We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveler rating
676
406
111
25
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
406
111
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roompesto restaurantkids eat freekids suitekids clubtea tree spaball pitpool barbunk bedsmai khao beachhuge showermovie nightcentral festivalquiet beachwalk along the beachlocal restaurantsthai food
Filter
Updating list...
791 - 796 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had a short trip to puket only 4 days in which we had problems with the room key from the first moment to the last, they only didn't fix it but also the staff in the front desk never knew what we were talking about and could not get us other room. The super busy restaurant was too small for all the guests to have breakfast. The staff poor (or none) English and the many flys were other very bothering problems. After all I don't recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We are extremely sorry you experienced trouble during your recent stay with us. We are working on addressing all concerned areas to improve our problems and service. Your feedback is well taken and I assure you we only want to further improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a hotel for those who want some peace and quiet.
Is a bit far away from the agitation of phuket. I recomand to rent a car (economy class for 6 days around 250 us dollars)!
The prices in the hotel is a bit higher than other places in Phuket. There are some dinners for HB or FB very very good ( bufet dinners 3or4 times per week). The remains dinners are a la carte but not so good. For those who has BB they can pay for the buffet dinners ( aprox 1000 thb/pers = 30 $).
this is a very very good hotel. I do not recomand for those that want to party!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Sincere thanks on your reviews of our resort. It’s our pleasure to hear your had a great experience in our dining restaurants. Our theme night buffet is still waiting for you. Hope you have plan to visit us again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Great hotel but there are some disatvantages:
- very noisy conditioner even in low fan. Much better sleep you'll have if you open doors to balcony with closed light curtains (no insects beside of warnings)
- the conditioner turns OFF automatically in 2-3 minutes after you enter the room and put a key card in a place. You have to remember to turn it on again (or when you start sweating :-))
- too many noisy Chinese who wake up early and start shouting over the inner garden to each other. Furthermore, they steal food in restaurant when having breakfast
- plankton bites! that's like a salt comes to a wound - light pinches (one-two in a minute). That is OK but some sensitive persons would not like it

Unexpectable advantages:
- quiet and polite Russians who are mostly families (couples with 1-2 kids)
- deserted beach (if you walk 200 meters away from hotel, there is nobody, only 5-6 passers-by a day)
- swim at night - the flickering plankton is awesome as well as warm ocean
- nice restaurant with good food but nearby are two places with cheaper food with the same quality
- 1 hour free bike rent (if you exceed, 1 hour for 100 bath (3 dollars) per bike)
- shower room - really room, enough space for two or even three people to showering
- The TV has monitor as well as USB and video-inlets, so, you can connect your laptop and watch movies from your hard disk. Though, TV is not big for that room (about 32")
- Thai massages on the beach for 400 bath (13 dollars) per hour (in the hotel spa two times more expensive). Men - ask Nga, girls - ask Noe - those girls-massagers are really super!

Overall, worth to stay having breakfast only (dinner outside). Yes, it is far from "everything", but i think it is advantage - no nightlife (if you wish, 2000 bath - 70 bucks - a taxi for both ways to Patong), no umbrellas on the beach, no sellers, no surfers - real relax. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Andrey, Thank you for writing such a detail report on both things that worked and issues you pointed out. Firstly thanks for so many of the wonderful points and glad they have outweighed the others. The A/C issue you pointed out should be ok. It is set to work once you put the key in the slot but once you adjust the on / off on the wall then it changes to manual. We offer the resort to a diverse group of nationalities and I guess sometimes differant groups act in differant ways.
So again thanks for the review. We hope to see you again at the resort very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Really enjoy our last holiday there. The hotel is FAR from the centre of the city (yes it's near to the airport) so don't expect a crowd like what you'll see in Patong area. We'll need around 45 minutes to go to places like Phuket FantaSea etc. We hired a car so no problem with that.

Since we want a quiet holiday, it's perfect. Fleas are a little bit annoying at the lobby and library area - too bad, but as far they don't come to the room, I think it's forgivable. I'm surprised to get a personalized hand-written card from the hotel manager, great idea, this is the first time we got that kind of welcome message from a hotel.

The bathroom is spacious. Love the shower. The toilet was separated from the shower room; (a little bit awkward because you have to go outside the toilet to continue taking a bath and it doesn't have a sprayer) and we've got no problems re the shower like what I read from the other reviewers. Maybe just a matter of luck.

The receptionist was very nice to be worried about us taking the pool-room while we bring our toddler (4 y.o). She said it was too deep and dangerous for her, and offered us another room to anticipate things. We decided to keep that room because we knew too well that our daughter is not the type of toddler who'll be running around the pool without us. The pool is a little bit deep; 1.2 m but since they also have a locked sliding door between the room and the pool, I think it would be safe as long you can keep your eyes to your toddler all the time. (if not, really recommend you choose the other room)

Highly recommended for the room with the pool, we're just too lazy to walk to the public pool (which is actually also very nice). The kids room is also interesting, very good for entertaining the kids. Everything is clean, even for me who's usually so picky about every small thing.

We tried the Italian resto once, not too fond of it. Maybe we just picked the wrong menu. (crab cake & spaghetti & pizza)

Overall this is a GREAT family hotel. Highly recommended, especially if you bring your kids with you. Keep up the great job, Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: Room which links to the pool! Definitely! But beware if you bring too young toddler. It's 1,2 m depth. Can be dangerous.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monikatanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Greetings from the north of Phuket Island! Thank you so much for your great review and feedback as well as your recommendation.
I agree with you that we are in a quiet retreat, unlike a busy Patong. We would like everyone to know that we are located on the peaceful and secluded Mai Khao Beach where a real resort experience is awaiting you. Though we have various activities for you to enjoy at all ages.
As for the flies we are doing our best to reduce the flies in and around the lobby and restaurants and we have seen a significant reduction. We have added some natural scents they seem to not like and added a few other deterrents. After sunset, there are free of any flies especially in the restaurants.
Being a family friendly resort, we have added more activities for kids and adults alike to our daily activity programme. We also have a brand new kid’s outdoor playground and outdoor badminton court also. For adults we even have now a Petanque Court!

Again thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to you returning to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

It's a short get away for my family of 4. We have been allocated to a pool access family suite at the ground floor, which my children were thrilled to see the swimming pool is just at the doorstep and play station would keep them occupied all the time, too. Kids room's infrastructure is bright in color and themed with sky blue. More surprisingly kids found out they actually could request the cartoon printed bedsteads!
The whole place was quiet and no loud music around was really pleasant. Good spot to view sunset at the beach where nobody would bump to your body at all and you can have the whole beach all by yourself.

Nice touches:
1. Breakfast is always the highlight of the day. Spread is good and quality is superb. Banana milk shake in the glass bottle will always be my sweet memory.
2. Bell boy Mermate(sounds like Mermaid) is sooo friendly and cheerful and my kids liked to hang out with him. He would crack jokes with them. The other person is Tode, who looked into all my request with diligence where I could not find another recep staff performed the same.
3. Big screen movie night on the lawn. It's like going back to th 80s that we lied down in the couches under the starred night sky munching free popcorn watching an old movie... Very different and special.

Negatives:
Far from anywhere, and tour agent charge extra wherever you want to go, per head.
No bathtub in the room...

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mabelwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and review.
I have passed your feedback to the team especially to ones you mentioned. Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in the pool access suite.
With regards to the transportation prices you are referring to, we have no control over the pricing. I hope in the future there can be an adjustment in pricing, but related to prices for transport around Phuket it is no different. Alternatively, we have provided a shuttle bus service with a fair price to Phuket Town/Central Festival department store and to Patong, 3 times per day.
For the bath tub, we only have it in our Kid’s Suite and Premier Suite. Sorry for that.
We look forward to welcome you on your next visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews