We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
119
51
23
6
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
51
23
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolbedroom beachfronttill departurewater pressurerelaxing holidaybirthday cakein room diningwelcome drinkmain poolprivacyphuketresortmassagehoneymoontoysunitsbugs
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 210 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My mom, sister and our friend visited in October 2012. Even though its been 6 months since our visit, we often talk about our short but lovely stay at Maikhao.

First off, the villa is very close to the airport, possibly 15 minutes away by car. The Maikhao van greeted us at the airport, and instantly we were treated like queens. The nice driver pointed out to the cooler filled with ice cold water in front of us as we settled into our leather massage seats. Definitely a great indication of the awesome service we were about to receive for the next 4 days.

As we arrived to the villa, a very pregnant staff member greeted us and offered us a drink (forgot what it was), and then started to check us in.
We didn't have to wait long at all, and she brought us to our AMAZING luxurious villa. It was so modern, spacious, and most importantly - clean.
The bedrooms were very beautiful, as well as the bathrooms. They also provided satin and towel-like robes, as well as room slippers and flip-flops (for the beach).

There’s only one restaurant at the hotel, although slightly expensive the food was delectable. Our mouths still water today whenever we talk about that spicy beef dish and mango sticky rice (best one I’ve ever had). Breakfast buffet was delicious as well with omelets, pancakes, waffles, very yummy! The coffee they had was outstanding (made from an espresso machine), and there were many fresh fruits to choose from.
All the staff we encountered were very accommodating, and they had no problem with us ordering delivery from a local Thai restaurant two nights in a row (instead of going to the restaurant).

There was one night where there was a storm, and all the power went out in our villa, which meant we had no a/c. None of us were able to sleep because it got unbearably hot, so we called the front desk. They were quick to come by the room and notify us about the power outage and that they were trying to fix it.
The next day we started chatting with the manager (forgot his name, but he was a super cool guy with a British accent I think?) and told him about our sleepless night, next thing you know we get back to our villa and the doorbell rings with one of the staff bringing us a bottle of wine. They definitely know how to pamper their guests!

The beach:
For 3 days, I’m not even kidding it was like our private beach. There were no other tourists in sight, except for a few locals nearby going out to fish.
The only thing I wish they had were beach chairs… we had to lie on our towels (provided by the villa) and it got a little uncomfortable at times.
It’s definitely not the prettiest beach in Phuket, but I would choose this beach over the other ‘nicer’ beaches that are however crowded & noisy.
The pool at the hotel also became our private pool, which was so much fun!

I definitely will come back here one day and just stay at the villa for the entire time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family (3 adults, 3 children) has just returned from a marvelous 7-day stay at the Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa!

We highly recommend this hotel for families or groups looking for a luxurious holiday in Phuket away from the crowded beach scene that dominates the south of the island. It should be mentioned that we live in Dubai, so we are already spoiled with 5-star beach resorts. We came to Phuket to relax and explore. If you are looking for a crowded beach scene and nightlife, this is not the hotel for you. It is 15-45 minutes from anything else on the island and just about everyone is asleep by 9pm.

However, the villas are amazing! We actually felt like we were house-sitting someone's beach house, but with the luxury of room service and excellent housekeeping! We rented a 3 bedroom villa which had 2 private pools and a Jacuzzi. The rooftop pool has a sea view and cascades down like a waterfall into the ground-floor pool. There were 3 full en-suite bedrooms, a total of 5 bathrooms, 2 living rooms and 2 kitchens. We could have easily stayed for a month!

I recommend renting your own car if you stay at this hotel, but the hotel staff is happy to make all tour and transportation arrangements for you and there is a taxi stop in front of the hotel. We rented a SUV from the airport and were able to include 1-2 activities a day all around Phuket and still be back at the hotel in time for a sunset swim on the absolutely secluded beach. Many days we were the only guests on the beach and were fortunate to swim alongside the local villagers who came down in big groups in the evening to play in the surf.

We skipped the spa altogether (although we had heard it was fantastic) and opted for massages on the beach by local villagers. About half the price and so beautiful! The beach is natural, with large pine trees shading the area between the ocean and the villas. On our last morning, a herd of water buffalo actually grazed along the beach while we ate breakfast. There is a lovely, well-appointed bar on the beach and a large hotel pool as well, but we never saw anyone use them during our stay. The private pools in our villa were more than enough.

Except for the breakfast buffet, the hotel was so quiet that we were often the only people there. The other guests were also large families of many nationalities (Russian, French, British, Arab) and mainly kept to themselves. I'm not sure if the other guests went out during the day or stayed in their rooms all day, but we rarely saw anyone past breakfast. It seems that of the 22 villas in the hotel, only half were occupied during out stay. I think that the hotel would have felt much more vibrant, and still not overcrowded, had it been full.

One rainy day my older children spent a little time in the kids club and played video games with some other children while the little ones did arts and crafts. They said it was nice and kids club staff was very attentive.

We really loved the area and would definitely stay here again. We explored several fisherman's villages on both the east and west sides of the island where we found excellent local restaurants that were not frequented by tourists. Our children learned a few words in Thai, tried new foods and got a good feel for the culture. The local people are so friendly!

Thank you to the General Manager Mr. Robin Lee and his team for their hospitality and attention to detail! You have a fantastic and unique resort and we can't wait to come back again next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank American_in_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent 2.5 days in a beautiful 2-bedroom villa and wish we could have stayed longer! The villa itself was superb and very spacious. There was a well-equipped kitchenette and accommodating living space. Both the bedrooms had TVs, a walk-in wardrobe & huge bathroom with a massive tub (only downside is it takes a while to fill so don't expect to run a quick bath!) & walk-in shower. The bed linen, towels & dressing gowns were all highly luxurious too, toping off the high-end finish to these villas.
Our villa opened up straight onto the beach (all the 2-bedroom ones do, with the 3-bedroom villas sitting behind) so it was lovely to open the doors & get the breeze off the beach, yet still enjoy the privacy of our own pool & jacuzzi.
The staff couldn't have been more accommodating & willing to please. They were all so friendly & really made for a pleasant stay.
The spa was beautiful and very relaxing; the food was exquisite and the upstairs bar had a wonderful chilled vibe which made the 'sundowners' very enjoyable!
Overall it was a superb stay and, having visited Phuket for many years and stayed at numerous resorts we concluded that this was probably the best resort we'd stayed at and would certainly return without hesitation.
We were particularly grateful to Robin who, upon check-out, gave us two umbrellas to take home as a gift from the hotel - he must have reviewed the weather forecast for our destination as it was throwing it down with rain on our arrival and we would have got soaked had it not been for these umbrellas! Anyone can build a luxurious resort, but it's the little details that make all the difference!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieF142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was an amazing villa to stay in. It was a litte far from the main tourist area which was fine for us because once we saw the main tourist area we never wanted to go there again. It was very dirty. Now back to our villa. It has now become the idea for my husbands design of our retirement home. It smelled amazing and was very clean. The staff were very nice however they did not speak english well. This did not bother us as it made for interesting conversations. The only downside was that the beach was dirty. They should have had someone to clean it daily because it really took away from the beauty of the place.

Room Tip: There are 2 rows of villas. I would ask for a villa in the front row (beach front) as you can walk out directly to the beach from them.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MyNazzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a truly five star de luxe property.We stayed four nights in a de luxe suite with mini pool and jacuzzi. This was very well appointed. The hotel possesses a marvelous sandy beach and is located on a small bay.Breakfast is taken in a lovely space with a view to the water and is excellent.As there are only ca. 50 rooms the hotel cannot be faulted for having but two restaurants functioning at any one time but this may be a problem for guests wishing to stay more than a few nights.Just up the beach two hundred meters to the right is a simple but very good Thai restaurant for those seeking variety-and it is very reasonable!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pontormo187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews