shuttle service to Phuket.
The location is good with only around 15-20 minutes to the airport. The beach is more than 10 kilometres long, lots of waves and quite steep so not suitable for small children.
There are no shops in this area. The closest shopping is around 30 minutes walk away. Outside the hotel, towards the beach turn right and you will find 2 smaller bungalow places with restaurants that offer good food at good prices. The one furthest from Holiday Inn is called Seaside cottages and offers the best food and has a friendly staff.

Room Tip: The pool exit rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tozca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Tozca, Thank you for the detailed report and most inviting review. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the resort and were able to enjoy not just the resort but the area to the fullest. So you know we have just completed a new dinner menu at Pesto with what I consider amazing prices and a new lunch menu by the pool and pesto to follow in September. We do hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were slightly apprehensive when we discovered after booking that the hotel was situated an hour's drive from Phuket Town & Patong area.
But after experiencing the peace at the beachfront, & seeing the throngs of crowds & noise at Patong, I was so glad that we had chosen to stay here.

We had a very enjoyable & relaxed stay. The beach was a great spot to relax, unwind, & swim. The rooms very modern, comfortable & spotlessly clean. They are all equipped with i pod docking stations & dvd players ( movies available at Front Desk with compliments).

Service is very warm, & friendly around the resort.

The Tour Desk offers good trips, & we enjoyed the day trip to Phi Phi island.

The reviewer prior to me has detailed very accurately dining options within, & around the hotel.

We would definitely recommend this hotel for families, & those wishing to relax away from the crowds & noise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbudhabiSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear AbuDhabi Sid,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review of the resort and on behalf of the team delighted that you enjoyed your stay. With the resort located around one hour from Patong we really want to make sure there is enough activities for guests to enjoy and really take advantage of this wonderful location. Then is guests want to visit Patong we have a three times daily shuttle bus at a nominal charge. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Before I arrive, I was concerned because there is no much mentioning about Mai Khao beach and this property is relatively new so it's not even in tour book. But then I found myself really luck. You are lucky now that you read my this review:

1. eating: there is a local restaurant right next to hotel. then another one called seaside restaurant is about 2 minutes walk. I was previously concerned if I have to eat within the hotel everyday. But these two restaurants solve the problem. A full breakfast is 150 baht including toast, bacon, eggs, orange juice and coffee. A fried rice is 120 baht. main course or salad 150 baht. coke 30 baht. These two restaurants are on ocean side so you can have ocean view while dining. The food quality is very good. It's not the kind of small restaurant that you are concerned with health issue. I especially love the cottage sea side restaurant. The prawn is very fresh. Especially if you go in the evening, there is a cozy quiet atmosphere. Some people sit there with friends for hours having beer. There is a small bar there too. I was there in my first night. At 8 pm it was dark so I can't see the ocean. But without the day's heat and you have dim light and ocean breeze, it was really a memorable Thai experience.

2. ocean: Mai Khao beach has high tides. So you can hear hear sounds of tides. If you love to hear the ocean, grabbing a book sitting in front of the ocean, this place is for you. The beach is also cleaner than Patong beach. The hotel's swimming pool has a very nice oceanview. That's one thing the hotel should put pictures on its website which they didn't. I am putting it here.

3. Entertainment: When I walk along the beach to the north:

(1) Renaissance hotel is about 10 minutes walk.
(2) Sala hotel is right next to Renaissance.
(3) Marriott hotel is another 10 minutes walk.
(4) Anatara hotel is right next to Marriott hotel.
(5) Turtle Village is right next to Anatara.

This probably gives you an idea of surroundings that you can explore. Below is my finding about bars and restaurants of these hotels:

(1). DEFINITELY you have to go to the Out of Blue bar in Marriott!!! Live music from 5-6:30 pm. Cocktail buy one get one free during happy hour. (cocktail is about 250 baht). Round blue sofa that can accommodate just 2 people. The guy who play guitar there is really good at it. and the atmosphere is relaxing and pleasant, and of course It is oceanfront!!!

If you like the kind of W-hotel chic style or New York's Green Village style, or you like the kind of Sydney harbor front restaurants, THIS IS YOUR CUP OF TEA!!!

(2) Sala hotel also has nice oceanfront bar that has big white rounded sofa. It's another seclusive and quite style with black/white deco. It's not live music ans use the quite type music, which position itself to be different from Out of Blue bar. It gives free tapas and 30% discount for cocktails in happy hour (5-6:30 pm or something like that) The tapas is from the kitchen of its premier seafood restaurant and is very good.

(3) Renaissance also has an oceanfront bar. It's nice too but isn't as impressive as previous mentioned two bars. Anatara has its main restaurant on second floor with both indoor and outdoor seats and lunch special is 400 baht. One thing good about it is this restaurant is probably the only indoor restaurant that has an ocean view and is open for lunch in this area.

In addition to these bars, Mariott has at least 4 restaurants, two of them has ocean view. Sala has one oceanview restaurant. Holiday Inn's Pesto also is oceanview restaurant. Therefore, you can go to different restaurants everyday when you stayed at this Holiday Inn. Pesto is very good value. It offers the same oceanview as other restaurants but it's pricing lower and its deco is chic and not cheap.

So I am giving you information which I wish others have given me before my departure. But now you have it.

Overall, I think this hotel is good for someone who wants to take a laid-back approach enjoying oceanside living. The junior suite I got is very spacious so it feels like an apartment living. If you like the Gold Coast holiday apartment life style for holidays, this is a very nice alternative. You don't get Gold Coast beach to sink your feet and legs deep into white sands but you have Thai food and Thai smile and all the oceanfront swimming pool and bars/restaurants.

Tip:

1. Get the 700 Baht one-way Camry. It smells brand new with cool air conditioning and is even better than the Indonesia Silverbird's Mercedes Benz E200. They pick you up or send you to the airport and even do the check-in for you in the airport, marking an excellent beginning and end of holiday.

2. Hotel's Thai massage has happy hour before 3 pm, 700 baht for one hour and 1000 for 90 minutes. If you want that, book it the day you arrive, otherwise, it's either fully booked or you can't pick your favorite time. (but you can get a 400 baht Thai massage oceanfront too from local message booth. It's nice and you hear ocean when having massage so it's a little bit of like the 'spa on the rock's from Bali's Ayana which costs you US$600 per treatment)

Room Tip: Junior suite is nice. Deco is Armani/Casa inspired style...:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank happyvaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Warm Greetings from Mai Khao. I truely appreceate the time and effort you have made to create such a fantastic review of not just our resort but also the surrounding Mai Khao area. I agree with you that there are many options for dining outside the resort if people choose and I encourage guests who are here for some time to enjoy some of these excellent options. We of course are delighted to host every one of our guests meals in the resort but wish everyone a choice and a change as I would like also on my holidays. Mai Khao is a wonderful destination in Phuket and a true beach experience is awaiting.

Thank you again for the review and both I and the team look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing