We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Phuket”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Phuket”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel was amazingly nice. Staff and rooms are perfect, specially the Villas with private pool. The private beach is nice, although its not as nice as we expected (none in Phuket Island is, really). But amazing sun sets and peace. The only bad aspect is location. But it's arguable. Some people prefer far away hotels, for their tranquility and peace.. other's find it too far away from "civilisation". To get to Phiphi and the other islands, you need an hour drive and another hour boat, so you better do it for the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

Your kind comments have been passed on to the staff, all appreciate the recognition that you have given and are always delighted to be at your service. Despite the location, we hope that you enjoyed other aspects of the resort.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Phuket include Renaissance Resort & Spa and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,107
    515
    100
    30
    11
See reviews for
734
1,343
110
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the start of our holiday to unwind and do nothing. The hotel is beautiful and we were grateful for the complimentary upgrade. Breakfast was out of this world and worth every penny. We ate in the hotel every night and the service was exemplary. Staff are very professional and couldn't do enough for us. The only criticism I have to mention is the state of the ornate tiling in the pool. There are a lot missing and this could cause an injury? This didn't spoil the start of our vacation but deserves a mention if you are travelling with young children. We would definitely go back athe drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the uperior room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsGNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

We are most pleased to read that your holiday was fulfilled with full relaxation. Your positive comments made on staff service breakfast experience were most kind. We must apologize for any inconvenience caused from the pool tiling. Our Director of Engineer has been working on this matter and to take corrective action.

Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa prides itself in providing luxury products and services. You are a valuable guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Hotel Booking Dates : Wednesday 12 February - Wednesday 19 February 2014 (7 nights)

Hotel Google Map Location : https://goo.gl/maps/ZLPSb

Hotel Location : 20 - 30 minutes from airport, about 5 km away, as the crow flies, or 15 km, as the cow runs (but honestly you cannot hear the planes)

Hotel Architecture : Modern, well-planned, no high-rise; landscaping slightly Zen-like (I was very tempted to rake some patterns in the sand beds)

Hotel Atmosphere : Relaxed, quiet, chilled out. Many hotels have a Disney-like or similar holiday theme of background music; at Renaissance, it's relaxing chilled-out lounge music. With about 180 rooms, we were told the hotel was full but it certainly did not feel crowded or overrun at all.

Travel Agent : Thomson. One of the reasons we booked via Thomson was because they offered a direct flight from London to Phuket, thus avoiding lost time transiting via another airport. We were also thought there was a small risk that the unrest in Bangkok City might have spread to the airport, thus putting our flight schedule at risk.

Travel Agent Package Minor Issues :

1. We upgraded from breakfast-only to half-board (breakfast buffet + evening meal vouchers) because we were not sure if there were any other local eating options nearby outside. We later discovered there is a small group independent eating places 400 metres north of the hotel.

With half-board, we found that the hotel evening meal voucher covered buffet events but we could not go completely "a la carte"; we had to chose from a restricted menu. This was not made clear by Thomson and the value of the voucher was not transparent so we still could not make trade-off choices from the a la carte menu. This proved to be a slightly disappointing issue at the Takieng Thai Restaurant. That said, we still managed to have a delicious meal there. For most of the other evenings we had buffet.

2. Outbound, the Thomson flight left Gatwick on Tuesday afternoon, 14:25, and arrived the following morning at 8:45, and we were at the hotel about about 9:30 - 10 am. Our room was not ready when we arrived because normal check-in time is midday. However the hotel did make an extra effort and had it ready an hour earlier, at 11 am. Perhaps Thomson and Renaissance can work something out to improve this ?

Hotel Pools : Both pools looked really quite nice for chilling out, but we preferred the much bigger pool nearby : the sea :)

Hotel Beach : Clean, soft, quite fine sand (nothing to tread on or injure feet). Generally quite empty (no need to compete for space like other busy beaches). No hawkers harassing you to buy stuff. No pilferers lying in wait. West-facing, so on clear days sunsets were stunning. Beach + sea should be OK for adults and teenagers but toddlers should stick to the hotel pools. The only negative point for the beach : unfortunately not very interesting for snorkelling - swam out 100 metres - plain fine sand, no coral, very few fish (at least during the day).

Hotel Food : Overall, very high standard. Inside the hotel are the following restaurants :

1. Takieng : Thai (a la carte)
2. Sand Box : mixed international
3. Loca Vore : buffet breakfast / mixed international / themed buffets

There is also a hotel coffee / snack bar and a lounge, but we didn't get round to using them.

Hotel Breakfast Highlight : Renaissance Eggs Benedict, served with crabmeat (instead of smoked salmon) and kafir lime leaf flavoured Hollandaise sauce. Delicious !

Normally my worry with oriental buffets is the food is often left to stand for too long. However at the chefs at Renaissance seem to cook to a very high standard and seem to keep the buffet platters regularly refreshed.

Hotel Room : Very good standard, spacious, clean, and well-equipped. Table, desk lamp and network cable socket available for those unlucky enough to have to work. Room also benefits from a large separate bath tub and shower (with rain shower head), and a shelter balcony.

We got a bit confused with which light switches do what but we have that problem with most hotel rooms ! And we could not figure out how to use the hand held shower in the bath tub.

Hotel Spa : Very nice, modern, well-equipped well-trained staff. International prices. We tried the 90 minute Swedish massage for 3100 BHT and 90 minute Thai massage for 2700 BHT. Both were very good. We also tried the open air 60 minute Thai massage on the beach (just beyond the hotel perimeter) for 500 BHT. This was also good. You get what you pay for.

Hotel House Keeping : Good. We forgot to bring the adaptor for our electric tooth brush; they very promptly lent one to us.

Hotel Excursions : the hotel helped arrange trips for us to (a) Old Phuket Town (b) James Bond Island (c) Phi Phi Island. There's also a free shuttle to their sister hotel, JW Marriot just up the road.

OVERALL : we had a great relaxation holiday and wished we could have stayed a few more days.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBLKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

We value your insights as a well-travelled guest. Our team is committed to providing a high level of service in all areas and we are delighted that this was transpired throughout your stay.

Please rest assure your comment made on your arrival experience and half board menu options have been shared to all department head concern for the best improvement. We have implemented in March onwards half board menu that allow guest to choose 3-4 dishes from a la carte menu.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I am staying at this wonderful resort at the moment. It's a wonderful place to relax and have a good time. The resort is amazing:nice views,nice bar,nice restaurants,nice beach,and the word 'nice' doesn't actually work in this case. It's simply amazing!!! And the best thing about it all: is a wonderful service!!! As I work in a hospitality myself,I know the standarts, and it's way above it!! All the staff seems really genuine with you,helpful, smiling, and willing to do all possible for your comfort. I love you guys!!! You are simply wonderful!! Special thanks to a wonderful receptionist Tony. Thanks in advance for everything!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauruzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

We are most pleased that you are enjoying the hotel's service and facilities and your kind comments have been passed on to the staff, particularly Tony, all appreciate the recognition that you have given and are always delighted to be at your service.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

There’s always something wonderfully new to be discovered at Renaissance.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Direcotor of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Such a beautiful property and beach. We are definitely not high-class travelers in general so all the amenities and service was superb in our opinion. It's hard to believe a place could be so beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Always have smiles on their faces and never make you feel like they're too busy to help. We rented a car after a few days of enjoying the resort, and as it is pretty far from all the action of Phuket, it was never too much of a burden. We enjoyed arriving back at the Renaissance after the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas. We're definitely glad we stayed secluded to enjoy each other and relax after being busy for so many months leading up to the wedding.

They also hooked us up with a pool villa for the first 5 nights! We didn't even have to ask. There were flowers and a complimentary bottle of wine which we promptly downed. We got free breakfast everyday and never got bored of the buffet. It has everything and it is all delicious.

Can't say enough great stuff about this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

As a well-travelled guest in the tourism industry, your comments are very valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and facilities to guests. We were pleased that Thai hospitality especially the renowned Land of Smiles has impressed you.

We certainly hope that your future plans to Phuket include Renaissance Phuket Resort & spa where we will await to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Our hard work has paid off knowing that we made your honeymoon special – THANK YOU.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Absolutely stunning and amazing. The service, the facilities and everything else was way above my expectations. This is the perfect get away from all the hustle and bustle. Indeed, it is a little bit far from Phuket Town and Patong Beach, but that is the beauty of it. If you want to relax and have a good time, this is the place to be!!

Room Tip: If you choose a room in the main building, try to choose a higher floor for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We are most pleased to learn this has transpired throughout.

We hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to Phuket.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very nice hotel, i will came back for sure. maybe Phuket is not the best palce to see in Thailand but this hotel is very good. ONLY ONE MINUS is far from shops and city, you need to use transvers which are payid additionaly.

Room Tip: no idea all are OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grzegorz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us reviews. We are delighted that your stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa was enjoyable.

Your comments are very valuable in helping us maintain a high level of service to guests. The resort location is part of National Park even though not many to see comparing to town and Patong but our Navigator would be more than happy to assist on your future visit with all local interest and hidden gems where require less travelling time.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
12.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,344 reviews
5.1 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 555, Moo 3 | Thalang, Phuket, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing