We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place to stay in Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

i have been to Thailand on holiday many times and i thought i would try something new for a change, i am not normally impressed by new properties because of the inherent teething problems but Mai Khao is defiantly the exception i spoke with the staff who were happy to serve.The food was exceptional a mixture of traditional Thai food with classical presentation and flavors i met there Australian Chef Dennis who was happy to cater for a customer with my large appetite.The general Manager Simon was only to happy to ex-stow the virtues of the property and a beautiful place it is nestled close to the beach the rooms are very clean and comfortable and presented well even my fussy wife was happy so thanks Simon for the great stay i will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingsley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thanks for your compliment. Its our pleasure to have you stay with us. And glad to hear your have a great experience in our restaurants. We are looking forward to welcome you back again and chef promises to make some more special items that you like. Thanks also for the personal plug! I owe you a drink the next time you are here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

I am retired now for the past ten years and ever since, my wife and I have traveled the world in search of a perfect vacation spot. Sure, Tahiti fills the spot, but air fares are expensive and so are the hotels. We picked Mai Khao HI because it is brandnew ( opened October 2011 ) and it was on the way home to Japan. We did not expect too much, but, boy, did we get surprised. First off, it is located in an unbelievably beautiful location. They offer transportation from HKT airport for about $ 25.00. The courtyard is filled with coconut palm trees, nicely landscaped and is also the location of a lavishly equipped spa and exercise room. The first floor rooms open to a swimming area, just steps down from the sliding door, fantastic. The hotel has a gorgeous infinity swimming pool with an easily accessible pool bar. Happy hour there from 5-7 means two for one drinks poolside overlooking the beach and the ocean. The hotel provides "movies on the pool" on Wednesdays and Fridays on a big screen. Nice touch. There is a woody area, just like a mini forest between the pool and the white sandy beach for indirect tanning, if you don't want to be exposed to the full power of the sun, which shines plenty in these parts of the world. The hotel provides lots of sun chairs. We loved not being bothered by vendors on the beach, a common occurrence in other parts of Phuket , Bali or Mauritius. As far as I understand, the beach here is a National Park and no one is allowed to conduct business there. My wife and I are not restaurant people, so I can't say anything about the quality of the two restaurants on site. Anecdotally
I can report that everybody I talked to loved the quality of the food and the price which is around $ 15.00 for breakfast and $ 30.00 for dinner per person. The hotel offers a great selection of books in the lobby library as well as Board Games and tons of DVDs which can be rented free and played on the DVD players in the room and watched on the Sharp Equos flat screen TV. Programming includes NHK, DW-TV, BBC, CNN, TV5, RAI as well as local channels. Daily newspaper is provided to PC member. There is a pool table in the lobby and a small convenience store. The hotel provides bicycles, free for one hour. Also They offer an IPad for 30 minutes free in the lobby area, if memory serves me well. Wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel area, was free for us, not sure if you need to a member of PC. There are two "convenience" stores within 5 minutes walking, they have fruit, instant noodles and beer, cash only. If you are inclined to do a little exercise we suggest, you walk the beach southside for about 30 minutes until you reach the Marriott, which looks nice, but is years older than the HI. There you will find a wonderful bakery store, run by the German chefs and bakers offering fresh baguettes and Laugenbroetchen. Work your way past the pushy Marriott Timeshare Sales People to the Turtle Village shopping mall, some well know designer brand shops, which we found overpriced and a Supermarket, downstairs in the parking area, with a limited offering on all kinds of things, from shoes to cheese and breads to shampoo, they do take credit cards. We were not happy with the currency exchange situation at the hotel, which admittedly was our own fault, we should have changed at the airport. $ 100.00 gave us only 2916 bhat, when the official rate was 3091 bhat, but the receptionist warned us to charge it to the room since that would result in a 10% surcharge. Housekeeping was great, sheets were changed every day if you placed the card on the bed, shower and toilet area were clean and amenities were refreshed daily. Room was very clean, floors are tiled throughout, no carpets to be seen. Most guests here are Russian or Chinese, we did see some airline crews ( I understand Air Berlin crews stay here ) here as well, which is always pleasure for an ex PANAM pilot. The local staff speaks reasonably well English, we saw a German speaking agent as well . One final comment : If you are into night life, girls, all sort of entertainment, this is not, repeat not, the place for you. This is not the Thailand you know or want to experience, but If you want to relax, enjoy peace and tranquility, this is the place for you. Sure, it's a family place as well and the kid's screaming can get on your nerves, but it's a small price to pay. We have four more days to go and I am sure we will be sad to leave. However, we will be certainly be back for sure, this one is a keeper!!! Not two, but three thumbs up.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WEISSBIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Greetings from the Holiday Inn Mai Khao family. Thank you for your valued time to share your great review for our resort. From the very first steps to the end of your journey with us we loved all of the details and kind words. Glad you had a very memorable stay and enjoyed our serviced provided throughout the resort. Wish to see you back soon so we can exceed even more your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We ended up here by accident when I made a mistake with my booking for a hotel up the road. I did not have high expectations but was very pleasantly surprised. We booked into one of their cleverly designed family rooms which was amazing and perfect for our needs. The children had their own separate bedroom complete with bunkbeds, tv, playstation, chairs, beanbags and elephant duvets. Both my children loved having their own space and it was hard to get them out! The rest of the room was spacious with a couch and table at the end of the king bed, a large balcony with views across the gardens to the sea and a spacious bathroom. Other positives about the hotel are
- it's location right on the beach, we were able to get our happy hour cocktails delivered to us on one of the large beds under the trees as we watched the sunset.
- the kids club. This is brand new and for me much better equipped than the kids club in the large 5 star hotel located further up the beach. My daughter loved it.
- the hotel has only been open since early September, so it is pretty spotless.
- the breakfast buffet was well stocked with a great variety of western and asian foods.
For me, the only negative is the hotel's remoteness. Like all hotels up at Mai Khao there is very little to do outside of the hotel environs and it is a quite a journey to anywhere else on the island (except the airport, which is extremely close).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Warm greetings from the team in Mai Khao. Its out pleasure to have you stay with us recently and glad to hear your kids loved our kids suites room and our kids club. Wish you plan to be back here again and don't miss to try our family suite room. Sure you and your kids will fall in love with this room as well and promise to make the next stay even more fun than the last. You will also be happy to know there are a few more local shops outside the resort and we have increased the items in our mini mart in the resort centre. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn over the CNY holidays and was really pleasantly surprised! I was already expecting quite a bit after reading all the reviews on trip advisor, but the Holiday Inn met and exceeded my expectations. We upgraded to the pool access rooms and had a great time hanging around the semi private pools- you share them with the adjoining rooms, but we only ever saw anyone else for about 1hr a day.

Everyone we talked to was really pleasant and smiled all the time. Service was excellent at the front desk and the main dining room. One server especially went out of his way to make my little girl feel special (she's two), and she kept asking for "Uncle Mo" every time we went to eat. So, a big thank you to Uncle Mo! We miss you and the whole Holiday Inn team. We had a blast and it was a very good value for money.

We ate at a few of the restaurants in the surrounding pricier hotels and didn't think the food was that much better. You were really just paying more for the slightly more posh decorations, but the food was just so-so and for the price, HI can't be beat! Location is a bit far from Patong, but it was perfect for us- close to the airport and you're on the beach within an hour of landing.

One minor gripe is that there is no service on the beach. No chairs, umbrellas or food/drinks! Also, the waves are really strong, and the water suddenly gets deep a short way into the ocean, so it wasn't the best beach.

We just went super early to the beach when the trees still provided some shade to and then retreating back to the pool by midday (getting food and drinks by the pool bar) and pool in room in afternoon. Worked out great.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpeatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

We are sincere thank you for your recent stay with us with your wonderful comments. It’s our pleasure to hear you had a great time with us. We have also improved the beach service and expect the next time you are here you will see the improvements.

On behalf of our team and Uncle Mo, we are glad to have you with us recently and looking forward to see you with your family visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed here on our way to a flight- really surprised how nice this new resort is. Rooms are great, pool is pretty and the setting is very peaceful. Love the little touches like movies on the lawn under the stars. Books, game area for kids, cute coffee shop- very well done.
We where coming from a very chic resort- and my boys preferred the Holiday Inn!
So- don't hesitate to stay here- especially with kids. I think there is little nearby do that is either good or bad- for me, it's a real plus- the effect is very peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHDLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stayed with us. We are thankful for you choosing us as your preferred choice of your accommodation on your recent stay. If you haven't stay in our kid’s suite or family suite room yet, don't miss it on your upcoming plan to stay with us. Sure you will fall in love with them. Again thanks for the review and glad you were able to rest and relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

if you want peace and quiet this is the place to go to. great for family and the staffs are friendly.. they also hv shuttle to patong and festival mkt at a reasonable price. u wont get any hawkers disturbing you when u sun tan . also hv a eatery and massage within walking distance of the hotel if you want to save a few dollars and hv a different hotel food. however must warn you against booking any tour from the tour desk as they charge you list price. u can get the same tour from patong at 50% discount..so its worth a trip to patong to book yr tours..
dont expect happening here in terms of nightlight like patong..its really quiet but they do hv movie night in the open every alternate nights..

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Jede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

thanks on your great reviewed in a very detailed points of our resort and surrounding. We are glad to hear you had a very enjoyable and relax stay with us. We are looking forwards to welcome you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had a short trip to puket only 4 days in which we had problems with the room key from the first moment to the last, they only didn't fix it but also the staff in the front desk never knew what we were talking about and could not get us other room. The super busy restaurant was too small for all the guests to have breakfast. The staff poor (or none) English and the many flys were other very bothering problems. After all I don't recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We are extremely sorry you experienced trouble during your recent stay with us. We are working on addressing all concerned areas to improve our problems and service. Your feedback is well taken and I assure you we only want to further improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
12.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,142 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $77 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing