We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We( Myself, wife and two teenage children) stayed in this resort for four nights in August.throughout we had a mixed feeling about this place and still do, whilst writing this review. Its one of these places where you can not find flaws but you feel something is missing. I am not sure; maybe I am wrong, but I think its the layout of the hotel and maybe the hotel could make available a few outdoor activities like bicycles, canoes on the lagoon or volly ball ground etc. The villas and beach, the location, the service, cleanliness, etc. were all excellent. I have to admit that I liked the place. The villa was so huge, its a complete house with all that one needs. Very stylish too. The private pool with the Jacuzzi and Sala were extremely relaxing. The veranda facing the beach has cool sea breeze at all times. The breakfast at the Dok Bua restaurant had lots of choices and a lovely atmosphere with extremely nice staff. I had the pleasure of talking to the chef " Stewart", and enjoyed the few dinners we had there. The staff were so hospitable that they even sent breakfast to the villa on occasions when the children were still sleeping past 10:30 when the breakfast time ends!

Back to the villa, we had the two BR villa. the bedrooms and the living area were very spacious with three flat screen TV's and DVD/CD players, Satellite channels, free wifi, etc. the kitchen was fully equipped. each bedroom had its own huge bathroom and wardrobe, with ample toiletries, and a separate toilet in the living area.

The neighbourhood was so peaceful and naturally green, we took many strolls along the beach road and the ones that led to the main road through Mai Khao. If you like the quiet and you like walking, this is the place.

A double plus for this hotel, is the staff. Extremely helpful and nice.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet and relaxed atmosphere and don't mind being far from the city, there could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdul Qader J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 203 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ou family had made unexpected pleasant discovery. Villas are so conveniently designed that here it is convenient to have a rest not only a big family with children, but also for twp married couples. Bedrooms are on big distance from each other have have own private bathrooms. The prices for roomservice were unespected low (for such high class accomodation) - so it should be unjustified waiste of money and time to go outside for dinning. We were happy to enjoy meal and service in our villa. Our children liked kids club.

Room Tip: if to you doesn't stir surf noise, it is better to take villas on the first line to enjoy a dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mihhail i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My mom, sister and our friend visited in October 2012. Even though its been 6 months since our visit, we often talk about our short but lovely stay at Maikhao.

First off, the villa is very close to the airport, possibly 15 minutes away by car. The Maikhao van greeted us at the airport, and instantly we were treated like queens. The nice driver pointed out to the cooler filled with ice cold water in front of us as we settled into our leather massage seats. Definitely a great indication of the awesome service we were about to receive for the next 4 days.

As we arrived to the villa, a very pregnant staff member greeted us and offered us a drink (forgot what it was), and then started to check us in.
We didn't have to wait long at all, and she brought us to our AMAZING luxurious villa. It was so modern, spacious, and most importantly - clean.
The bedrooms were very beautiful, as well as the bathrooms. They also provided satin and towel-like robes, as well as room slippers and flip-flops (for the beach).

There’s only one restaurant at the hotel, although slightly expensive the food was delectable. Our mouths still water today whenever we talk about that spicy beef dish and mango sticky rice (best one I’ve ever had). Breakfast buffet was delicious as well with omelets, pancakes, waffles, very yummy! The coffee they had was outstanding (made from an espresso machine), and there were many fresh fruits to choose from.
All the staff we encountered were very accommodating, and they had no problem with us ordering delivery from a local Thai restaurant two nights in a row (instead of going to the restaurant).

There was one night where there was a storm, and all the power went out in our villa, which meant we had no a/c. None of us were able to sleep because it got unbearably hot, so we called the front desk. They were quick to come by the room and notify us about the power outage and that they were trying to fix it.
The next day we started chatting with the manager (forgot his name, but he was a super cool guy with a British accent I think?) and told him about our sleepless night, next thing you know we get back to our villa and the doorbell rings with one of the staff bringing us a bottle of wine. They definitely know how to pamper their guests!

The beach:
For 3 days, I’m not even kidding it was like our private beach. There were no other tourists in sight, except for a few locals nearby going out to fish.
The only thing I wish they had were beach chairs… we had to lie on our towels (provided by the villa) and it got a little uncomfortable at times.
It’s definitely not the prettiest beach in Phuket, but I would choose this beach over the other ‘nicer’ beaches that are however crowded & noisy.
The pool at the hotel also became our private pool, which was so much fun!

I definitely will come back here one day and just stay at the villa for the entire time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family (3 adults, 3 children) has just returned from a marvelous 7-day stay at the Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa!

We highly recommend this hotel for families or groups looking for a luxurious holiday in Phuket away from the crowded beach scene that dominates the south of the island. It should be mentioned that we live in Dubai, so we are already spoiled with 5-star beach resorts. We came to Phuket to relax and explore. If you are looking for a crowded beach scene and nightlife, this is not the hotel for you. It is 15-45 minutes from anything else on the island and just about everyone is asleep by 9pm.

However, the villas are amazing! We actually felt like we were house-sitting someone's beach house, but with the luxury of room service and excellent housekeeping! We rented a 3 bedroom villa which had 2 private pools and a Jacuzzi. The rooftop pool has a sea view and cascades down like a waterfall into the ground-floor pool. There were 3 full en-suite bedrooms, a total of 5 bathrooms, 2 living rooms and 2 kitchens. We could have easily stayed for a month!

I recommend renting your own car if you stay at this hotel, but the hotel staff is happy to make all tour and transportation arrangements for you and there is a taxi stop in front of the hotel. We rented a SUV from the airport and were able to include 1-2 activities a day all around Phuket and still be back at the hotel in time for a sunset swim on the absolutely secluded beach. Many days we were the only guests on the beach and were fortunate to swim alongside the local villagers who came down in big groups in the evening to play in the surf.

We skipped the spa altogether (although we had heard it was fantastic) and opted for massages on the beach by local villagers. About half the price and so beautiful! The beach is natural, with large pine trees shading the area between the ocean and the villas. On our last morning, a herd of water buffalo actually grazed along the beach while we ate breakfast. There is a lovely, well-appointed bar on the beach and a large hotel pool as well, but we never saw anyone use them during our stay. The private pools in our villa were more than enough.

Except for the breakfast buffet, the hotel was so quiet that we were often the only people there. The other guests were also large families of many nationalities (Russian, French, British, Arab) and mainly kept to themselves. I'm not sure if the other guests went out during the day or stayed in their rooms all day, but we rarely saw anyone past breakfast. It seems that of the 22 villas in the hotel, only half were occupied during out stay. I think that the hotel would have felt much more vibrant, and still not overcrowded, had it been full.

One rainy day my older children spent a little time in the kids club and played video games with some other children while the little ones did arts and crafts. They said it was nice and kids club staff was very attentive.

We really loved the area and would definitely stay here again. We explored several fisherman's villages on both the east and west sides of the island where we found excellent local restaurants that were not frequented by tourists. Our children learned a few words in Thai, tried new foods and got a good feel for the culture. The local people are so friendly!

Thank you to the General Manager Mr. Robin Lee and his team for their hospitality and attention to detail! You have a fantastic and unique resort and we can't wait to come back again next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank American_in_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent 2.5 days in a beautiful 2-bedroom villa and wish we could have stayed longer! The villa itself was superb and very spacious. There was a well-equipped kitchenette and accommodating living space. Both the bedrooms had TVs, a walk-in wardrobe & huge bathroom with a massive tub (only downside is it takes a while to fill so don't expect to run a quick bath!) & walk-in shower. The bed linen, towels & dressing gowns were all highly luxurious too, toping off the high-end finish to these villas.
Our villa opened up straight onto the beach (all the 2-bedroom ones do, with the 3-bedroom villas sitting behind) so it was lovely to open the doors & get the breeze off the beach, yet still enjoy the privacy of our own pool & jacuzzi.
The staff couldn't have been more accommodating & willing to please. They were all so friendly & really made for a pleasant stay.
The spa was beautiful and very relaxing; the food was exquisite and the upstairs bar had a wonderful chilled vibe which made the 'sundowners' very enjoyable!
Overall it was a superb stay and, having visited Phuket for many years and stayed at numerous resorts we concluded that this was probably the best resort we'd stayed at and would certainly return without hesitation.
We were particularly grateful to Robin who, upon check-out, gave us two umbrellas to take home as a gift from the hotel - he must have reviewed the weather forecast for our destination as it was throwing it down with rain on our arrival and we would have got soaked had it not been for these umbrellas! Anyone can build a luxurious resort, but it's the little details that make all the difference!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieF142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was an amazing villa to stay in. It was a litte far from the main tourist area which was fine for us because once we saw the main tourist area we never wanted to go there again. It was very dirty. Now back to our villa. It has now become the idea for my husbands design of our retirement home. It smelled amazing and was very clean. The staff were very nice however they did not speak english well. This did not bother us as it made for interesting conversations. The only downside was that the beach was dirty. They should have had someone to clean it daily because it really took away from the beauty of the place.

Room Tip: There are 2 rows of villas. I would ask for a villa in the front row (beach front) as you can walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyNazzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a truly five star de luxe property.We stayed four nights in a de luxe suite with mini pool and jacuzzi. This was very well appointed. The hotel possesses a marvelous sandy beach and is located on a small bay.Breakfast is taken in a lovely space with a view to the water and is excellent.As there are only ca. 50 rooms the hotel cannot be faulted for having but two restaurants functioning at any one time but this may be a problem for guests wishing to stay more than a few nights.Just up the beach two hundred meters to the right is a simple but very good Thai restaurant for those seeking variety-and it is very reasonable!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pontormo187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
13.3 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
1 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa

Address: 138/21, Moo 4 | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: $333 - $1,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Phuket Island, Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, Phuket, is only a short drive away from Phuket airport. It offers 22 exquisite pool villas that blend in perfectly with Phuket’s natural beauty. The resort exudes unstinting grandeur in a tranquil and natural environment where the warm turquoise sea caresses the golden sand of Maikhao Beach. Escape to a tropical playground where the warm turquoise sea caresses the golden sand of Maikhao Beach nature and sophisticated Thai design converge in celebration of a luxurious stay. Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa, Phuket is a splendid holiday destination offering impeccable personalized services and facilities tailored to exceed guests’ expectations and ensure a “home-away-from-home” stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maikhao Dream Villa Hotel Mai Khao
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort And Spa Phuket/Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing