We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Really new and nice hotel for quet holidays in Thailand.
Dinners between 820-1.180 bat/person.
We have found very beauty bar&rest within 10 minutes bicycle driving from hotel : Cinnamon (500 metres to Centara Hotel Airport).
Bicycles hire are one hour free.
Hotel do not have a tennis courts.China guests are to noisy at late night and in a restraint.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel9645406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Alex, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the resort and glad you took advantage of the bikes for rental. There is a lot of fun things to explore in the are and guests will get a true feel of life for locals in Phuket unlike other parts of the island.
We hope that you return soon to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

Had a one night stay in the Hotel. It´s a quite nice Property with new and spacious Rooms. The Rooms with direct Pool-Access are very nice! The Resort is not (yet?) overcrowded.

Had Lunch at the "Pesto"-Restaurant, which was nothing special, but still okay.

But bad experience was when we tried to get out of the Hotel. It´s far away from the Phukets main Attractions, so you will need a Transportation. We tried to arrange a Limousine-Service on our own (pick up from the Hotel) but the Hotel-Staff told us, we are not allowed to do this. We had to take a so called "local taxi" waiting in front of the Hotel (private cars - so i´m sure their won´t be any insurance in case of an accident). The Fare was 2-3 times the Price we normally would have paid (1000 Baht to get to Surin beach). The Staff told us, that they have an arrangement with these Drivers (they called them "Taxi-Mafia") and they won´t let other cars drive into the Hotel area to pick up tourists.

As Holiday Inn is an international chain and not a local Hostel, such Things shouldn´t happen and we won´t come back.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
8  Thank stevenhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Dear stevenhb,

Thank you for your review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort. I am sorry to hear about your experience with the taxi. Our IHG hotels are franchised and IHG allows each hotel to hire their own car services.
I am sorry to hear you will not come back to this hotel. I hope you change your mind and stay with IHG again.

Katie J
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

A new property, yet signs of "fatigue" may be observed , especially from the outside as well as the corridors. Rooms however are great, well illuminated , clean functional and specious.
One must rush for breakfast first thing since food looks unfresh at 0830...selection is OK bread not fresh.
Pesto restaurant cosy and well maintained, kitchen is wide open , service with a smile, food OK+
Poolside and pool , a pleasant venue to laze yet towels are not fresh and stained.
Outdoor garden well maintained, SPA originally located on water , is on dry land, water simply have drained... maintenance ?
Beach is perfect for those who are trying to avoid the crowd, clean and natural look no Katong style hassle
Finally, Hotel staff was doing the utmost to please the guest , although, avoiding points ( club ) from me due to a third party booking...not nice.

Room Tip: There is NO ocean view , since a lovely pine grove obstructs the ocean, ask for a rook close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SINGYOAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to make a nicely written and constructive review of the resort. Overall it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and with your feedback we have taken all points on board and forwarded this to the teams to help imporve.

On some of those points such as breakfast when busy we are working to ensure everyhting is replenished. However on the pastries I assure you these are fresh and all made at the resort overnight. Your comment on the Spa is correct. We have had some issues with the lining of the pond and can only fix the leaking and splits in the lining in the lower season. We promise though your Spa experience in your private rooms will be amazing. Lastly we encourage every guest to follow the wonderful policy of IHG under best price guarantee. What this means is that book a room in our resort through our own website and you are assure of the best price. By booking directly you will get your PCR points. This is why IHG has set this policy as we want you to know and believe by booking directly you have the best price.

Thank you again for all your feedback and we do hope you make the trip back from Singapore soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We are just finishing 6 nights at this hotel. Wow, I cannot recommend it enough! We had not arranged for transportation from the airport, just figured we would take a taxi. However, a fella from the Holiday Inn was there. So we asked him if he could arrange a taxi for us. He settled on a price with a driver (maybe from the hotel, I don't know really). It was a fair price, we jumped in and within 15 minutes we were in front of the hotel. We were greeted with a cool towel and juice. Our bags were collected (not wanting us to lift a finger, which seems to be their motto), and we were brought to our room location in a little golf cart type vehicle. The room is very large overlooking the courtyard garden. We didn't get a room with the pool that runs the length of the building, but they looked very nice. At night I see folks swimming the length of the pool. Personally, I would rather not have people swimming right in front of our window. I would like to walk out the door and be able to swim, so it is whatever you like. The room is very modern, has free wi fi (throughout the whole hotel, even the pool areas), has a refrigerator, a lot of storage, wonderful linenes, soft and firm pillows, large!!! walk in shower which has a rain and hand held shower heard, soaps etc, coffee maker, a safe, 2 robes and slippers and a separate room where the toilet is. Every room has a large deck with a couch, table and clothes drying rack. The staff is wonderful. Their desire is to not let you do anything. From reception, to maids, landscapers, concierge, restaurant staff, pool folks, well you get the idea, all had smiles, all wanted to help. The location of the hotel is remote as has been said before. If you want to shop, party, do tourist trap type things, this is not the place for you. If you want to feel totally relaxed, be pampered, have peace and quiet, sign up. The hotel has a shuttle that leaves three times a day or so that will take to into crazy Patong Beach or a shopping mall near Patong. It takes at least one hour each way. We did that once, but longed to get back to our oasis. We are usually not sit around the pool people, but this pool area is so beautiful that we have spent many hours there this last week. Even had milk shakes at the swim up bar. From 5-7 pm is happy hour, 2 for 1. The beach is just beyond the pool. In between there is a row of trees that give continuous shade if you need a break from the hot Thailand sun. All day folks pull out their free lounge chairs under these trees. The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful!!!! Few people sprinkled here and there. We floated in the ocean, which was room temperature. No snorkeling, as it is all sand. The pool has loungers that are set in part of the pool. The pool has area for the little ones that is connected to the deeper part. Many families were there with their children, enjoying the pool. There is also a kids club, and the kids under 12 eat free I hear. Yes some of the food options are expensive. We didn't eat breakfast brunch, but in the little store in the hotel, you can get bakery and espresso type coffee. Attached to that area is a pool table, library, video library (free), video games. We ate at the pool for dinner, had the happy hours drinks (smoothies) and paid about $22.00 for a appetizer and pizza. Very good. There are two local restaurants right next to the hotel (go north). The Seaside has very good local Thai food. The Marriot, a 40 minute walk has a nice bakery and deli. Another posting said it was to the south, which is wrong, it is to the north (or turn right when you are looking at the beach). We found the bakery at the Holiday Inn to be just as good however, but if you want a walk, it is a good place to go. Three nights a week they show movies outside. You can sit in the loungers or lay on one of the bed in the courtyard, nice touch. My husband used one of the bikes they loan out (first hour is free). The exercise room has a lot to offer and is a beautiful view when you are working out. We didn't use the spa, but it offered a full line of services, in a beautiful setting. So if you really want to get away from it all, be pampered at a beautiful resort this gets all my votes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have less direct sun, cooler balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m_l_koch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for the most detailed and amazing review. I and the team know you spent a lot of time writing this review and we are so humbled by your comments, kind words and great details. Maybe we need you to help write some of our collateral! In all seriousness you have summed up the resort, the team, and the facilities so well. From the arrival experience, the rooms, the food and beverage and the many activites it is hard for us to say more except we cannot wait for you to come back and thank you personally for the nice cooments.

Have a most wonderful remaining 2012 and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Lovely hotel, great rooms but one week is enough. You are in the middle of nowhere but good place to chill out. Good food but a bit over priced…breakfast lovely

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guest Relation M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. So happy that you enjoyed your week in the resort and were able to rest and relax. I believe the isolation and pristine location does wonders for those who want to revitalise.

See you in the resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed there last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. Took my parents for a short break whilst they were visiting me in Bangkok. Great selection on the buffet, wonderful cocktails by the pool which was also great for the kids. Took a day trip to phi phi island which we booked from the hotel and although the hotel is isolated and off the main tourist bit of the island it was not a major mission to get to the harbour.
Considering the hotel has only recently opened they are doing a great job of taking care of guests. Add to this the super clean and modern rooms with an enormous rain shower in the bathroom and I recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone who needs a short break and some down time.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drsteve1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thanks so much Dr Steve for staying inthe resort and bringing the family. Our team has seen your feedback and thank you for taking the time to put all of your comments. Our bartenders love mixing those cocktails especially during happy hour and even more so the mocktails for the kids. Isolation = Chill and we are happy we got that formula right for you and your family. I hope when you have time to get back to Phuket you choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We booked this resort because we wanted to away from the madness of Patong and the other more established resort areas. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed (we had a terrace room which was great). Both restuarants are good without being spectacular, but breakfast was excellent. The pool was very lovely, but the service from the pool side bar left a little to be desired - staff were friendly but we frequently had to go looking for our drinks, and the beer was only just cold. By far the best feature was the absolute beachfront locaation - lounging on a deck chair or day bed under the Casuarina Pines looking over the ocean was about as relaxing as life can get.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms with terrace close to the pool are the best vaalue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Shane, Thanks for the excellent review and so happy you loved both the location of the resort along with the rooms and facilities. We do have a great team and thank you for mentioning this. However we know we have to lift the game at the pool bar and agree with your comments. Assuring you the training is ongoing so we get the consistency everytime.

Look forward to you returning again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
12.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $84 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing