We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My family and I enjoyed a memorable 5 days at this new resort in Phuket.We were treated like royalty by everyone from the general manager to the concierge.The family suite had all the luxury you require including playstation and dvd player.The bathrooms were spacious and I really like the seperate toilet concept.The staff are extra friendly and really make your stay memorable

Room Tip: The family suite was really nice - the kids have a seperate adjoining room with 2 single beds and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abduragiem I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

A sincere thank you for your great review of our resort and glad that you were impressed with your stay. The Kids Suites and Family Suites are very popular especially family with kids. Now we have provided choices of kid’s linen in different themes so your kids can choose their preference and we will have it ready for them upon arrival.
We look forward to welcome you and your family again soon. We will ensure that your next visit will also be impressive!
Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

We (Aussie family with 4 kids aged 3 to 10) had a great holiday in this brand new hotel in a relatively quiet and unspoiled part of Phuket. Pluses: brand new hotel, free wifi, great breakfast buffet (recommend booking breakfast included tariff),iPod docking in each room, very friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble, great kids club for younger kids (eg under 8), quiet beach with no vendors and no hassle, great value for familes as kids eat free at the evening buffets. Minuses are few: it is an isolated spot and if you want something simple like some bread and jam to have in the room to feed the kids, it's a trek to the nearest Minimart of any size at Turtle Village. There are only two restaurants in the hotel, but good cheap Thai and western food are available a few minutes walk away at the Bungalows next door and Seaside Restaurant 5 mins up the beach. Fresh fruit from the local shop was great, and good massage and hair braiding from thd ladies on the beach (a single massage hut run very professionally). Special mention to Mo the restaurant manager, Denis the head chef and Simon the hotel manager who are all full of helpful information and more than happy to recommend local restaurants etc. On our last night we went up to the JW Marriott for a swim and dinner: there are more facilities there, but the resort felt tired by comparison and the seafood buffet very disappointing compared with the one at Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussieswith4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Greetings from the pristine and shiny Mai Khao Beach, Phuket. Thank you very much for your compliments on our resort, facilities and staff and also for pointing out that our resort is great for those who want to enjoy nature and relaxation. We totally understand your point on the minimart. We have looked very closely at our items available at the Deli and have increased more selection of food, drinks as well as sundry items to cover as many requests as we can. Price wise, I can assure you we are most competitive compared to other resorts and not much different from the local shops nearby.
We were so happy to hear our seafood buffet blew away the Marriotts and recently we have had several Marriott guests join our Seafood Buffets on Tuesdays and Saturdays so we can thank you for this!!
It was a pleasure for both myself and the team to meet your wonderful family and we are eagily awaiting your booking for the next trip. A few changes since then I am sure you will like.
See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Was meant to stay a total of 7 days, but left after 4.
Arrived after a 7 hour delay at Bangkok airport - another story - but BANGKOK AIRWAYS are NOT good at Customer care or providing information.

I had a very nice Junior Suite with direct pool access, the suite was very comfortable and very clean.

This is a great place to come to rest and relax, the beach is beautiful - though steep to reach the waters edge.

Tea Tree Spa was my highlight - the staff were fantastic - very kind, helpful and always with a smile.

The main pool is a good size, however the pool bar - well they have many staff however they are running around not quite knowing who is doing what. I ordered a drink and snack and after 30 minutes - NOTHING - Checked with the staff - another 30 minutes - STILL NOTHING - NOT GOOD especially when other people were served after i had placed my order.

Main restaurant Js - breakfast is buffet style with a large selection, however if you are not trampled by hoards of Chinese tourists then you will be by the Russian guests.

This hotel is catering to the two main mass markets in my stay i would say 65% Russian, 30% Chinese and the rest from other countries.

Would I stay again - probably not - hence why i chose to return to Bangkok earlier and will find an alternate beach resort for the rest of my stay.

Room Tip: Go for a room with direct pool access, though all rooms have a terrace or balcony area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaudiSC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you so much for the detailed feedback on the resort and I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations in terms of service staff and the busy hours during breakfast. Our resort mix of guests changes throughout the year and January with school holidays and vacations all of the world means that you are going to see a mix of guests with different personalities and different attitudes. Chinese and Russian guests are just two of the nationality mix in the resort and maybe during your stay made up around 40%. We have over 15% Australian, 15% German, and Scandinavian, Korean, Singaporean, British, Thai and USA to name a few. We are in no position to say who can or cannot stay in the resort and welcome everyone with open arms. I am sure you understand this.
However, I am delighted you enjoyed the Junior Suite Pool Access and the Spa. I have also passed on your great comments to the Spa and Housekeeping teams.
Lastly on your comments for the Pool Bar and timeliness of service I have to agree we went through a few issues during the period you were there and have worked hard to improve this.

Hopefully, we could have a chance to welcome you again and will ensure that your next stay with us will be a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you want to get away from it all and relax this spot is perfect. The resort is brand new and the rooms were spacious clean and very functional. The shower is great and we had access directly into a pool from our room.
You can get into the towns from the resort but if you want action then this is not the best location.
There is nothing to distract you, it sits right in front of a beautiful long beach with very few people to be seen on it.
It is great for couples and I would also recommend it for families as it has a great kids club.
The staff are attentive, friendly and efficient.
The general manager even took time out to speak to us most days to make sure everything was up to our expectations.
There are 2 great restaurants, 1 on the beach with great ambiance for couples and another larger one that does buffet style meals. The buffet on Christmas night was amazing.
We had a fantastic time and will be going back again for sure.

Room Tip: For couples definately go for a pool access room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review of the resort and our staff.
For the on-site activities, we have improved our Activity Programme by putting more activities for both adults and kids to serve the needs of all ages. Our activities include yoga in the garden, Mai Khao bike tour, Thai cooking class, Thai boxing, Batik painting, scuba diving class, Kid’s pizza/cookies making class, and more. We also have Movie Night starting from 6:30pm till 9:00pm for kids and adult to enjoy their evening time together at the Resort Garden.
We love the title of your report because relaxing is one motto we love to use in our resort and I believe you paid the for the upgrade to a pool access room which is an amazing experience being able to jump into the pool from your own balcony.
We also passed on to the Chef your delight of the Christmas buffet and can assure you next year it will be even better! Once again, thank you so much and we look forward to welcome you on your next visit to Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This beach resort is in a peaceful location away from Phuket city. We had a nice time staying over here. One disadvantage is good restaurants in the vicinity and we ended-up using the restaurants inside the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

A very warm and sincere thank you for your great review of our new resort.
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback of our location. We would like to let everyone to know that we are located on the amazing and secluded Mai Khao Beach where a real resort experience is awaiting you.
With regards to the limitation of restaurants, we have recently launched our new menus with a wide selection of food and beverages at our beachfront Pesto Restaurant, our all day dining J’s Café & Restaurant, Pool Bar as well as our room service. We also have our theme night buffet dinners, 4 days/week which would provide you with alternative dining options. There are around 4 new food / restaurants stalls built by the local community as you drive into the resort and a few hundred metres down the beach heading north there is a lovely local Thai Restaurant run by a British gentleman and his Thai wife. Their restaurant gets praise from those who try it.
Again, thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to you returning to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a new hotel with some very good aspects such as lovely rooms, spa and gym and great kids club.

The however is this place not so 'family' friendly and the hotel has significant resource/training issues... no baby change facilities, no ramps amongst the many stairs going from area to area - mobilising is therefore not easy... inconsistent assistance from hotel staff, for example on requesting something for the baby we’re told to take a taxi to a local mini-mart 600 bht taxi... then ask another staff member and get required object delivered and for free within 10 minutes! (Also there is a mini mart within 200 meters to the left of the hotel). We were told by one member of staff the change the baby in the toilet sink!

Most staff were very accommodating and Mo who works at the main restaurant should get a special mention.

The restaurant at the pool/beach area is a disaster – we saw five tables of customers just simply get up and leave on our first evening – very poor delivery of food/time lines. We would have left but instead stood at the kitchen entrance ensuring that we were served after a 90 minute wait.

The cocktail bar at the pool can’t make them... go for a beer instead!

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank AdrianDSingpaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the resort and I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations in terms of training, slow services and some missing facilities. We are a very new resort and our team continues to grow in confidence and find new ways to take care of our guests.
We have looked very closely at our public area and keep it fresh and clean at all times especially during the peak hours. We have recently built the ramps to facilitate the guest needs into some buildings. Our restaurant staff during your stay did have a very busy night and agree that certainly our normal great service was missed this evening and we are truely sorry for this.

Your compliment of Mo and accommodating staff were sent to them and also posted on our back of house board.

Also we have added a baby changing facility in the kids club bathrooms. You will be happy to know my wife reminded me of this also as she searched for a baby changing area not long after you posted your valuable comments for our 10 month old daughter!

Once again, thank you so much for your valuable feedbacks and I hope you return so we can show you the great changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We arrived in Phuket with a long queue at immigration and were not too happy about that. Once we were out we identified ourselves at the hotel counter and we where whisked away in our prebooked hotel limousine (THB 700) which had nice cold towels and water waiting for us. Great start to our stay! The drive is around 15-20min from the airport. Once we arrived check-in was rather quick, although there was a mix-up with another booking but the receptionist was very apologetic. Welcome drinks were served and the hotel is brand new. We had a pool room, which means that you are on the ground floor and have a small pool, which you share with the rooms next to you. It is lovely and although the hotel was fully booked (stayed during NYE) we and maybe one two other guests where the only ones who used the pool. It is much quieter and nicer than the main pool with all the other small kids playing there. The room was large and modern and had all the amenities a five star resort would offer. I liked the fact that the toilet was seperate from the bathroom. Air-conditioning worked fine and so did everything else. I liked the iPhone speakers, which allowed you to listen to your own music.
Food was good but nothing spectacular, also they only had three places to eat. The Italian restaurant, coffee shop and pool bar. I knew this before so was not dissapointed, however I guess this is the difference between a four and five star resort. The grounds of the resort were spotless and well kept and the beach is just next to the hotel. The beach is secluded and lovely as you don't have anybody trying to sell you stuff or disturbing you. It was lovely to watch the planes land in Phuket and swimming was fine too. Generally one did not see many people, considering the hotel was fully booked. This made for a very relaxing stay.
Staff we encountered were all friendly and helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble. One annoying thing were the flies and mosquitos everywhere. I got stung fifteen times in one evening, whilst we were enjoying drinks after sunset. So make sure you always carry mosquito repellent with you. Also if you eat at the Italian restaurant or the pool bar you have to constantly make sure the flies stay away. I am not sure if the hotel can do something about this issue though.
The spa was nicely done but it was very difficult to get an appointment as they were fully booked, even though I tried to book one day in advance. In the end I got a spot, due to a cancellation and the treatment was good. Pricewise it was reasonable considering prices paid with other resorts in the region.
Check-out was a bit of a hassle as the bill was not correct and had to be amended three times. We had booked a special offer, which gave 15% discount off all F&B but they had to manually calculate this at check-out when I pointed this out. It seems the reception area was understaffed as they were also acting as concierge and doing other tasks. However this is a small issue considering the great stay. We stayed for three nights and this was enough for us to just relax and wind down. I would definitely stay here again, however I probably will go to another destination in the future around South East Asia.

Room Tip: Pool rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsetlife888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIRMaiKhao, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your time in posting your valuable feedback on the resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

For the food, we have recently launched new menus at J’s Café & Restaurant, our all day dining restaurant as well as our Italian Pesto Restaurant. There are a lot more selection of dishes for you to choose from. I am sure you will enjoy our food on your next visit but of course delighted you were able to have some nice neals with our neighbours. You will also be happy to know we should have an ATM 2nd quarter 2012.

Again thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to you returning to the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
12.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,133 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Address: 81 Moo3 | Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $77 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Discovered! Located on the pristine Mai Khao Beach with direct beach access, the resort is the perfect destination to discover the true beauty of Thailand with award winning service. The resort is located on the west coast of Phuket, with 10 kilometres of un-spoilt white sand National Park beach with no crowds and no vendors, leaving you with the beach to yourself and the unforgettable sunsets! With unique Thai hospitality we cater for all types of travelers, from couples on a peaceful romantic getaway, to families seeking the perfect holiday or to great corporate meetings. The family friendly resort proudly boasts beautifully landscaped gardens, a large infinity swimming pool with a children's pool and a swim up pool bar. The Kids Club is recognized by our guests as the most outstanding club they have seen, with a spacious indoor centre with ball pit and swings, as well as a safe and friendly outdoor playground. The amazing kids' activities programs are certain to keep your children entertained all day leaving you time to indulge in the many adult activity programs such as yoga and cooking classes as well as treating yourself in the popular Tea Tree Spa with its beautiful private treatment villas. Free WiFi, Kids Eat Free Program, 24 hour fitness centre, teen and activity zones with Play Stations, pool table, table tennis, darts, badminton, resort centre with books, DVD's & board games and a trampoline are topping the list of popular activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing