We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$352
$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$318
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$150
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$240
$79
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$122
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$203
$197
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$325
$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phuket Airport Overnight Hotel(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$31
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$328
$276
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,202)
Filter reviews
1,202 results
Traveler rating
657
394
106
24
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
394
106
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roomkids suitepesto restaurantkids eat freetea tree spakids clubpool barball pitbunk bedsmai khao beachmovie nightcentral festivalwalk along the beachquiet beachkids menulocal restaurantsthai food
Filter
Updating list...
738 - 743 of 1,202 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Booked a package for 4 nights, overall great hotel, clean and new, have mostly nice things to saw. However some things to note:

Food & beverage is not cheap. SG$22 for a buffet breakfast seemed rather steep to us.

Spa's great. We went for a 700 bhat promo during happy hour.

Had late flight at 10pm, hence asked for late check-out. Staff explained they could offer a "shower room", but we were confused what this meant, and asked to stay in our own rooms instead. The "shower room" turned out to be a regular room - if we had known this would not have raised the issue to the manager instead. Overall staff was very polite and patient and explained what they could and could not do. But offering a temporary "guest room" would have cleared up any confusion on our side.

Overall, its highly recommended you stay here if you're looking for some peace and quiet, but not if you're looking to be in the middle of excitement (and cheap food) in Patong.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soakie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Soakie, On behalf of the team we thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that overall you had a very nice stay and enjoyed all the facilities. Thank you also for the constructive feedback regarding the pricing on breakfast. This is the walk in rate and recomment that guests book a room and breakfast rate as it only costs and additional SG12. Also thank you for the feedback on the shower room. We understand that sometimes guests have late flights but check out time is 12 noon. Therefore we offer another room for guests to use for 30 minutes to shower after using the facilities in the resort. I agree with you that we need to explain this better to avoid confusion.

Thank you again for the review and look forward to having you back at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

New Facility. Opened a year ago. It was a nice setting on the beach and quiet too. Perfect for a family get away. Be sure to buy grocery items at Tesco Lotus or another large market away from resort areas as prices are 3X more expensive in the resort areas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ATLbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Atlanta Based, Great to recieve your review and on behalf of the resort team thank you for the great comments. Glad you able to relax and enjoy the beach and facilities. Agree the resort will be a little more expensive than a Tesco or 7-eleven but we promise that the prices in our resort centre and only slightly higher than a normal mini mart. We also are expanding what we have in our minimart so guests do not need to go to Tesco in the future.

Hope to have you back from Atlanta and in Phuket soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Nothing to complain about at usd130 per night.  Was here for a short night after a late flight arrival into Phuket thus too late for the drive to khao sok national park, a two and a half hour drive North from Phuket.  Normally prefer Indigo Pearl for these quick one night stays but IP was full.   Pick up at airport was fast and efficient, about 15 min away from airport and towards the northern part of the island.... nice airy stylish lobby, room was fine at usd130.  Had choice of firm vs hard pillows, room was simple yet cheerful, almost chic/hip.  Only issue was aircon, quite loud (even at low fan) and there were tons of flies in the reception area, so I can only imagine what breakfast outdoor would be like.  

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you very much for the feedback on Trip Advisor and we really appreceate your feedback. As our resort is only 15 minutes from the airport we often have guests staying here after a long flight who are traveling on to other destinations or those coming from other destinations that want a resort near the airport before they fly out.
Also delighted to hear you love the lobby and our chic rooms. At Holiday Inn Resort our aim is to make you feel comfortable and the room we believe will meet your expectations.
Sorry about the airconditioning in the room and I will make sure this issue is rectified. As for the flies they sadly come and quickly go! We happen to be in an area that at certain times gets some flies from the local farms. I promise we do everything to reduce them and hope that next time you come you do not have any issues.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Khao Sok and hope you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I spent two nights here with my girlfriend and was very impressed. It's not your mother's Holiday Inn! Very modern and sophisticated, well done all-around. Very nice large infinity pool and a nice sandy beach. Good 2-for-1 drinks at the pool hut during happy hour.

I used PriorityClub points and as a platinum elite member, was upgraded to a wonderful junior suite. A very nice, large room with a huge bathroom and balcony. The room was very quiet and very clean. Great value for money. Turn-down service and unlike some other hotels, an ample amount of drinking water was provided.

The breakfast buffet was excellent but rather expensive (about US$18/night/person) but one really doesn't have a choice. We had dinner at each of the restaurants and overall had mediocre experiences. The second night, it took 30 minutes after we placed our order for the food to arrive, and when it did, both of our meals were cold. A group of 3 was seated 10+ minutes after us and their food arrived 5+ minutes before ours. Disappointing.

Still, the hotel was of high quality and I highly recommend it. A little better service in the restaurants would put this hotel over the top.

Room Tip: Pick a room rate that includes breakfast.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlytheTail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear FlyTheTail, Thank you so much for the wonderful and constructive review and very happy to recieve feedback that allows us to look into detail in our operation and improve. Forstly, so happy you love the resort overall and that your experience as a PCR Platinum member was met. We appreceate the loyalty towards IHG. It was your dinner experiences that of course concerned me as most often we have great comments but on your occassions we let you down. I am very sorry for this and as mentioned we will be working to fix this. Some basics were missed and our team will look forward to you coming back and showing the quick changes made.

Again, great review and thank you for the feedback. Have a wonderful resot of 2012!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Superb tranquil hotel. Comfortable large rooms, the bathroom lighting was the only negative and could have been a bit brighter. We didn't have a pool room but we were very happy with the room we had on the first floor. The breakfast was amazing. The pool bar was a little slow.
Definitely will go back for a family gathering as there is a nice area for kids.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownSJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear friends from Cape Town (Wonderful city!),
Thank you very much for your report on the resort and so delighted that you overall enjoyed your stay and loved the feel of the resort. We are looking into the lighting in the bathrooms as we have had a few comments on this and pool bar training is ongoing as we could pick up our speed! Lastly thanks for the great comments on the breakfast. It is our chefs pride and joy. Like you mentioned we hope to see you again and please check out the kids suites and family suites for the entire family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews