We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stand Out Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stand Out Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Whats sets this hotel apart is the genuine hospitality & the quite location. The staff all care about your stay, are you having a good time and is there any more they can do for you.

Enjoyed a pool villa - which is superbly designed, incredibly clean & had everything you could want including a great Expresso machine to start your day!

Enjoyed dinner 2 nights at Takeng - highly recommended the value for money TripAdvisor menu! Khun Nahm was a wonderful host on both evenings.

Adults pool is located not far form the beach - so you enjoy the crashing waves with a tropical breeze + pools side deliveries of cold water throughout the day.

15 mins form the airport - the area is very quite & ideal for that relaxed time out away from home or the office or both!

Stayed July 2014

Room Tip: Pool Villa for a treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiNZExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,985
    494
    97
    28
    10
See reviews for
675
1,276
102
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Firts thing to remember-Amazing breakfast! This was the best breakfast I've ever had in any 5-star hotel. Beach is beautiful, but sea was not swimable even for one day.. despite the red flag we swimed, but it was not enjoyable all the time beacuse of hard and big waves.
Restaurants were a bit pricey for us, so we had dinner at local places walking distance from hotel, which were really nice.
We went to Phuket old town, but there is nothing much to see, actually kind of disturbing, so stick to hotel if you are looking just for leisure..
Stuff was really nice and kind, can't remember the name of a kind girl from reception (maybe Remi) she was so helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I love Renissance properties and this is no exception. The pool villas are incredible. The service was warm and attentive. The grounds are gorgeous. The breakfast that is included with the room is FANTASTIC! I originally booked only two days here with the intent of having a look at the JW Marriott nearby. That turned out to be the right call. Although the JW is a nice property, I much preferred the Renissance and ended up booking two more nights.

The location is quite far from the nightlife areas of the island. That could be a plus or a minus depending on why you are here. It will take you nearly an hour to drive to Patong, for example. In fact, if you want to go anywhere else around the island, I would consider renting a car. There are car rentals across the street from the airport for 1000 baht per day INCLUDING tax and insurance (10,000 baht deductible). If you are set on taking a taxi to the hotel, go straight out of the airport and turn right. Go to the end of the sidewalk and look for the big sign that says "TAXI METER". There is a 100 baht surcharge, but this is still the cheapest way to get to the hotel--you'll save a little bit off the fixed price taxis that are everywhere else.

I would say that there are a few minor things that could be improved, however. There were a few buried cables both around the pool in the villa and on the grounds in general that were becoming unburied as well as some plants around the private pool that needed tending. The trip we booked through the hotel was supposed to go to Maya Bay, but they couldn't go due to the weather. That's not Renissance fault, however the tour company was not telling people that they weren't going until after you were already in the middle of the trip. Some review of suppliers is in order here.

Room Tip: The Pool Villas are Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TomA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked this hotel based on its distance from all the hustle and bustle of the busier tourist spots. The hotel is located in a beautiful spot. The beach is a bit choppy but we enjoyed 2 weeks of sunsets and poolside bliss. The staff are extremely nice and polite. They remember your name and go out of their way to help.

The room was clean and tidy with a lovely view. The air conditioning worked very well. The adult pool is small but as the hotel was at just 50% capacity, it was great. Its a shame the children's pool goes unused when its such a lovely space. It would be nice to have an adult only time at the main pool. Kids there all day.

The evening was very quiet. The sandbox bar serves great food and the restaurant above is outstanding. Very glad we stayed so far north. We did venture south via a local taxi and hopped on a tuk tuk to try the restaurants just off the complex. Lovely, lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MonicaLGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We selected the Renaissance on the basis of the excellent Trip Advisor reviews and the experience exceeded our expectations. This was our first trip to Phuket and the number of hotels to choose from was too large to make an informed decision on our own. For some reason, the Renaissance not only was exceptionally inexpensive comparatively, as a Marriott Gold Member, we were upgraded to a villa. The staff and the property were worthy of a Ritz Carleton and the location was perfect for anyone who wished to be away from the traditional noise and crowds of a typical beach resort. The food at the three restaurants on site where we ate ranged from excellent to very good; the breakfast buffet was so substantial, we never ate lunch. This experience was the ultimate for anyone seeking a luxurious and quiet getaway. Last note: the cost was well below expectations with totals under $300 per day for room, meals, transportion around Phuket, modest shopping, and massages (in town not at the hotel spa).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Phuket a lot of times and have tried a lot of hotel. So far Renaissance is one of most the beautiful and value for money resort I have stayed.

I check in very late and was upgraded to a pool villa. The staff were very attentive and the food at restaurant were very nice.

I will definitely be back again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Eesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Wow, what a hotel. I stay at hotels full time and I've been travelling to Thailand, 2 to 3 times a year for almost 20 years so it's fair to say I am pretty knowledgeable of the hotels in this area. So, when I say "wow", there is good reason.

This hotel is located right on Mai Khao beach, beautiful as can be. The rooms are clean and moder design. The staff are simply wonderful, trained so well, I am happy to have experienced it. The team behind the food is passionate about what they do, you can taste it and you can see it.

The breakfast stands out. Although not as big a buffet at many of the hotels, you can see the quality in each dish prepared. The didn't just throw some ingredients together, there was thought behind that too.

Finally, I knew this hotel cared for it's guests when walking through the breakfast buffet, I noticed a tray with tomato juice, lime, pepper and a bottle of vodka, prepared, for those who's had a rough night. Hilarious.

If you want some peace and quiet, located right on a beautiful beach, and professionally trained staff, you won't regret this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#5 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 555 Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Thalang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport, it is adjacent to Sirinath Marine National Park.The resort offers 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool. Golf is available nearby. For your gastronomical journey the hotel offers an all day dining restaurant with fresh ingredient at Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant, The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing