We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SALA Phuket Resort and Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$273
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$256
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $276/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$364
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
$116
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$407
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,232)
Filter reviews
1,232 results
Traveler rating
672
405
109
25
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
672
405
109
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roompesto restaurantkids eat freekids suitekids clubtea tree spaball pitpool barbunk bedsmai khao beachhuge showermovie nightcentral festivalquiet beachwalk along the beachlocal restaurantsthai food
Filter
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 1,232 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Superb tranquil hotel. Comfortable large rooms, the bathroom lighting was the only negative and could have been a bit brighter. We didn't have a pool room but we were very happy with the room we had on the first floor. The breakfast was amazing. The pool bar was a little slow.
Definitely will go back for a family gathering as there is a nice area for kids.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTownSJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear friends from Cape Town (Wonderful city!),
Thank you very much for your report on the resort and so delighted that you overall enjoyed your stay and loved the feel of the resort. We are looking into the lighting in the bathrooms as we have had a few comments on this and pool bar training is ongoing as we could pick up our speed! Lastly thanks for the great comments on the breakfast. It is our chefs pride and joy. Like you mentioned we hope to see you again and please check out the kids suites and family suites for the entire family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Really new and nice hotel for quet holidays in Thailand.
Dinners between 820-1.180 bat/person.
We have found very beauty bar&rest within 10 minutes bicycle driving from hotel : Cinnamon (500 metres to Centara Hotel Airport).
Bicycles hire are one hour free.
Hotel do not have a tennis courts.China guests are to noisy at late night and in a restraint.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel9645406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Alex, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the resort and glad you took advantage of the bikes for rental. There is a lot of fun things to explore in the are and guests will get a true feel of life for locals in Phuket unlike other parts of the island.
We hope that you return soon to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Had a one night stay in the Hotel. It´s a quite nice Property with new and spacious Rooms. The Rooms with direct Pool-Access are very nice! The Resort is not (yet?) overcrowded.

Had Lunch at the "Pesto"-Restaurant, which was nothing special, but still okay.

But bad experience was when we tried to get out of the Hotel. It´s far away from the Phukets main Attractions, so you will need a Transportation. We tried to arrange a Limousine-Service on our own (pick up from the Hotel) but the Hotel-Staff told us, we are not allowed to do this. We had to take a so called "local taxi" waiting in front of the Hotel (private cars - so i´m sure their won´t be any insurance in case of an accident). The Fare was 2-3 times the Price we normally would have paid (1000 Baht to get to Surin beach). The Staff told us, that they have an arrangement with these Drivers (they called them "Taxi-Mafia") and they won´t let other cars drive into the Hotel area to pick up tourists.

As Holiday Inn is an international chain and not a local Hostel, such Things shouldn´t happen and we won´t come back.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
8  Thank stevenhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Dear stevenhb,

Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort. I am sorry to hear about your experience with the taxi. Our IHG hotels are franchised and IHG allows each hotel to hire their own car services.
I am sorry to hear you will not come back to this hotel. I hope you change your mind and stay with IHG again.

Katie J
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

A new property, yet signs of "fatigue" may be observed , especially from the outside as well as the corridors. Rooms however are great, well illuminated , clean functional and specious.
One must rush for breakfast first thing since food looks unfresh at 0830...selection is OK bread not fresh.
Pesto restaurant cosy and well maintained, kitchen is wide open , service with a smile, food OK+
Poolside and pool , a pleasant venue to laze yet towels are not fresh and stained.
Outdoor garden well maintained, SPA originally located on water , is on dry land, water simply have drained... maintenance ?
Beach is perfect for those who are trying to avoid the crowd, clean and natural look no Katong style hassle
Finally, Hotel staff was doing the utmost to please the guest , although, avoiding points ( club ) from me due to a third party booking...not nice.

Room Tip: There is NO ocean view , since a lovely pine grove obstructs the ocean, ask for a rook close to the beach ( and the pool )...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SINGYOAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to make a nicely written and constructive review of the resort. Overall it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and with your feedback we have taken all points on board and forwarded this to the teams to help imporve.

On some of those points such as breakfast when busy we are working to ensure everyhting is replenished. However on the pastries I assure you these are fresh and all made at the resort overnight. Your comment on the Spa is correct. We have had some issues with the lining of the pond and can only fix the leaking and splits in the lining in the lower season. We promise though your Spa experience in your private rooms will be amazing. Lastly we encourage every guest to follow the wonderful policy of IHG under best price guarantee. What this means is that book a room in our resort through our own website and you are assure of the best price. By booking directly you will get your PCR points. This is why IHG has set this policy as we want you to know and believe by booking directly you have the best price.

Thank you again for all your feedback and we do hope you make the trip back from Singapore soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We are just finishing 6 nights at this hotel. Wow, I cannot recommend it enough! We had not arranged for transportation from the airport, just figured we would take a taxi. However, a fella from the Holiday Inn was there. So we asked him if he could arrange a taxi for us. He settled on a price with a driver (maybe from the hotel, I don't know really). It was a fair price, we jumped in and within 15 minutes we were in front of the hotel. We were greeted with a cool towel and juice. Our bags were collected (not wanting us to lift a finger, which seems to be their motto), and we were brought to our room location in a little golf cart type vehicle. The room is very large overlooking the courtyard garden. We didn't get a room with the pool that runs the length of the building, but they looked very nice. At night I see folks swimming the length of the pool. Personally, I would rather not have people swimming right in front of our window. I would like to walk out the door and be able to swim, so it is whatever you like. The room is very modern, has free wi fi (throughout the whole hotel, even the pool areas), has a refrigerator, a lot of storage, wonderful linenes, soft and firm pillows, large!!! walk in shower which has a rain and hand held shower heard, soaps etc, coffee maker, a safe, 2 robes and slippers and a separate room where the toilet is. Every room has a large deck with a couch, table and clothes drying rack. The staff is wonderful. Their desire is to not let you do anything. From reception, to maids, landscapers, concierge, restaurant staff, pool folks, well you get the idea, all had smiles, all wanted to help. The location of the hotel is remote as has been said before. If you want to shop, party, do tourist trap type things, this is not the place for you. If you want to feel totally relaxed, be pampered, have peace and quiet, sign up. The hotel has a shuttle that leaves three times a day or so that will take to into crazy Patong Beach or a shopping mall near Patong. It takes at least one hour each way. We did that once, but longed to get back to our oasis. We are usually not sit around the pool people, but this pool area is so beautiful that we have spent many hours there this last week. Even had milk shakes at the swim up bar. From 5-7 pm is happy hour, 2 for 1. The beach is just beyond the pool. In between there is a row of trees that give continuous shade if you need a break from the hot Thailand sun. All day folks pull out their free lounge chairs under these trees. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful!!!! Few people sprinkled here and there. We floated in the ocean, which was room temperature. No snorkeling, as it is all sand. The pool has loungers that are set in part of the pool. The pool has area for the little ones that is connected to the deeper part. Many families were there with their children, enjoying the pool. There is also a kids club, and the kids under 12 eat free I hear. Yes some of the food options are expensive. We didn't eat breakfast brunch, but in the little store in the hotel, you can get bakery and espresso type coffee. Attached to that area is a pool table, library, video library (free), video games. We ate at the pool for dinner, had the happy hours drinks (smoothies) and paid about $22.00 for a appetizer and pizza. Very good. There are two local restaurants right next to the hotel (go north). The Seaside has very good local Thai food. The Marriot, a 40 minute walk has a nice bakery and deli. Another posting said it was to the south, which is wrong, it is to the north (or turn right when you are looking at the beach). We found the bakery at the Holiday Inn to be just as good however, but if you want a walk, it is a good place to go. Three nights a week they show movies outside. You can sit in the loungers or lay on one of the bed in the courtyard, nice touch. My husband used one of the bikes they loan out (first hour is free). The exercise room has a lot to offer and is a beautiful view when you are working out. We didn't use the spa, but it offered a full line of services, in a beautiful setting. So if you really want to get away from it all, be pampered at a beautiful resort this gets all my votes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have less direct sun, cooler balcony.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m_l_koch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for the most detailed and amazing review. I and the team know you spent a lot of time writing this review and we are so humbled by your comments, kind words and great details. Maybe we need you to help write some of our collateral! In all seriousness you have summed up the resort, the team, and the facilities so well. From the arrival experience, the rooms, the food and beverage and the many activites it is hard for us to say more except we cannot wait for you to come back and thank you personally for the nice cooments.

Have a most wonderful remaining 2012 and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews