We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas at HI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have travelled to Phuket many many times and love it. We have previously stayed at HI in Patong but it has been getting very crowded for us so chose this year to split our time. We stayed 9 nights in Kata then on Christmas Eve went up to HI Mai Khao.

We had booked interconnecting pool access rooms and they were great. As a new resort it is great to have those things such as Ipod dock which other older hotels don't have.

The staff were forever attentive and lovely.

Exactly as they are shown on the photos and lovely clean and new. We had booked HI as we wanted to have a great Christmas dinner. We ended up having Christmas Eve dinner which was 'roast dinner' style and Christmas Day was more seafood based. I was amazed at the lovely christmas gingerbread house.

When booking we were aware that the resort is not "in the middle of the action" and we were happy to explore another part of Phuket. We have always driven when in Phuket so we organised a lime green American Jeep which we parked in the hotel carpark. We drove this up to Sarasin Bridge and also the seafood restaurants on the beach just south of the bridge. We also drove up to Phang Nha and haggled for a private boat to take us out to Gypsy Island/Village and also James Bond Island. This was much easier to stay at HI Mao Khai and do this privately than on a larger tour bus.

There are some restaurants near the hotel (but not easy to see at first) if you get sick of the lovely hotel food. Apart from Christmas Eve and Christmas Day we didn't eat at the hotel as we find hotel food expensive for five of us.

After a couple of days we mentioned in conversation to Simon the manager that the pool that our pool access room went onto was very very cold. Simon immediately arranged for us to be moved to another room which was fantastic, and the pool was much warmer in the new room. Next day Simon mentioned that he had followed up on our comments about the warmth of the pool and it was 3deg cooler. It was great that someone had followed up on this. We are from Darwin which is very very hot so for others the pool may not have felt cold depending on where you are from.

This is a very new resort and the staff are largely learning so we as tourists need to give them a break!!

The hotel had lots of activities for the kids like outdoor movies with an early session being for kids and the later one being for adults.

Beach is really lovely but there is a steep drop and there was shore break when we were there. We had some pool noodles with us which were great.

We had an early morning flight so it was lovely to have the 10 minute drive to the airport.

We also did a bike ride with http://www.amazingbiketoursthailand.asia/ and it was great as the start point was 5 minutes away and others had been on the bus for 45 minutes to get to the start. This was a huge bonus!

When we were on the bike ride my mum took our two kids (8 and 13) to the day spa with one having a teenage package and the other having a "my first facial" which was a real treat for the girls.

Emma (one of the executive managers) showed us around the Kids Suites when one was vacant and they look absolutely fabulous!

This is definately a relaxing hotel and I would suggest splitting your time between one of the main areas and this hotel.


Lou and Paul

Room Tip: Ask for a pool access room on the north side as the pool gets the sun.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lou_and_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear Lou & Paul, So wonderful to hear from you and thank you so much for spending the time to put this wonderful review together. I was very fortunate to meet you and the family and loved the great chats we had and happy to assist with the room change to the Northern pool access rooms! You made some great points about the resort such as the many activities available and of course the wonderful team. We continue to grow and develop everyday but still the wonderful attitude of the team remains.
We hope that this coming Christmas / New Year you choose to visit us again and do let me know.
Thank you again for the wonderful review and all the best for the remainder of 2012 for the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

So we were planning to stay in Holiday Inn for 15 nights, but checked out after one. Resort has no personality; rooms are new, but they feel cheap and sterile, nothing Thai in decor - you could be anywhere. We had a Kid Suite and we liked the Kids area, with their own tv, only to find out later on that there's only violent Cartoon network available and that hildren wouldn't sleep in the bunk beds, so me and my hubby took turns sleeping there. Kids Club looked nice at has long working hours. Grounds of the hotel are not suitable for the buggy. I liked the beach, it is beautiful, but not suitable for children, very steep as you go in, with strong waves and currents. Dinner at the hotel is a rip off, we paied over 3000 bhat for 2, with just 2 beers and some juice for kids. There is no alternative dining anywhere close by, something to consider. If you want to experience Thailand, do not stay here, it is truly feels like an airport hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spusekatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Pukekatt, Thank you for taking the time to create this review. Of course we are delighted to hear your positive comments about the Kid's Suite, the Kid's Club and the beautiful beach. However I believe it is important we clarify so no other person reading your review has incorrect information regarding some of the other comments.

The Kids Suite does have bunk beds and is advertised like this, with excellent photos on our websites therefore I am sorry that the children could not sleep in the bunk beds and we would have been delighted to show you the family suite which offers two twin beds instead of bunk beds.

On our televisions there are actually two different childrens channels including the cartoon network and Nickelodeon channel. We believe having two channels for kids give both parents and kids a wide variety of selection to choose. Additionally we have DVD players in every room and in our resort centre we have over 50 different children DVD's to choose from for free.

We have extensive gardens throughout the resort with over 60 variety of natural Thai planting. There are some ramps around the resort but even the grassed areas has soft slopes to push your childrens buggy. Then of course there are footpaths throughout the resort.

For your 3,000 baht dinner you have chosen the most expensive items on the menu. You can select more than 40 items between our two restaurants menus that are under 300 baht each. We have buffets in the resort ranging from 799 baht to 999 baht. The 999 baht buffet is our seafood buffet including almost every variety of seafood. Additionally Kids under 12 eat free when parents are eating on the buffet for example.

In regards to alternate dining there is now three restaurants (local) directly on the side of the resort entrance road. There are three hotels / bugalow resorts directly north of us from 5 metres away to 150 metres away that all have restaurants.

Lastly we are a 15 minute drive from the airport and although convenient to the airport, we are not an airport hotel nor can any guest hear any noise from the airport as we are two far away.

I am so sorry that in the end you had to check out as I believe you did not give us a chance to show you what a wonderful resort we have and is shown through so many other guest comments.

We have an extensive list of activities for both kids and parents, an amazing spa along with a resort centre with games room. dvd's, board games and so much more. We have complimentary wifi throughout the resort, happy hour at the pool bar everyday from 5pm to 7pm and even a 30 minute meal special at the Pesto and poolside where you can have a full meal for between 179 baht at 279 baht per person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have just returned from a five day stay here. We loved it. It's in a very quiet part of Phuket and the hotel itself was very quiet which suited us. The hotel is nearly new and is maintained exceptionally well. The staff are incredibly helpful especially those on the front desk. The beach is very cool and the whole thing really excellent. It's a place to chill. If you want to party best go some place else.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toldham001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our resort. We were delighted to recieve all of your positive comments on the resort especially your kind words about our team especially the front desk team.

We agree with you that we are located in the quiet part of Phuket and is ideal for those that want to relax and chill out and enjoy the tranquility of a pristine beach along with lush gardens giving you a true feeling of being in Thailand and in particular Phuket. We are not the party Patong beach but certainly a fun place to hang out.

We look forward to you returning soon and enjoy the resot of your year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I ve been there to relax !!! Everything is there ! Service , food ( chef asian treat bravo ) , entertainment ! Thanks all of you to make my stay memorable ! Congrats to gm

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Firstly a personal thanks for taking the time to make a review and shower us with compliments. I have already forwarded to the team your comments in particular the chefs and they are so happy you loved the food. Great service is always on the top of our list so we are happy to meet your expectations.

Thanks again, and look forward to havng you in the resort when you come back to Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Booked a package for 4 nights, overall great hotel, clean and new, have mostly nice things to saw. However some things to note:

Food & beverage is not cheap. SG$22 for a buffet breakfast seemed rather steep to us.

Spa's great. We went for a 700 bhat promo during happy hour.

Had late flight at 10pm, hence asked for late check-out. Staff explained they could offer a "shower room", but we were confused what this meant, and asked to stay in our own rooms instead. The "shower room" turned out to be a regular room - if we had known this would not have raised the issue to the manager instead. Overall staff was very polite and patient and explained what they could and could not do. But offering a temporary "guest room" would have cleared up any confusion on our side.

Overall, its highly recommended you stay here if you're looking for some peace and quiet, but not if you're looking to be in the middle of excitement (and cheap food) in Patong.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Soakie, On behalf of the team we thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that overall you had a very nice stay and enjoyed all the facilities. Thank you also for the constructive feedback regarding the pricing on breakfast. This is the walk in rate and recomment that guests book a room and breakfast rate as it only costs and additional SG12. Also thank you for the feedback on the shower room. We understand that sometimes guests have late flights but check out time is 12 noon. Therefore we offer another room for guests to use for 30 minutes to shower after using the facilities in the resort. I agree with you that we need to explain this better to avoid confusion.

Thank you again for the review and look forward to having you back at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

New Facility. Opened a year ago. It was a nice setting on the beach and quiet too. Perfect for a family get away. Be sure to buy grocery items at Tesco Lotus or another large market away from resort areas as prices are 3X more expensive in the resort areas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ATLbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Atlanta Based, Great to recieve your review and on behalf of the resort team thank you for the great comments. Glad you able to relax and enjoy the beach and facilities. Agree the resort will be a little more expensive than a Tesco or 7-eleven but we promise that the prices in our resort centre and only slightly higher than a normal mini mart. We also are expanding what we have in our minimart so guests do not need to go to Tesco in the future.

Hope to have you back from Atlanta and in Phuket soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Nothing to complain about at usd130 per night.  Was here for a short night after a late flight arrival into Phuket thus too late for the drive to khao sok national park, a two and a half hour drive North from Phuket.  Normally prefer Indigo Pearl for these quick one night stays but IP was full.   Pick up at airport was fast and efficient, about 15 min away from airport and towards the northern part of the island.... nice airy stylish lobby, room was fine at usd130.  Had choice of firm vs hard pillows, room was simple yet cheerful, almost chic/hip.  Only issue was aircon, quite loud (even at low fan) and there were tons of flies in the reception area, so I can only imagine what breakfast outdoor would be like.  

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you very much for the feedback on Trip Advisor and we really appreceate your feedback. As our resort is only 15 minutes from the airport we often have guests staying here after a long flight who are traveling on to other destinations or those coming from other destinations that want a resort near the airport before they fly out.
Also delighted to hear you love the lobby and our chic rooms. At Holiday Inn Resort our aim is to make you feel comfortable and the room we believe will meet your expectations.
Sorry about the airconditioning in the room and I will make sure this issue is rectified. As for the flies they sadly come and quickly go! We happen to be in an area that at certain times gets some flies from the local farms. I promise we do everything to reduce them and hope that next time you come you do not have any issues.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Khao Sok and hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
12.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $74 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing