We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand West Sands Resort & Villas Phuket
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JJW House(Sakhu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,292)
Filter reviews
1,293 results
Traveler rating
463
376
234
122
98
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
376
234
122
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parksplash junglesunset breezethe penthousethe club loungefree entrydeluxe family residenceclose to the airportred mangosunset restaurantluxury bedroombuggy driverskids loveitalian restaurantegg stationkids clubfamily holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
837 - 842 of 1,293 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2011

this is a terrible hotel where service is basically non existent. staff couldnt get a single thing right, not even our bill. we stayed for one night and they charged us for 2 . it took us ages to explain . it was like talking to a brick wall. even at breakfast they charged us the incorrect rate despite the fact a different rate had been agreed. as for concierge service such as direction, forget about it. use your guide. we couldnt even get them to understand the basics and when we asked to be taken to one of the major piers we couldnt even get them to understand even after showing them where it was on the map. when we went to breakfast we were "greeted" by the western chef who snarled at us and couldnt even break out a smile, welcome us or even say hello. he needs to drop the attitude because if he was such a great chef he wouldnt be working here. i would never stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodreview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Overall stars - 2 (based on some merits, else it would have been 1 star)

Hotel staff - Generally polite, normal service standards.
Restaurant staff - Generally polite and maintains good service standards.
Buggy driver - Mostly were ok except for 1 fellow who was driving like he's in a F1 car.

Room - Block 6, level 7.
Bed comfortable rating - 6 out of 10, 3 feet single bed, too small for me.
Room size - bed area small, entrance large, bathroom average. Wished more space were in bed area.

Room service - Service is generally slow.

Restaurant - Breakfast was above average.

WIFI - Available throughout resort.

Location - Mai Khao beach is nice but very far from Phuket town or Patong/Karon area. You must be prepared to pay a lot of extra for tour pickups and dropoffs and taxis too. Nothing area the resort. For honeymooners and water park goers, perfect place. For others, wrong place.

Free shuttle - Hotel runs 2-3 shuttles a day to and from Central Festival.

===========================

Last night of my stay, was raining and room suddenly was infested with hundreds of tiny insects. Upon checking, they actually slip through the window seal cracks. Called housekeeping to come clean up. This is definitely not something I expected of a '5 star' property. Wrote in and their GM is nice enough to reply and apologized and said Centara just took over the property for 3 months. To me, it should have been thoroughly checked before placing the Centara logo over the property.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We had a brilliant time at this hotel. We stayed for two weeks after being advised not to visit Bangkok. It was our first experience of Thailand and the staff made us feel so welcome it became like home.

The breakfast was included and provided a large choice of both western and asian food with an egg station where you could get a good omelette! There was a walk from our building to the restaurant which took about 5 minutes however there were golf buggies that would pick you up and take you so you didnt need to walk anywhere if you didnt want to.

The resort is on a long beach which there was never anyone on. Mai Khao. You could walk along past the end of the airport runway - not boring at all, even for a non plane spotter - and down to a small fishing village - we even saved taxi money by walking to the aiport to collect our hire car!

The restaurant food in the evening is nice, if a little expensive compared with other places in Thailand however you are in a quiet resort with little else around, so get a hire car and get out a bit. No complaints if you stay in and a good happy hour from 5-7 each night.

The swimming pool is large and fantastic,views of the beach, attentive staff etc... There is also a water park on site which you can use so fantastic for kids etc.

We loved this place, would definitely go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Aussie Family of 5 Holiday - May 2011

There is a lot to be said about the "resort' itself but from reading the reviews I think it has been fairly well covered, in summary yes there is a lot of constrcution going on and the area can be a little noisy, rooms are nice enough with some luxury fitouts but the Holiday Club is looking a little worn already (damaged walls, broken couches etc). The villa's are amazing, the waterpark small but a lot of fun with wonderful staff - especially the lifeguards - can not speak highly enough of them! A long drive to get into Patong and most tourist destinations and the courtesy bus timetable not very convenient. The restraunt food was amazing - the best food and service I have had anywhere in the world! The little convenient store very limited and expensive.. All hotel staff were lovely.

Unfortunately the same can not be said about the Vacation Club Team who lied, made promises (that I do have on paper and email) that they would not honour and after being told we would have our membership refunded within 2 weeks I am still waiting. There is a ridiculously high number of staff turn around and the salesman who sold us the lies, Justin Kingsley the Finance person who we signed up with and Mark Eaton the Operations Manager are no longer working there. Do not be suckered into buying into this Vacation Club, once you have handed over the dollars you will be bitterly disappointed by what you receive or more to the point what you dont receive.
Sadly my children were shown the penthouse and promised by the salesman we could stay there for a week in January 2012 as part of us joing as 'Founding Members', they came home very excited and looking forward to our return visit in January - still haven't had the heart to tell them the West Sands Vacation Club Salesman lied and we wont be going there!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

3 friends and me spent fantastic 2 weeks here! the resort is nice and clean. personnel is polite. the location is 5 mins walking distance from the beach. awesome. the restaurant of the resort is pretty expensive however, 5 mins walking up the road, there is Cinnamon restaurant: thai food, cheaper and really nice (western standards). We will come back in Novemeber

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrbonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews