We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveler rating
682
415
113
25
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
682
415
113
25
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool access room family suite pesto restaurant kids eat free bunk beds kids club ball pit pool bar mai khao beach kids room huge shower central festival quiet beach movie night local restaurants walk along the beach thai food
Filter
Updating list...
809 - 814 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We (Aussie family with 4 kids aged 3 to 10) had a great holiday in this brand new hotel in a relatively quiet and unspoiled part of Phuket. Pluses: brand new hotel, free wifi, great breakfast buffet (recommend booking breakfast included tariff),iPod docking in each room, very friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble, great kids club for younger kids (eg under 8), quiet beach with no vendors and no hassle, great value for familes as kids eat free at the evening buffets. Minuses are few: it is an isolated spot and if you want something simple like some bread and jam to have in the room to feed the kids, it's a trek to the nearest Minimart of any size at Turtle Village. There are only two restaurants in the hotel, but good cheap Thai and western food are available a few minutes walk away at the Bungalows next door and Seaside Restaurant 5 mins up the beach. Fresh fruit from the local shop was great, and good massage and hair braiding from thd ladies on the beach (a single massage hut run very professionally). Special mention to Mo the restaurant manager, Denis the head chef and Simon the hotel manager who are all full of helpful information and more than happy to recommend local restaurants etc. On our last night we went up to the JW Marriott for a swim and dinner: there are more facilities there, but the resort felt tired by comparison and the seafood buffet very disappointing compared with the one at Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussieswith4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Greetings from the pristine and shiny Mai Khao Beach, Phuket. Thank you very much for your compliments on our resort, facilities and staff and also for pointing out that our resort is great for those who want to enjoy nature and relaxation. We totally understand your point on the minimart. We have looked very closely at our items available at the Deli and have increased more selection of food, drinks as well as sundry items to cover as many requests as we can. Price wise, I can assure you we are most competitive compared to other resorts and not much different from the local shops nearby.
We were so happy to hear our seafood buffet blew away the Marriotts and recently we have had several Marriott guests join our Seafood Buffets on Tuesdays and Saturdays so we can thank you for this!!
It was a pleasure for both myself and the team to meet your wonderful family and we are eagily awaiting your booking for the next trip. A few changes since then I am sure you will like.
See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Was meant to stay a total of 7 days, but left after 4.
Arrived after a 7 hour delay at Bangkok airport - another story - but BANGKOK AIRWAYS are NOT good at Customer care or providing information.

I had a very nice Junior Suite with direct pool access, the suite was very comfortable and very clean.

This is a great place to come to rest and relax, the beach is beautiful - though steep to reach the waters edge.

Tea Tree Spa was my highlight - the staff were fantastic - very kind, helpful and always with a smile.

The main pool is a good size, however the pool bar - well they have many staff however they are running around not quite knowing who is doing what. I ordered a drink and snack and after 30 minutes - NOTHING - Checked with the staff - another 30 minutes - STILL NOTHING - NOT GOOD especially when other people were served after i had placed my order.

Main restaurant Js - breakfast is buffet style with a large selection, however if you are not trampled by hoards of Chinese tourists then you will be by the Russian guests.

This hotel is catering to the two main mass markets in my stay i would say 65% Russian, 30% Chinese and the rest from other countries.

Would I stay again - probably not - hence why i chose to return to Bangkok earlier and will find an alternate beach resort for the rest of my stay.

Room Tip: Go for a room with direct pool access, though all rooms have a terrace or balcony area.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaudiSC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you so much for the detailed feedback on the resort and I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations in terms of service staff and the busy hours during breakfast. Our resort mix of guests changes throughout the year and January with school holidays and vacations all of the world means that you are going to see a mix of guests with different personalities and different attitudes. Chinese and Russian guests are just two of the nationality mix in the resort and maybe during your stay made up around 40%. We have over 15% Australian, 15% German, and Scandinavian, Korean, Singaporean, British, Thai and USA to name a few. We are in no position to say who can or cannot stay in the resort and welcome everyone with open arms. I am sure you understand this.
However, I am delighted you enjoyed the Junior Suite Pool Access and the Spa. I have also passed on your great comments to the Spa and Housekeeping teams.
Lastly on your comments for the Pool Bar and timeliness of service I have to agree we went through a few issues during the period you were there and have worked hard to improve this.

Hopefully, we could have a chance to welcome you again and will ensure that your next stay with us will be a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you want to get away from it all and relax this spot is perfect. The resort is brand new and the rooms were spacious clean and very functional. The shower is great and we had access directly into a pool from our room.
You can get into the towns from the resort but if you want action then this is not the best location.
There is nothing to distract you, it sits right in front of a beautiful long beach with very few people to be seen on it.
It is great for couples and I would also recommend it for families as it has a great kids club.
The staff are attentive, friendly and efficient.
The general manager even took time out to speak to us most days to make sure everything was up to our expectations.
There are 2 great restaurants, 1 on the beach with great ambiance for couples and another larger one that does buffet style meals. The buffet on Christmas night was amazing.
We had a fantastic time and will be going back again for sure.

Room Tip: For couples definately go for a pool access room or suite.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review of the resort and our staff.
For the on-site activities, we have improved our Activity Programme by putting more activities for both adults and kids to serve the needs of all ages. Our activities include yoga in the garden, Mai Khao bike tour, Thai cooking class, Thai boxing, Batik painting, scuba diving class, Kid’s pizza/cookies making class, and more. We also have Movie Night starting from 6:30pm till 9:00pm for kids and adult to enjoy their evening time together at the Resort Garden.
We love the title of your report because relaxing is one motto we love to use in our resort and I believe you paid the for the upgrade to a pool access room which is an amazing experience being able to jump into the pool from your own balcony.
We also passed on to the Chef your delight of the Christmas buffet and can assure you next year it will be even better! Once again, thank you so much and we look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This beach resort is in a peaceful location away from Phuket city. We had a nice time staying over here. One disadvantage is good restaurants in the vicinity and we ended-up using the restaurants inside the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

A very warm and sincere thank you for your great review of our new resort.
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback of our location. We would like to let everyone to know that we are located on the amazing and secluded Mai Khao Beach where a real resort experience is awaiting you.
With regards to the limitation of restaurants, we have recently launched our new menus with a wide selection of food and beverages at our beachfront Pesto Restaurant, our all day dining J’s Café & Restaurant, Pool Bar as well as our room service. We also have our theme night buffet dinners, 4 days/week which would provide you with alternative dining options. There are around 4 new food / restaurants stalls built by the local community as you drive into the resort and a few hundred metres down the beach heading north there is a lovely local Thai Restaurant run by a British gentleman and his Thai wife. Their restaurant gets praise from those who try it.
Again, thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to you returning to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a new hotel with some very good aspects such as lovely rooms, spa and gym and great kids club.

The however is this place not so 'family' friendly and the hotel has significant resource/training issues... no baby change facilities, no ramps amongst the many stairs going from area to area - mobilising is therefore not easy... inconsistent assistance from hotel staff, for example on requesting something for the baby we’re told to take a taxi to a local mini-mart 600 bht taxi... then ask another staff member and get required object delivered and for free within 10 minutes! (Also there is a mini mart within 200 meters to the left of the hotel). We were told by one member of staff the change the baby in the toilet sink!

Most staff were very accommodating and Mo who works at the main restaurant should get a special mention.

The restaurant at the pool/beach area is a disaster – we saw five tables of customers just simply get up and leave on our first evening – very poor delivery of food/time lines. We would have left but instead stood at the kitchen entrance ensuring that we were served after a 90 minute wait.

The cocktail bar at the pool can’t make them... go for a beer instead!

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank AdrianDSingpaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Phuket Mai Khao Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the resort and I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations in terms of training, slow services and some missing facilities. We are a very new resort and our team continues to grow in confidence and find new ways to take care of our guests.
We have looked very closely at our public area and keep it fresh and clean at all times especially during the peak hours. We have recently built the ramps to facilitate the guest needs into some buildings. Our restaurant staff during your stay did have a very busy night and agree that certainly our normal great service was missed this evening and we are truely sorry for this.

Your compliment of Mo and accommodating staff were sent to them and also posted on our back of house board.

Also we have added a baby changing facility in the kids club bathrooms. You will be happy to know my wife reminded me of this also as she searched for a baby changing area not long after you posted your valuable comments for our 10 month old daughter!

Once again, thank you so much for your valuable feedbacks and I hope you return so we can show you the great changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews